We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great all round hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel, Gasthaus & Restaurant zur Post
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Klotten
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great all round hotel”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed here four or five times. Always excellent service. Rooms are well decorated. Everywhere very clean. Food must be the best in Mosel area. In all of my stays I have never heard a customer complain about anything. Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: All good quieter at rear of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAVIES999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    14
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
26
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Travelling with a party of motorcyclists, we were greeted by our host, Klaus and a cold beer. We had a problem with one of our bikes and Klaus spoke to a local contact on our behalf who welded a repair on Sunday morning!
The hotel was very clean, well decorated,beds comfortable and we all slept well. We were provided with an excellent choice at breakfast. Which was all fresh and very tasty. We had dinner on both nights. 4 courses of seasonal ingredients prepared to a very good standard. Delicious.
To top it off, having missed public transport (nearby) into the next town, Klaus got the car out and gave us a lift.
All of the staff were well mannered and helpful. Their English is also very good. Whether you are a biker on not, I would recommend this friendly hotel. If you are a biker, the facilities are great.
We had a super stay. Nothing was too much trouble. Outstanding service. Good value for your hard earned Euro.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rider M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willerby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I have stayed here twice (2010 and 2012) when on biking holidays. In both cases using Klotten as a base to explore the surrounding area around the mosselle. Klaus is a fantastic host and made us feel welcome on both occasions. The second of which I was accompanied by my wife who is Gluten Intolerant (coeliac). Klaus who is a first rate chef bent over backwards to accommodate her and soon whipped up a Gluten free alternative of the main dish of the day. The food was delicious. The price of the room includes breakfast which is varied and plentiful and if you decide to stay for evening meal just notify Klaus and will accommodate you. As a biker you are always concerned about the security of parking. Klaus allows you free use of his garage under the Hotel which is secured overnight. One less thing to worry about. The rooms are clean and well appointed. I look forward to going back. The Hotel is next to a Rail Line which is busy but it never disturbed our sleep one bit. I never heard a thing. As a biker hotel I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shipwreck1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 November 2013

My wife and I like this place a lot. We stayed as a couple and was made to feel very welcome and enjoyed Klaus' excellent cooking. I returned again this year solo and after travelling in Europe staying at 30+ hotels this was again a favourite place. Definitely the best breakfast of the lot. We will be back. Thanks to Klaus.

Room Tip: Trains run regularly at front of hotel. Quieter at rear, but simply solved at front by closing shutt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

arrived to a very welcome cold drink by Klaus, our room was on the balcony which we thought might be a problem but wasn't. We had been told the food was outstanding, but this was fantastic that Klaus could get a job in any top London restaurant. It was a good job we didn't stay here for 2 weeks as we would have needed 2 sets of riding clothes as we would have put on so much weight. the garage for the bikes was out of this world, with everything from cleaning equipment for helmets and bikes, tools for basic repairs. Drying room and everything else you could think of.
the location is brilliant for touring the area. Trying to find away to stay here next year on our tour around Europe

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bikerchick09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

My wife and I arrived on Sunday 28th of July 2013 after a very long day's riding after a problem with the sat nav and because I rely too much on the sat nav, reading maps is not my cup of tea! Anyway we arrived late for evening meal all stressed out but as have been mentioned on other posts, Klaus duly arrived with lovely cold beers for us both! Then we had our evening meal after freshening up. Nothing is too much trouble here. What can we say about the food? We have NEVER been treated to food so stunningly beautiful and so well prepared in all our life! In all of the 5 nights we've been here, our plates have been clean afterwards. The garage (or to be more accurate, hotel) for the bikes is awesome! It's wooden floor is SO posh it's like having the red carpet laid out everyday! There are tools for basic repairs etc and even a drying room for biking gear including helmets. The location of the hotel is perfect for touring around this beautiful part of Germany, especially if you follow the B49 along the Mosel. Koblenz and Cochem are within easy reach of the hotel via this route. Trier has to be a town on your list to visit as is the spectacular scenery and historic buildings of Bernkastle. Klaus and his family and team are worth their weight in gold and we will be DEFINATELY RETURNING!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with mates on a motorcycle trip. Close to a railway line so if your a light sleeper forget it. In the beautiful Mosel vallley next to Cochem. Great food every night without fail all freshly cooked. Fantastic storage area for motorcycles.
Well done Klaus. I will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anticaravan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Klotten
1.7 mi away
Filla Andre
Filla Andre
#1 of 4 in Ernst
112 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Weingut Kapellenhof
0.3 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Hubertus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Schloss-Hotel Petry
Schloss-Hotel Petry
#1 of 4 in Treis-Karden
99 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Weinhaus Am Stiftstor
Hotel Weinhaus Am Stiftstor
#3 of 4 in Treis-Karden
10 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hotel Moselkern
Hotel Moselkern
#2 of 2 in Moselkern
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel, Gasthaus & Restaurant zur Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel, Gasthaus & Restaurant zur Post

Property: Hotel, Gasthaus & Restaurant zur Post
Address: Bahnhofstr. 24, 56818 Klotten, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Klotten
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Klotten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel, Gasthaus & Restaurant zur Post 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, seekda GmbH and Priceline so you can book your Hotel, Gasthaus & Restaurant zur Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing