We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“World-Class Vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Errington's Wilderness Island Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wabatongushi Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Errington's Wilderness Island Resort
Adell, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“World-Class Vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2010

This will be our 22nd year at Erringtons. We have never found anyplace to compare with the outstanding service and attentiveness of the Erringtons' and their staff. It is a vacation of a lifetime.................for relaxing, experience, and, oh yes, fishing.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank truckrlawr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2010

This was our first wilderness experience. We could not have been more pleased with
Errington's Wilderness Lodge. The owners, Doris and Al were great and went out of their way to make sure our stay was perfect. The staff was always willing to help us with anything, and they were all very cordial. Our meals at the lodge were more than we ever expected, absolutley delicious. We never had any problems with the boat they provided us with, and we were using it from sun up to sun down. We did not do any fishing, but went kayaking and hiking alot. The scenery and wildlife was spectacular. We highly recommend Errington's Wilderness Lodge!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank screech4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2009

My wife and grown son and I just got back from a 5 night stay at Errington's. We have stayed in many wilderness cabins/resorts over the last 40 years and all agreed that this is the first one we've found that we would like to pay a return visit. Service is a word most businesses throw around lightly. At Errington's you actually feel like you are getting first rate service and attention. But that's not the best part. The cabins are terrific. We had a fireplace, screened in porch, deck, private dock, and three chairs on the dock for evening relaxation - and wathcing our son catch a 24 inch northern off the end of the dock! On our last day four loons came within 15 yards of us and spent the next thirty minutes swimming around us searching for food. We saw countless bald eagles and a few black bears. It was a great vacation and we are looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mitraveler048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westerville OH
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2008

Errington's Wilderness Island Resort
Dec 31, 2008
Ed Nagel Westerville OH

I have been going to Errington,s for five years now. Everytime that I am there I find more things to see. If you are into wildlife this is the place to go.

The staff is great they can't seem to do enough for you.

If you are into fishing, then you will be in heaven because the fishing is excellent. I can't wait intil next August when I get to spend another week on Lake Wabatongushi

  • Liked — The Staff and remoteness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Fishing-Wildlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2008

On July 31, 2008 my wife and I began a very enjoyable three night stay at Errington's Wilderness Island Resort.As we drove north along the shores of Lake Superior we were once again in awe of the sheer beauty of the coastline, which prepared usfor the undisturbed scenery of Wabatongushi Lake.

Upon arrival at the lodge we were promptly greeted by owner Doris Errington and her friendly dock staff. Our gear was placed in a very comfortable 20 foot cedar strip boat and we were driven to our log cabin. Our two bedroom cabin was equipped with very comfortable beds and hot water on demand for the shower,
bathroom and kitchen. We packed our own food and ate breakfast and supper in the cabi, while spending lunch somewhere on the lake.The resort is located on an island, which is part of a large quiet lake and at night we slept soundly until 9 am each morning.

Once we began to fish we realized that the fish finder in the boat was very important to our success for catching fish as it would indicate where the deeper holes that held fish were located.It didn't realyy matter what time of the day we fished as we had good luck throughout.

Al and Doris Errington provided us with directional information as to where we could see moose, bear, eagle's nests, etc, which added to our anticipation of seeing new sites while boating on the lake.

In conclusion, our stay at Errington's Wilderness Island Resort was first rate and Al and Doris are tremndous hosts that take good care of their customers.

  • Liked — Good Service
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DonDonnaOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2008

Our four night stay in June/July was our second vacation at Errington's Wilderness Island Resort. We stayed for two nights in 2006, and that was not enough time to explore the lake and the bountiful fauna and flora of the area. We saw loons, quails, a moose and her calf, a bear and her three cubs, a golden eagle, and a variety of fish during our first visit. During our second vacation, we saw mergansers (female and male), a loon with her two chicks, beavers, a mating pair of eagles and their eaglets, and, of course, fish. The mood of Wabatongushi Lake changes daily; there is always something new to see or hear (or not hear in the cases of airplanes, cars, loud music, etc.). The cabins are somewhat enjoyably secluded, although most are connected to the main lodge by a foot path. The wooden boats are charming and hearty; thumping through the waves in a wooden boat is intoxicating! And the food--the DINNERS! We had Housekeeping with Dinners for both of our visits, and there is nothing like coming in from a full day on the lake to a three course gourmet meal. Many kudos to Verlynn and Doris; we always left the lodge full and looking forward to the next night's meal. Al, Doris, and the staff always went out of the way, from letting me borrow a hat to protect my sunburned ears to bailing water out of the boat in the middle of the night after a thunderstorm, to make our stay worry-free and comfortable. If you want a peaceful stay on a beautiful lake to enjoy nature, Errington's Wilderness Island Resort is for you. It IS in the middle of nowhere, so prepare for sun, bugs, and possible rain. We plan on returning next summer!!

  • Liked — The staff and location.
  • Disliked — The mosquitoes and the bats (but the bats eat the mosquitoes)
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmarik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2008

We've been to Errington's twice. Our second visit was for our honeymoon.

The cabins are cozy and comfortable. Our honeymoon brought cold weather and rain, it was mid-September. The constant supply of firewood was appreciated and we were warm as toast. We were the only guests in the cabins (it was their last week of the season), and had the island to ourselves. In June, the cabins were filled with friendly people.

Ivan was our fishing guide in September, our first visit we ventured out on our own. Not being that much of a fishing lover, I enjoyed watching the wildlife (bears and loons everywhere first visit in June). This place offers total relaxation. I remember warm June days floating in the boat, and sunset not until 10 p.m.

The train ride is lovely. Our first trip was from Sault St. Marie, but second was from Hawk Junction. You must do the long trip at least once to see the canyon. The drive to/from Hawk was breathtaking along Lake Superior.

I can't say enough about the owners, they are so knowledgeable and hospitable. We took the dinner plan, and cooked our own breakfast and lunch, but dined with the group for dinner. The food was outstanding, and the staff was fun.

It's been over year since our last visit, but we'll be back. We're off exploring other parts of Canada right now. I have yet to find a place like Wilderness Island. It is truly unique.

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WISuzyqueue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wabatongushi Lake
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Elliot Lake
Hampton Inn Elliot Lake
#1 of 1 in Elliot Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
14.6 mi away
Laughing Waters
Laughing Waters
#1 of 2 in Algoma Mills
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
14.6 mi away
Lake Lauzon Resort & Marine
Lake Lauzon Resort & Marine
#2 of 2 in Algoma Mills
5.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Errington's Wilderness Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Errington's Wilderness Island Resort

Property: Errington's Wilderness Island Resort
Address: Island on Lake Wabatongushi | at Mile 206 on the Algoma Central Railway, Wabatongushi Lake, Ontario P6B-6H4 , Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Wabatongushi Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Wabatongushi Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable lakeside cabins and suites, fine dining and courteous service on a secluded island easily accessible via the Algoma Central Railway or float plane. Our resort is on Lake Wabatongushi in a 3,000 square mile Wildlife Sanctuary. Sightings of wildlife such as moose, black bear, loons and bald eagles, are numerous. The only hunting allowed since 1925 is with a camera. Excellent fishing for walleye and northern pike. Also canoeing, kayaking, hiking and swimming. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Errington`s Wilderness Island Hotel Wabatongushi Lake
Erringtons Wilderness Island Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing