We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A storybook place to stay in Germany”
Review of Gasthaus Schwanen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gasthaus Schwanen
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Stuehlingen
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This lovely Inn/bed and breakfast was the perfect place for us to stay. While it is located in Germany, it is a short drive to Schaffhausen, Switzerland. The owners are 3rd generation here, and the love for their place is obvious. The decorative touches were appreciated and everything was very neat and tidy. Our rooms were spacious and the beds very comfortable. The restaurant was definitely gourmet and the food was exceptional. The garden was a lovely place to sit and enjoy a glass of wine anytime of day or evening.
The breakfast was more than expected - with fresh breads, cheeses, meats, yogurts, homemade jams, and eggs on demand. We look forward to staying here again!

Room Tip: Our room was located on the 3rd floor and over the entrance - and the beer garden. it wasn't noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catladyKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2013

We recently spent a weekend at Gastahaus Schwanen, and loved every minute. Our room was very comfortable and clean, and the bathroom was much larger than most of the ones we encounter when traveling in Europe. We decided to take the half-board in the restaurant both nights. The food was delicious, and it was fun to be surprised at every course when they explained what the dish was they had prepared for us. They have a lovely area outside where one can sit and visit or read or just enjoy a glass of wine or a beer. The village itself is very small, but close to Schafhaussen, the Rhine River and, of course, the Black Forest. The tariffs were very reasonable. I highly recommend Gasthaus Schawanen!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrannieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

This is the third time that I have had Christmas lunch at this establishment.
Each year it seems to improve. Smiling staff greeted us at the door and led us to our table.
The starter this year included Chestnut Soup! The traditional Christmas meal of roast goose is first class, as is the dessert choice.
Service at the Schwann is first class and the fact that we spoke in English presented no problem at all.
An excellent Christmas Day.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guggah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We were on an eight day tour of Europe and the Gasthaus Schwanen was the most disappointing hotel that we stayed in. One of the reasons that we chose this hotel was the food displayed on its website, I have to say that we saw no evidence of food of this standard. The room was clean and comfortable, it had an hair dryer and complimentary toiletries. My main gripe was that the restaurant was inundated with flies in the evening and at breakfast the next morning. Free wired Internet in the lobby, no English menu available.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We had a stop here on our way from Northern Europe to Italy.
I have nothing but praise. We arrived a bit late, but our hostess made sure there still was a table for us in the restaurant. And what a meal it was! Amazing food.
The next morning we had an equally amazing breakfast.
When we got ready to leave, our hostess adviced us of some nice sights along our route.
We will return.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wijnand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

In the middle of the village with no great views out but so very well located for the Black Forest. A homely comfortable stay, as you would expect a little old fashioned and nothing flash and modern but all clean and comfortable. Mine Host(ess) is friendly, very efficient and with a weather eye open on everything going on. But apart from a good nights sleep, once the restaurant terrace has emptied of the locals, the real reward is in the food. So refreshing to come across food prepared by hands that care, for the choice, for what goes into it and on how it is served on scrubbed board tables (out on the terrace, the weather was so hot). So yes a very enjoyable meal with a glass of a delicious house wine and god breakfast spread. Well worth making a detour for or for using as an exploring base. Fly's of course out in the open countryside. A help yourself hospitality buffet on a landing with a good spread is a nice touch.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyinSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2010

Absolutely loved this hotel. Best one on our motorcycle tour. Owners were really welcoming and friendly. Rooms were small but perfectly equipped. Outdoor restaurant was a gem with great service, food and German beer. Fantastic value... LOVED IT

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dognuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stuehlingen
2.6 mi away
Hotel Rebstock
Hotel Rebstock
#2 of 3 in Stuehlingen
39 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Krone
Hotel Krone
#3 of 3 in Stuehlingen
30 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel Landhaus Walkenmuehle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Geng's Linde
Geng's Linde
#1 of 2 in Stuehlingen
7 reviews
2.5 mi away
Gasthaus Kranz
Gasthaus Kranz
#1 of 3 in Stuehlingen
7 reviews
1.7 mi away
Gasthaus Kreuz
Gasthaus Kreuz
#2 of 3 in Stuehlingen
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gasthaus Schwanen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthaus Schwanen

Address: Talstr. 6, 79780 Stuehlingen, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Stuehlingen
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Stuehlingen
Price Range: £70 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gasthaus Schwanen 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gasthaus Schwanen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing