We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Next time we stay longer”
Review of Hotel Blaues Haus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Blaues Haus
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Otterberg
Reviewed 21 August 2013

The apartment was perfect for our family of grandparents, father, and 2 teenagers. We were in the Kaiserslautern area so the guys could attend a soccer game. The owner even drove them to the game! We enjoyed the quiet little town, it's stores and ambiance. Our only regret was that we had to move on.

Room Tip: Ask for the 3 bedroom apartment if you are traveling with a family
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oma3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2013

How would you like to stay in a place that has been a guest house for four centuries? The building itself was erected by Huguenot refugees in 1612 and continues to be surrounded by equally ancient buildings. This historical center of Otterberg is anchored by a romanesque church built between 1168 and 1254; its bells continue to ring in each new day at 6 am. Our room faced this ancient church; I loved being awakened by the bells, while my husband absolutely hated it. We stayed in a regular double room that was spacious and the bathroom very modern. Most amazingly for an old building, the water pressure in the shower was excellent! The proprietors make you feel instantly welcome and provide the kind of personalized service seldom found in large corporate hotels. We were the only foreigners in the hotel, which added to the feeling of experiencing life in the real Germany. We'll be sure to return -- next time longer than the 3 nights we spent in this magical place this time around.

Room Tip: The 3-bedroom apartment on the ground floor faces the back of the building, while the double rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angkor2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

The other reviews are spot-on. Hotel Blaues Haus is charming, steeped in history, quaint, in a great part of the Altstadt, comfortable, convenient to the motorway, family run (so, friendly and caring), inexpensive, and has a really great German breakfast. My family (including small child and dog) were very satisfied. You will be, too.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

A wonderful room (or apartment), great people, a fantastic breakfast, and easy access and parking says it all. Located in Otterberg very near Kaiserslautern, it is a great location from which to visit Kaiserslautern, Trier, Idar-Oberstein, Bernkastle-Kues and Saarbrucken. The rooms aqare nice, but with 3 adults they put us in a separate apartment, with three bedrooms, a sitting room, dining area/kitchen and balconey. Nicely furnished it was very clean, beautiful oriental rugs on floor and plenty of hot water in the bathroo. m. The receptionist was friendly and helpful and the gentleman running the breakfast room was efficient and cordial. Heat was controllable and adequate -- important as we visited in last December 2012. The buffet breakfast was the best we have had on this two week trip, and one of the best we have had EVER in Germany -- included typical sliced meats, brotchen, a variety of cheeses, cold cereals, fruits, yoghurt, eggs, etc. A great stay -- highly recommended and we will definitely stay here again on another trip o the K'Town area.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank dukedad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

This was an excellent hotel. We were given the upstairs apartment. It was spacious, clean and comfortable, with a kitchen and a large bathroom. The hotel is centrally placed but quiet. Breakfast was generous, the staff (when there were any there) helpful. The restaurant downstairs -- under separate management - is convenient but can when busy be slow.

Room Tip: One warning: this is not a hotel for those unsteady on their feet. You have to climb steps to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 775Jenniferruth775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

An excellant hotel , very clean, spacious, friendly, great breakfast. Would definitely recommend it as a great hotel to stay in.
The restaurant down stairs was fantastic, great food, fantastic service, large portions and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2010

OK - you need a GPS system to find it quickly - quiet secluded and steeped in history and with a restaurant next door that served up a sausage salad after hours for us when we arrived. Rooms are clean and well equipt given the very reasonable cost. Breakfast was great - cheese, meat, meusli yoghurt or just bread and jam - and set us up for the next part of our trip from Le Havre to Olomouc (due to flight cancellations!). Friendly staff, comfy bed, good shower.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stellarankin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otterberg
10.5 mi away
TDYHOMES Hotel Schattner
TDYHOMES Hotel Schattner
#5 of 21 in Kaiserslautern
39 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Barbarossahof
Hotel-Restaurant Barbarossahof
#10 of 21 in Kaiserslautern
154 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Otterberger Hof
Hotel Otterberger Hof
#2 of 3 in Otterberg
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Alcatraz Hotel am Japanischen Garten
Alcatraz Hotel am Japanischen Ga...
#11 of 21 in Kaiserslautern
78 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schippke
Hotel Schippke
#3 of 3 in Otterberg
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blaues Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blaues Haus

Address: Kirchstr. 1, 67697 Otterberg, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Otterberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Otterberg
Price Range: £59 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Blaues Haus 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Blaues Haus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing