We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab owners and brill place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gasthaus Schwanen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gasthaus Schwanen
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Stuehlingen
Everywhere
Level Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fab owners and brill place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

It was a stopover during our long tour thru Germany. We stayed here simply becoz of the food review. We were keen to to check out thier Michelin Guide awarded Bib Gourmand and needless to say we were not disappointed. The rooms were clean and we were delighted to find tea making facilities available as this seemed to be NOT a standard amenities that we have taken for granted travelling in UK and a few european countries.

We will return again someday to explore its surroundings.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SharonBugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
23
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Quirky lunch hours but an excellent menu, ambiance, preparation and service by this husband and wife team in a beautiful Gasthaus just east of Bonndorf on the 315. Be sure to ask for the Weinkate, and if you're not sure what to order, have the tasting menu.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

This lovely Inn/bed and breakfast was the perfect place for us to stay. While it is located in Germany, it is a short drive to Schaffhausen, Switzerland. The owners are 3rd generation here, and the love for their place is obvious. The decorative touches were appreciated and everything was very neat and tidy. Our rooms were spacious and the beds very comfortable. The restaurant was definitely gourmet and the food was exceptional. The garden was a lovely place to sit and enjoy a glass of wine anytime of day or evening.
The breakfast was more than expected - with fresh breads, cheeses, meats, yogurts, homemade jams, and eggs on demand. We look forward to staying here again!

Room Tip: Our room was located on the 3rd floor and over the entrance - and the beer garden. it wasn't noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catladyKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

We recently spent a weekend at Gastahaus Schwanen, and loved every minute. Our room was very comfortable and clean, and the bathroom was much larger than most of the ones we encounter when traveling in Europe. We decided to take the half-board in the restaurant both nights. The food was delicious, and it was fun to be surprised at every course when they explained what the dish was they had prepared for us. They have a lovely area outside where one can sit and visit or read or just enjoy a glass of wine or a beer. The village itself is very small, but close to Schafhaussen, the Rhine River and, of course, the Black Forest. The tariffs were very reasonable. I highly recommend Gasthaus Schawanen!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrannieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

This is the third time that I have had Christmas lunch at this establishment.
Each year it seems to improve. Smiling staff greeted us at the door and led us to our table.
The starter this year included Chestnut Soup! The traditional Christmas meal of roast goose is first class, as is the dessert choice.
Service at the Schwann is first class and the fact that we spoke in English presented no problem at all.
An excellent Christmas Day.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank guggah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

We were on an eight day tour of Europe and the Gasthaus Schwanen was the most disappointing hotel that we stayed in. One of the reasons that we chose this hotel was the food displayed on its website, I have to say that we saw no evidence of food of this standard. The room was clean and comfortable, it had an hair dryer and complimentary toiletries. My main gripe was that the restaurant was inundated with flies in the evening and at breakfast the next morning. Free wired Internet in the lobby, no English menu available.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

We had a stop here on our way from Northern Europe to Italy.
I have nothing but praise. We arrived a bit late, but our hostess made sure there still was a table for us in the restaurant. And what a meal it was! Amazing food.
The next morning we had an equally amazing breakfast.
When we got ready to leave, our hostess adviced us of some nice sights along our route.
We will return.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wijnand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stuehlingen
2.5 mi away
Hotel Krone
Hotel Krone
#3 of 3 in Stuehlingen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel Landhaus Walkenmuehle
2.6 mi away
Hotel Rebstock
Hotel Rebstock
#2 of 3 in Stuehlingen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Gasthof Hirschen
Gasthof Hirschen
#1 of 4 in Blumberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
11.0 mi away
arcona LIVING Schaffhausen
arcona LIVING Schaffhausen
#1 of 7 in Schaffhausen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel Loewen
Hotel Loewen
#4 of 4 in Blumberg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gasthaus Schwanen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthaus Schwanen

Property: Gasthaus Schwanen
Address: Talstr. 6, 79780 Stuehlingen, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Stuehlingen
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Stuehlingen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gasthaus Schwanen 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, HRS, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Gasthaus Schwanen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing