We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, location, not this location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Masseria del Piano - Gargidicenere
Certificate of Excellence
Wales
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Location, location, not this location”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

First of all, I will add something on here which will hopefully help anyone going to this accommodation, something we didn't have - the location (Geocodes 37.966966, 13.861463). A sat nav will not find this address, and as people have alluded to this is not Collesano (we discovered this after 4 hours of driving around).

The best thing is to head for Campofelice di Roccella, and head out of this town on the SP129 through what looks like an industrial estate (keep with it) - you may be lucky and see the small hotel sign (good luck if it getting dark or dark).

Now I know many people will think I was crazy booking without directions, but we booked through a package on Thomsons so presumed that we would get directions on arrival - which we didn't and as we had a sat nav (European) thought we would be ok - we weren't. Other couples booking with Thomsons did receive direction but still got lost!)

Once you have got to this place once though, you should be fine.

Anyway, location is only one reason this accommodate is poor (in my opinion). If you get sold this place as a 4 star hotel - get ready for a big surprise - it is not. This property is at best a good bed & breakfast.

It offers no hotel services (e.g. proper bar, tourist information, hotel information, safety protocols etc). Also, unlike many people posted on here, our experience of the proprietor were, at best, awkward and infrequent. Furthermore, the family live on property - which is fine - but some of the communal areas interlink and conversations can be clearly heard.

Other people have written very objective reviews on this place, I wish I had read more thoroughly. I won't rewrite the pros and cons but the review by Misty369 is spot on.


Sicily is lovely and the place is not positioned badly, however you will need to travel a considerable amount to see many of the delights which Sicily has to offer. We travel via road trip frequently, but bouncing back and forth this property to things like Etna, Agrigento, Enna, Palermo - even Cefalu can be tiring.

Lots of work to do....

Room Tip: Be aware the walls are thin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank AJP77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    22
    9
    7
    5
See reviews for
19
70
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Thank you for the owner's, Carlo and his wife Hajni (and of course!: the kids:) for our beautiful 4 days we spent in the lovely Masseria Del Piano in the end of september.
The location has a very good spirit: the building, the garden with the swimming pool, the lounge, the rooms, and the view....
Hajni made every day amazing authentic dinners, followed with their own red or white wines.

By car we had visited some very beautiful places in Sicily (Enrice, Cefalu, Palermo...) and always reaturned to rest to this calm and quite place.

Hajni and Carlo were excellent hosts (we think: they never sleep ) if we needed any help they were there...:) They gave us a lot of usefull info's about Sicily.

Carlo is a big fun of regatta, which we wached together:))) it was big fun for Me (Laszlo).

If you are divers, Cefalu is just 20 minutes away, where you can book diving trips (H2OME).

We highly recommend this place for everybody!!!!!!

Thank you again, Évi & Laci

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ballai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This converted farm is a wonderful find - and finding the place is an adventure in itself. Run by the owners, they have converted the buildings and area with sensitivity and care. A magnificent bedroom, large and airy, with aircon, tv (no English channels), fridge and a huge comfortable bed. We really missed not having tea-making facilities in the room and will take a travel kettle next time. The pool area is delightful with ample loungers and dappled shade. The infinity pool is a real delight although serious swimmers will find the short, shallowness a little restrictive. Hejne is a superb cook. The four course table d'hote evening meals are delicious. Her pasta is truely wonderful. Carlo is a fluent English speaker and can be very amusing and is a real fount of knowledge about all things Sicilian. Their own wines from their own grapes are really enjoyable - but all their vines (17,000) were burned in a fire last year. A real tragedy. Most of the time you can hear no human-made noise and in the evenings the stars are magnificent - the milky way and all. One of our very best holidays. We will be back!

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our two week stay in September. We were lucky enough to be given room 13 which is reached by a set of exterior steps with its own private terrace and beautiful high ceiling and even a four poster bed! Cannot praise the owners Hejni and Carlo enough. They were the perfect hosts, and Hejni's cooking was excellent! We ate here every night and were never disappointed . Fantastic ingredients, simply prepared and beautifully served with some humour thrown in from Carlo who speaks fluent English. We were invited into Hejni's kitchen where she gave us short demonstrations and advice on preparing Sicilian dishes. This accommodation offers complete seclusion, there is absolutely no background noise except for the crickets chirruping at night. Cefalu is the nearest town and takes 30 minutes to reach but worth the drive. We had many espressos and pastries in the village of Campofelice which is a few minutes drive away and well worth a visit but does not have much in the way of restaurants. To reach Masseriadelpiano when leaving the SS113 towards Campofelice and Collesano turn right and immediately right again doubling back on yourself past a lorry park and then you will find the signs for Messeria del Piano further along this road. If you mistakenly go up the hill and reach Campofelice then you have gone too far.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chriskit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Following a hectic couple of months this was the perfect place to chill out. Carlo and his wife Heini were excellent hosts. This is still a work in progress having only opened a couple of years ago, however it is already of a very good standard but Carlo has a vision and an amazing work ethic which will see this hotel go from strength to strength. Excellent continental breakfast and for 28 euros pp you can have dinner in the evening. We ate there two nights out of the seven and had it not been our first visit to Sicily we would have eaten there more often however we felt the need to explore. The four courses served were of the highest quality and definitely worth the money. Good wine too and I seem to recollect it was only 6 euros a bottle. Our room was large with a high ceiling and air conditioned, there was also a fridge for keeping the drinks cold! Only one downside was the wet room type shower which was very powerful however due to not having a shower curtain or a screen it could not be used to its full advantage as the water went everywhere!! Would highly recommend if you like an away from it all holiday. A car is a necessity and it is a bumpy road up to the hotel - you have been warned but there again it adds to the charm of the place

Room Tip: I would have gladly stayed in any room on offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

A totally relaxing week in a quiet rural retreat. Very tastefully and lovingly restored property. We felt it very good value for money. Lovely infinity pool with beautiful views of sea and mountains, plenty of sun beds often the only person in or by the pool. Lovely cool room with excellent air con and large bed, spacious room with sofa, mini fridge, and clean. Few children around when staying. Very enjoyable evening meals. Carlos the owner had excellent English and various other languages, not at all intrusive, would chat to you only if you instigated it and wanted to. We did not find it too difficult to find the hotel if you followed the instructions, map and signs. Just little things would add to the experience such as tea and coffee making facilities, decent toiletries that were replaced daily, pool towels, picture of local area on wall in room (not blank wall), just one English TV channel if only for news. But none of these small suggestions detracted from our stay. Would we stay here again or recommend - without a doubt.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Will L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed at the end of May 2013 for 2 weeks and had a fantastic time. Make sure that you know exactly where the hotel is or use a sat nav as the location can be, at first, hard to find. This hotel is gloriously & wonderfully unsophisticated, great for couples who want a quiet and relaxing break. Wonderful views, plenty of room by the pool, friendly and helpful staff, and great Sicilian food and wine if you choose to eat there. Carlo and Heinnie are wonderful hosts who will do anything for you but otherwise keep out of the way. We would definitely like a return visit sometime. Car hire essential. Beaches are a short drive. Restaurants a short drive too. Train station to Palermo just a short drive. Excellent views and location.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 318ise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Collesano
1.6 mi away
Acacia Resort Parco dei Leoni
Acacia Resort Parco dei Leoni
#2 of 7 in Campofelice di Roccella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fiesta Hotel Athenee Palace
Fiesta Hotel Athenee Palace
#1 of 7 in Campofelice di Roccella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fiesta Hotel Garden Beach
Fiesta Hotel Garden Beach
#3 of 7 in Campofelice di Roccella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Hotel Le Calette
Hotel Le Calette
#2 of 35 in Cefalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
9.5 mi away
Cefalu Sea Palace
Cefalu Sea Palace
#1 of 35 in Cefalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
9.4 mi away
Hotel Alberi Del Paradiso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Masseria del Piano - Gargidicenere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masseria del Piano - Gargidicenere

Property: Masseria del Piano - Gargidicenere
Address: contrada Gargidicenere | SS113, Bivio Campofelice seguire cartelli, 90016 Collesano, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Collesano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Collesano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Masseria del Piano - Gargidicenere 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Masseria del Piano - Gargidicenere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Masseria Del Piano - Gargidicenere Collesano, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing