We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mr & Mrs Bland Has a amazing Time !!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Mr & Mrs Bland Has a amazing Time !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

After 25yrs married to a hill farmer I planned our trip so an outdoors man would have a good time....WOW this Hotel is wonderful not only the Sea pools,Fresh water pool,Rooms,Garden views,Food. The staff cannot do enough for you, what a team they make. If you just want to chill & read a book, walk down to the local town along the sea front. Good base to find the treasures of this wonderful island. Only a small hotel but run to the highest standards 5* plus.
If you want to find the true island ask the staff, they will help you all they can. Try the little custard tarts at breakfast Husband is addicted !
We Will Be Back !

Room Tip: All stunning all have sea views, we liked the first floor.... but ground floor would be perfect for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacquie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    29
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
46
164
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sweden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

You can't ask for more; the sea, tennis, pool and a lovely restaurant with excellent service! We gladly recommend it. And if you want to play golf-10 minutes by car!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kurt-orvar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

We returned to the Albatroz for our honeymoon and had a wonderful time that we will always cherish.

The location is stunning, looking out over the sea and towards the nearby islands. Our room (on the ground floor) was very comfortable, beautifully designed, clean with a lovely veranda and bathroom, had all the extras that we required. The staff were very helpful and the service was continually excellent and attentive. We stayed there for two weeks and barely left the hotel - with the hotel's restaurant, swimming pools and tennis court we didn't need to. We ate nearly all of our meals in the restaurant - the food was delicious, fresh Mediterranean cuisine.

After the stress of organising our wedding, our stay at the Albatroz was truly relaxing and peaceful. I can't think of anything to criticise - we had a perfect honeymoon and can't wait to go back there!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Annie_Elfman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knutsford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

Situated off the motorway this hotel is situated between the runway and the sea .As soon as I entered the hotel grounds any traffic noise ceased and I was only aware of aircraft when I walked into Santa Cruz. The walk took 15 minutes to get into the centre near the church. A pleasant small town with several street restaurants. The hotel was very quiet with less than 20 guests during our visit and the attention from the staff excellent.I appreciated the fresh fruit and tea and coffee making facilities in the room. The dining room was under used in the evening when we were there however the service, menu, food and whole dining experience was superb. Similarly the choice at breakfast was extensive and of high quality.
There is a very good library and Internet use available with wifi free too.

Only negative if you are new to Madeira take information and maps with you or go online because there are no local or island maps or suggestions of places to go etc at reception.

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea. No stairs or steps on the ground floor. The first floor closer to the librar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EAHKnutsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

The Hotel is located close to the airport, but the aircraft noise from there is surprisinggly very strong. Unfortuneatley the main coast street is also very close, so the car traffic makes a little bit of noise. Rooms are very nice and quiet, Safe and fresh fruits are included in the price.
All in all the Service is excellent, also the food in the restaurant can be recommended. The Albatros Beach & Yacht Club is an good starting point for trips in the midland and Funchal.
Another great aspects are the direct access to the sea and the nice garden. Pool landscape shows room for improvement.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EiderDausN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

We have just returned from our first visit to Madeira and to the Albatroz, but will definitely be back.
The Albatroz is an amazing hotel. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, with private balconies offering beautiful views of the sea.
The staff were very friendly and accommodating, and nothing was too much trouble for them.
We had a buffet breakfast each morning, which included just about everything. Dishes such as omelettes etc, were made fresh to order. We also had two evening meals in the restaurant and found that, as with all Madeiran food, the portions were generous and delicious.
The hotel is very close to the airport but, as other reviews state, you cannot hear the noise from it at all. The hotel provides a free airport shuttle, which is recommended (to get to the airport on foot means crossing some busy main roads).
That lack of noise, combined with the fact that the hotel only holds a maximum of around 30 guests, means that there is always a very tranquil and peaceful atmosphere.
The hotel has one pool at hotel-level, and two further sea-water pools at sea-level which are accessed via steps built into the cliffs. One of these is a shallow pool more suitable for children, and the second is around 8' deep at the deep-end. Again, due to the small number of guests, these were never busy.
Santa Cruz is a short walk away, with direct buses to Funchal. We managed easily without a car for the week.
'Strawberry Tours' offer a variety of island tours which are excellent value for money, and a much more relaxing way of seeing Madeira than hiring a car.
Many of the other hotels are in the 'Lido' area of Funchal, which we visited briefly. These are all in very close proximity to each other, and seemed packed out. We definitely thought that we had chosen the best hotel, and it was a welcome relief to return to its tranquility at the end of our busy days.
We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anonymous13082011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
158 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

A beautiful hotel, very good service, perfect location for a very reasonable price. One thing to know : Better to rent a car if you want to visit the island. If you feel like just "farniente", to do nothing else that enjoy the sun, no car needed !

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ViktorTatran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Cruz
9.3 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,668 reviews
8.5 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
9.3 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
10.4 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,774 reviews
8.7 mi away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#9 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club

Property: Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club
Address: Vereda da Terca, Santa Cruz, Madeira 9100-186, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club Santa Cruz, Madeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing