We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good quality/price ratio...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vila Gale Santa Cruz
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2012

The staff at this hotel provided very good customer service. The room was very clean. Personally, I liked the location of the hotel as it is located in Santa Cruz with not that many tourists around, so you can blend in with the locals.

Pros: location - Santa Cruz (not that many tourists), close to the airport, cleanness, modernity, newness,...

Cons: If you are on full - board, the food will eventually taste the same, no matter what you eat.

There are nice small restaurants around where you can find very tasty meals. When booking a room at the hotel, consider half board package, so you can eat outside more often.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rudy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrupoVilaGale, Manager at Vila Gale Santa Cruz, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for comments here at Tripadvisor.
I am very glad that you enjoyed your holidays and the facilities and services that we offer.
I hope to welcome you back in a near future in our Hoteis in Portugal or in Brazil.

With kindest regards,

Sofia Ribeiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

475 - 481 of 1,125 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2012

This was the best week away we've had!!

Everything from the rooms to the selection of food was fantastic! We would recommend this hotel to anyone.

We used the spa on the last day we had there and it was well worth it - we were the onyl ones using all the facilites, we felt like the place was ours. A very relaxing and enjoyable week away.

Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bren86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 July 2012

Dear Guest,

All the Staff of the Vila Gale Santa Cruz Hotel really aprpeciated your fantastic coments about us on Tripadvisor.

We hope to welcome you again in a near future.

Best regards.

Sofia Ribeiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

If you are looking for a Hotel in an up-market resort with plenty of night life, this is not the place for you! If you are looking for a hotel that provides a relaxing holiday with good food, attentive staff and good facilities then I can recommend this hotel.

The hotel is close to the airport and the planes flew passed the hotel several times a day but were never a nuisance.

We were all inclusive and were happy with nearly every aspect of the holiday. Food varied and of a good quality, good standard of cleanliness and a reasonable number of drinks, snacks, icecream that were included. The staff were polite and helpful and served everybody in turn. A special thank to Sandra (?) who seemed to be everywhere and always had a smile on her face.

The only downsides were:

1) I felt that the transfer from the airport could be free to A/I guests;
2) The indoor pool complex should be available free to A/I guests on at least 1 day of a week's stay.

Overall I would rate this hotel highly and will certainly come back again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pauleck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Vila Galé Santa Cruz Hotel for your stay in Madeira and for writing a review on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and are so pleased that you found the facilities to your liking. I shall pass on your lovely comments to the staff (Sandra).

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards.

Sofia Ribeiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Excellent Hotel
Just had two weeks there. The waiters and staff were friendly and
Attentive. Food amazing and the wine & beer. The cleanliness of
The hotel was spotless. The Courtesy bus to Funchel was good
4 times a day lots to see. Santa Cruz is a lovely quiet little village
With a nice promenade for walking off all the good food the Airport
Was no problem only half an hour in late morning & half an hour in the late afternoon
Madeira is Beautiful.

Room Tip: Rooms on south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rosemary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review, as it is with great pleasure to know you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We are very happy to read your review as our main objective is the satisfaction of our guests .

We hope to welcome you back in our Hotels in Portugal or in Brazil.

Kind Regards

Sofia Ribeiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 2 weeks in May for a dancing holiday. The hotel is very near the airport so you did have planes flying over every half an hour during the day, but you soon got used to the noise and in fact it was interesting to work out where they came from.
We had a room on the fourth floor with a view of the pool and sea. (worth paying extra for) The room was fine, but could have done with some more storage space. There was no storage in the bathroom or dressing table or bedside tables. We had to ask for more hangers for the wardrobe, but these were quickly provided.
We had booked on a full board basis with all inclusive drinks (including local wine,gin ,whiskey and cocktails) until 11o'clock at night. The food in the buffet dining room was excellent with plenty of choice. We also had 2 a la carte meals in the small restaurant, which you need to book at reception a few days before. The food was lovely, but there wasn't any atmosphere so you need to go with friends. Also naturally the service was slow, but fine if you had all evening.
The hotel also has a pleasant bar where entertainment was provided three times a week, a parrot show, dancers and a group playing for visitors to dance.
Outside there is a large infinity pool, unheated, and a small children's pool. The temperature of the pool was cold, so not many in our group braved it, but I enjoyed it.
The hotel does provide a shuttle bus to Funchal, but it only goes 3 times a day and only has room for 8 people so you need to book well ahead or take a local bus for about 3 euros each way. That is fun as you see some little villages and experience the hairpin bends.
All the staff were very helpful and friendly. The hotel is kept spotlessly clean everywhere.
We did not make use of the spa centre and gym as the price seemed expensive at 11 euros a day and the treatments also were expensive.
We went on several excursions as well as 2 trips to Funchal and Machico. These were well worth doing as you can see the whole island in a couple of days. The ride in the whicker basket was good fun. There are also lots of beautiful gardens. The climate can be variable and is often misty and it can be cold in the mountains. It is a pretty island, but there is not enough to do for more than a week, unless you are there as we were on a special interest holiday. It is completely safe and everyone speaks English so you can have a very pleasant and relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 June 2012

Dear Guest,

It is good to know that overall you had a positive holiday experience in Vila Gale Santa Cruz hotel.

Also take the opportunity to thank you for sharing your opinion with so many other visitors of Madeira.

Hope to welcome you soon!

Best Regards

Sofia Ribeiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We stayed here for one night after our timeshare week finished on Monday. It was cheaper to stay here for one night and fly back on Tuesday than to pay for those expensive Monday flights from Madeira. The hotel is modern, comfortable and very pleasant and we had an excellent meal in the a la carte restaurant. There isn't much in Santa Cruz village itself, but for a night or two this is a great place to stay with a loverly outdoor pool overlooking the sea. The hotel and restaurant were good value for money. There's a spa but there's an extra charge for that so we didn't use it.

Room Tip: Rooms with full sea view are not overlooked. Those with side sea view have a balcony that can be see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sputnik_One
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrupoVilaGale, Manager at Vila Gale Santa Cruz, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2012

Dear Guest,

It is good to know that overall you had a positive experience in Vila Gale Santa Cruz hotel.

Also take the opportunity to thank you for sharing your opinion with so many other visitors of Madeira.

Hope to welcome you soon for a long holidays!

Best Regards

Sofia Ribeiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We stayed here for one night after our flight with TAP was cancelled owing to air traffic control industrial action. They were very accommodating and provided us with dinner, bed, breakfast and lunch. Room was bright and modern with a small balcony overlooking the pool and outside bar area. Good bathroom with (black!) wash hand basin, bidet, loo, shower and bath. Meals were rather good in the circumstances, plentiful and adequate. Everything was available from a number of buffet counters and whilst not necessarily what I would have chosen to eat, was of good quality and freshly prepared. Wine was quite expensive, we paid 7 odd euros for two glasses of water and two of water, when compared to a wine and a beer at a local bar at 2 euros 80. Not a lot to see in Sant Cruz, although the sea front promenade is very nice and new. Do take a walk up to the back of the town where you can see the lovely old town-hall building and gardens around. I understand that the hotel runs a shuttle into Funchal daily and this would be a must, I think, unless you wanted to lie in the sun all day. I wouldnt have chosen to stay here, but given the cirumstances, it was great.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sallymarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrupoVilaGale, Manager at Vila Gale Santa Cruz, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. We hope that we can welcome you back on a near future in Vila Galé Santa Cruz or any other Vila Galé Hotel in Portugal or Brazil.

Best regards.

Sofia Ribeiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Cruz
1 mi away
Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club
7.8 mi away
Pestana Casino Park
Pestana Casino Park
#34 of 88 in Funchal
3,006 reviews
9.6 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Four Views Oasis
Four Views Oasis
#2 of 13 in Canico
824 reviews
8.9 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
8.5 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
3,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Santa Cruz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Santa Cruz

Address: Rua Nova de Sao Fernando 5, Santa Cruz, Madeira 9100-173, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range: £71 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Santa Cruz 4*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beach hotel in Santa Cruz (Madeira) is situated directly beside the sea. Funchal is just 15 minutes away, while Funchal airport is only 5 minutes from the hotel. The promenade and the aqua park are also nearby. There are also stony and pebble beaches in the area. The hotel, which was built in 2006, has a total of 262 room on 4 floors, where we feature 4 junior suites suitable for families. The hotel offers a fully air-conditioned environment with spacious lobby, lifts, 24-hour reception, hotel safe, three bars, two restaurants and parking facilities. It has congress centre (890 m²), room and laundry services, as well as a kids club and games room. All rooms with en suite bathroom, balcony, air conditioning, individually adjustable central heating, direct dial phone, clock, satellite TV, CD / DVD player, radio, safe deposit box, hair-dryer, fax / modem connection, minibar, electronic security lock and 24 hour-room service. It offers an outdoor swimming pool for adults and children, indoor swimming pool (for a fee) and spa facilities with Jacuzzi, sauna, steam room / Turkish bath, Vichy room, a gym, studio for classes, 4 massage and treatments rooms, physician's office. The nearest golf course is only 10 minutes away and the hotel provides a golf desk and clubs closet. A breakfast buffet is served each morning. Lunch and dinner may be eaten from a buffet or a la carte. The following are all accepted as methods of payment: American Express, MasterCard and VISA. There is a transfer service to Funchal available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Alpha Holidays Limited, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Vila Gale Santa Cruz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Santa Cruz Hotel Santa Cruz
Vila Gale Hotel Santa Cruz
Santa Cruz Vila Gale
Vila Gale Madeira
Vila Gale Santa Cruz Madeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing