We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great way to spend a couple relaxing days!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wabatongushi Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Errington's Wilderness Island Resort
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great way to spend a couple relaxing days!!!”
Reviewed 16 August 2012

My wife and I just got back from a great week long vacation. We started it the best way possible.. with a trip on the Agawa Canyon Tour Train followed by an overnight stay at Errington's. When we decided to do this, we weren't really sure what to expect. We read over the website's information and thought it sounded good,,, but after our short stay, we found we were wrong... IT WAS GREAT!

My wife gave Errington's a call to make the reservation. She spoke to Doris Errington and she was more than helpful. She suggested places to stay in The Soo the night before our trip and also suggested things to do. She was a big help and made sure everything was arranged and set up.

The train ride to Agawa Canyon was beautiful. We transferred to the passenger train and picked up others that were also on their way to Errington's. Everyone we spoke to on the train had been up to Errington's many times in the past and had nothing but great things to say about about the resort and especially about the Errington family.

As our short visit confirmed, the Wilderness Resort was outstanding.... the food was exceptional , the scenery calming and the nature/wildlife viewing was very nice.

The one thing that will stand out the most for us is the character of the Errington family. We were only on the island for less than a day, but in that short time we could see a deep love of nature and people from each one of them. oh... and the staff at Errington's was great as well.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Soupman1100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Geneseo, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We have waited over 20 years to finally continue on up the line to Errington's. We went not knowing what to expect but were thinking oh, probably tourist trap. What a great surprise! We were met and promptly "pontooned" to the island by Al (owner and now friend). We were shown to rooms that, tho small, were simply splendid. Clean and homey with a fridge and sittiing room and large bed. We were taken on a spectacular boat ride through some fantastic scenery by Vern (staff) who was knowledgable and very entertaining. Though the animals did not co-operate by coming out we still got some great shots. The menu may be limited in choices but not in portions or quality. We had orange cornish game hens that were to die for! I would highly recommend this trip to all. If you fish it is even more worth it as the fishing is fantastic. We did not fish but our neighbor did and the pike was amazing! If you like trains and boats and friendly people who make you feel at home, go on this adventure!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank evansgranny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Four old friends spent 4 nights and 3 days of fishing at Errington's. The fishing for pickerel (walleye) and pike was excellent...during the stay we caught and released approx. 80 fish. The largest pickerel was 20 1/2" with many in the 16 - 18" range. Largest pike was 28", with a number just slightly smaller. The boats supplied were large cedar-strip, powered by newer 15 hp 4 stroke Mercs with electric trolling motors and hummingbird fish finders. As we were out fishing all day we were able to see abundant wildlife (2 bears, bald eagles, hawks, loons, ducks, blue heron, beavers) and songbirds were evident all the time (hermit thrushes in particular are unforgettable). We stayed on the full American plan. The quality of the 4 dinners served (steak, ribs, seafood stuffed chicken and prime rib) was very, very good, certainly much better than the remote location would suggest to those who have never experienced a wilderness lodge (and there was more than enough, you don't go hungry!). We opted to have shore lunches 2 of 3 times. These consisted of fish caught by guests or supplied by the lodge. Lodge-supplied shore lunches were pickerel or whitefish, very tasty and ore than enough. The lunch was prepared on-site accompanied by corn bread and large-cut chips cooked over an open fire (delicious... although some people might not like deep fried food, but that's what a shore lunch is all about). Our cabin (#2) was comfortable and clean but basic. Two bedrooms with 2 single beds in each (the lodge will supply an extra cot in each room for parties of 5 or 6), kitchen, living room with 2 chairs and couch and bathroom (3 pce). During our stay the weather was hot and the cabin quickly became quite warm, but the evenings were cool and the cabin was comfortable for sleeping. There was also a fair-sized open deck that we used in the evening (few mosquitoes) and smaller screened porch that would be handy if more bugs are present. The lodge and eating facilities were as they should be for a true northern experience...log construction, trophy-sized mounted fish, large stone fireplace and comfortable eating area. Al, Doris and their staff were all excellent, very attentive and friendly. All-in-all a highly recommended vacation for those wanting to experience a true northern Ontario experience. Access to Errington's is via float plane or train from Hawk Junction (1.5 hours by train, 20 min. by plane).

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amzgreen986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

My wife enjoys Errington's which means it is clean and comfortable with fine dining and a genuinely friendly staff, beautiful scenery and good fishing. We have been guests five times.
Conrad & Tina Midland MIchigan

Room Tip: all the rooms a great, plan ahead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 18Tina18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

We visited Errington's for one night only, as part of the Agawa Canyon Train Tour package. We only wish that we could have stayed for longer.

When our train dropped us off, we were greeted by Al the owner and taken via pontoon boat across Lake Wabatongushi to the resort island. As the train was late, we were shown our suites (in a lodge next to the main building, rather than the cabins in which people stay when they visit Errington's for longer periods) and quickly freshened up before dinner.

The main lodge was very impressive, built by Al himself, and pretty much a work of art, I reckon. We were warmly welcomed and sat down to an excellent dinner: salad with luscious homegrown tomatoes, followed by perfectly cooked New York striploin steak with jacket potato and veg. Since it was growing darker earlier by this late in the season (we were the last guests before the resort closed for the winter), we were taken out on our evening pontoon boat trip before dessert.

Unfortunately, despite Vern the boatman's best efforts, we didn't manage to see any wildlife on that particular occasion. Still, the boat ride was enjoyable in itself. Upon our return, we were served a particularly delicious apple pie (made by the talented Vern himself!) and tea or coffee.

Our suite was relatively small, but much better than I'd expected for a stay out in the wilderness. It was certainly very cosy and comfortable, and we had a good night's sleep - that is, until we deliberately woke up at 5am and went outside to see if we could see the Northern Lights. Apparently, Vern had seen a good showing of them at around 5.30 on the morning of our arrival, but the moon was still very bright and it was also misty when we tried to see them, so we were unsuccessful. I'm told that they can sometimes be seen even during the summer, though. Ah well, at least that gives us a good excuse to return for another try! All the same, it was a lovely experience to stand outside with the peace and calm of the wilderness around us in the wee hours of the morning.

An excellent breakfast was served in the main lodge, before we were taken out once more for another pontoon boat ride. This time, we were luckier and saw a bald eagle and its nest.

Al, Doris and all of the staff at Errington's made even our very short stay a wonderful and very memorable one. They could not have been more helpful or kinder. It was also a joy to meet Nikita and shy Sable, their rescue dogs.

It was with sadness that we boarded the pontoon boat for our ride across the lake to catch the train back to Soo (with a packed lunchbox provided to sustain us on the journey). We hope to return and stay for longer next time in one of the cabins.

If you love Nature and good, friendly people, then I think you'll feel right at home at Errington's.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank tasmanian-wolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Our first time to this resort. They all say they're "the best", but this resort REALLY IS.
We were extremely impressed with the Service, Facilities, Food and Hospitality. This is an extremely well run outfit.
If you go with a full American Plan stay, the food you're served was incredible. They give you so much, we started asking for half orders. NY Strip Steak, Prime Rib, BBQ Ribs, Orange Glazed Cornish Game Hens, Pork Loin medallions of tenderloin, Pork cordon-bleu, Chicken breasts stuffed with seafood, etc.
Home made pies, cakes, cookies, buns and breads. Breakfast was different every day.... waffles, pancakes, eggs benedict, omlets, etc. Lunch is either boxed ( in cooler) with sandwiches, fruit, cookies, vegetables with dipping sauce or shore lunch of freshly caught walleye, whitefish or pike. We went for Walleye and the average size was 15-18" and they were "fat" too. Prefered bait seemed to be Minnows, but if they were on the feed, they'd hit leeches too. We noted when the water temp was 63, they seemed to be more active and all our fish were taken in 4 ft to 10 ft of water & close to rocky shorelines and around points. They have so many rocky islands, coves and reed / weed beds, this is a fisherman's dream. This section of the lake isn't deep...... most areas are 10-20 ft with sandy/rocky bottoms. Towards the southern end ( the narrows) they have some spots that go down to 40 ft.
We had Cabin #2. See photos. The outside didn't look impressive, but the inside was spacious and very comfortable. BEDS were SO COMFORTABLE it was like being at home. THE TOILETS WORK too. They have their own septic system. Good showers and plenty of hot water too. Wish they had more electrical outlets though. One on bottom of the "gas" stove ( I know it sounds strange) one in each bedroom. None in the bathroom, living room or kitchen. The Bathroom does have an electric light, but the rest of the cabin runs off of gas lamps. Our cabin had a screened in sitting porch, an outdoor deck with seating and a BBQ. The Cabin also has an automatic insect control spray that goes off every 15 min. We had just a couple mosquitos inside the cabin during our JUNE 11-18 STAY. No See em's got a good feeding around our ankles and arms, but it was so unseasonably warm that week, that we couldn't keep covered up.
Boats had great running 15 hp Merc motors, an electric trolling motor and fish finder....all of which operated flawlessly. Our 18ft cedar strip boats DIDN'T LEAK either. They provide and anchor but the greatest gizmo is their "T" bar. It's a long metal bar topped by a wooden handle which is slid into a metal bracket bolted mid boat next to the center long wooden seat. This bar aids your balance when getting into or out of the boat from the dock. It's amazing how helpful it was all week long, especially for women or those "over 55" crowd. When not used with the "T", we put our net into the bracket. Fit like a glove. Nets are rubber with NO HOLES. Bait is available for purchase.....minnows, leeches or nightcrawlers. The dockhands are always there when you come in to help tie you up, get you gas or fresh bait. We never waited.
The Main Lodge is spectacular inside. Fresh, open, inviting and comfortable. Service was outstanding.
Breakfast is served at 8am...........and by 9, your cabin has been cleaned. They actually scrub the bathroom floor and showers with disinfectant. Shore lunch is at Noon on an island close to the lodge and Dinner is at 6pm.
Al, Doris ( the owners) and Vern, Larry Lori, Julia and Mandy really took care of us and made us feel as if we were family. They really cared if you had a good experience.
The American plan with a Fly In from Hawk Junction is a bit expensive, but after you compare this Lodge with others, you'll gladly spend the extra $$$ to come back. We will re-book for the 2012 season. They also have Housekeeping only or Housekeeping with Dinner only packages and you can get there by train from the Sault Ste Marie, Ont or Hawk Junction, Ont.
We saw Bear, Moose, mature Bald Eagles, Loons, mink and during our week, a hatch of the Dragonflies by the thousands. What a sight and I guess that signals the end of black flies as they go after and eat them.
Fabulous experience and one we'll never forget.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank LWOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monona, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2010

Errington's Wilderness Island is a sheer delight --- from the rare beauty of Lake Wabatongushi to the warmth of the family and staff. All who travel here will experience the joy of great fishing, the wonder of Mother Earth, and the peace and serenity of nature.
Best wishes and many thanks to the Errington family for a GREAT vacation... Like a long-lost cousin, I will return someday with more "relatives" in tow. Best wishes - Kris and the Ladies of Cabin 6.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kris087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wabatongushi Lake
20.4 mi away
Waterfalls Lodge
Waterfalls Lodge
#1 of 5 in Spanish
53 reviews
14.6 mi away
Laughing Waters
Laughing Waters
#1 of 2 in Algoma Mills
27 reviews
14.8 mi away
Lake Lauzon Resort & Marine
Lake Lauzon Resort & Marine
#2 of 2 in Algoma Mills
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Dunlop Lake Lodge
Dunlop Lake Lodge
#2 of 2 in Elliot Lake
40 reviews
18.5 mi away
Auberge Eldo Inn
Auberge Eldo Inn
#5 of 5 in Blind River
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Errington's Wilderness Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Errington's Wilderness Island Resort

Property: Errington's Wilderness Island Resort
Address: Island on Lake Wabatongushi | at Mile 206 on the Algoma Central Railway, Wabatongushi Lake, Ontario P6B-6H4 , Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Wabatongushi Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Wabatongushi Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable lakeside cabins and suites, fine dining and courteous service on a secluded island easily accessible via the Algoma Central Railway or float plane. Our resort is on Lake Wabatongushi in a 3,000 square mile Wildlife Sanctuary. Sightings of wildlife such as moose, black bear, loons and bald eagles, are numerous. The only hunting allowed since 1925 is with a camera. Excellent fishing for walleye and northern pike. Also canoeing, kayaking, hiking and swimming. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Errington`s Wilderness Island Hotel Wabatongushi Lake
Erringtons Wilderness Island Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing