We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Depressing hotel in a depressing town”
Review of Svevo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Svevo Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gioia del Colle
Reviewed 28 September 2013

A cold reception did not bode well for our overnight stay in this drab, functional hotel. We went out into the town to find somewhere to eat but did not fancy anything we saw so we returned to the hotel. The dinner was adequate but not expensive.
The reception staff person on checkout was pleasant and did at least smile.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2013

Came in on the ferry from Dubrovnik to Bari and toured around Puglia and landed here. We got the last room which was a nice suite overlooking the garden area. A piano competition was in town so the hotel was full of people from all over the world. Our room was clean and comfortable. We had a sitting room as well as a bedroom. The bathroom was adequate but I do hate plastic cups. The front desk staff were very friendly and spoke English so we could carry on an extended conversation about local things going on, otherwise it would have been basic Italian for us. Wifi was good and the free parking was great, it was in an enclosed gated area and convenient for loading and unloading. We ate in town so I can't comment on the restaurant. Breakfast was nothing exceptional but staff was very accommodating.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Two_to_Tango_BA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

I was booked into the hotel for 1 month for work reasons. I would say the rooms are basic, only two english channels on the television, the bedding is disgusting with one sheet and a scratchy blanket straight from the 1950's. On the plus side the bedroom maids are thorough and do a first class job straightening up the rooms every morning. Meals times are a different matter entirely, timings for the meals differ from the advertised timings. When the restaurant does open up the menu is limited, pasta with the hint of fish is a popular option here. Breakfast is as expected, lunch is good but can wait up to an hour for the main course, even when there are only a handful of people sat down. The staff are rather unfriendly and seem to be put out they have to do any work. Overall I would say visit here as a last resort.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the busy main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rich H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2010

I’ve been travelling for business reason in the Bari area and I stayed 3 nights in the Svevo hotel just outside Gioia del Colle (about 40km from Bari). The hotel is a good structure situated just outside the town center. My room was of a decent size and clean, which was a pleasant surprise because I had very bad experiences in the Bari area. Recently the hotel has opened a fitness center and although I didn’t use it the equipment looked new.

The restaurant and the bar were nothing special so if you have the chance you can find nice restaurants in the town center of Gioia del Colle. The breakfast was of a fair size and everything was fresh.

Wireless internet was included in the room but the only real annoyance is that the password expires every 4 hours.

The only downside of the hotel was that my shower cabin door wasn’t working very well and when I made that known to the reception they said they’d look into it but when I came back it was the same.

Overall the Svevo hotel is a good hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LScrocca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2009

I'm staying at the Svevo for one week while on business.

The hotel is located a short 10 minute walk from the center of town and located in a residential neighbourhood.

The hotel has 4 floors serviced by 2 very small elevators.
There is a dining room and lobby bar.
There are no fitness facilities.

Front staff all speak some english. At first they seemed to not be very happy or engaging.....but when I made an effort to be friendly, they opened up. Oddly, there are no women on the staff (except for house cleaning)

Beware, there are 2 types of rooms.....the standard and the supperior. They are both the same size, but the superior has been re-decorated and upgraded.

My first room was a standard room. The main problem was the heating. The control was old and the writing worn off. No matter how I set it, I couldn't get heat....so I was chilly.

My second room was nicer (a Superior room).
Upgrades over standard:
- Heating was an automatic unit - room temperature was fine
- Paintings on the wall
- Flat screen TV was mounted on the wall
- Bathroom was nicer
- Lighting was better

The one problem was, I was located just adjacent to the elevator, so I could hear the elevator going up and down......beware of any rooms that end in 01 or 29, as there are the rooms on either sides of the 2 elevators.

To Improve:
- In the small shower stall, there is no soap holder or tray bolted to the wall, so you have to go into the shower holding your shampoo and soap in your hands as you shower.....then drop each one as you finish.
- The soaps are those tiny motel size ones.
- The cups are the cheapest little plastic ones.
- The bed is very firm....so much so that I did have a sore back each morning. This may not be a problem for people who love very firm.....(my business associate in another room had the same problem with his back)

What you should also know:
- No in-room safe
- No kettle or tea/coffee facilities in room
- There is a mini-fridge that you could find room to place a few of your items
- 2 English channels (9) BBC and (23) Fox USA
- Internet was FREE (wired or wiress in my superior room & wireless only in my standard room)......however, you need to continuously go to the front desk and get an access code for 1 to 8 hours of access......a bit of an annoyance.

The breakfast was included. The breakfast is from 6:30am on weekdays. I usually arrived there at 6:30, but it usually took 1/2 hour for the staff to bring all the food out. It's a continental buffet on the light side.
Yogurts
Fresh baked breads
Cut fruit is canned, not fresh (however there are oranges and apples)
Cheese, ham

Conclusion: If you get the right room, this is an ok hotel. Management could make some easy changes that would make this hotel a lot better.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank deathracer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ELISA G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017
Thank NICOLAS F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gioia del Colle
6.3 mi away
Hotel Esperia
Hotel Esperia
#1 of 1 in Sammichele di Bari
28 reviews
0.4 mi away
Il Grifone
Il Grifone
#2 of 20 in Gioia del Colle
185 reviews
2.7 mi away
Tenute D'Onghia
Tenute D'Onghia
#2 of 7 in Gioia del Colle
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21 mi away
Dimora del Falconiere
Dimora del Falconiere
#8 of 20 in Gioia del Colle
25 reviews
0.5 mi away
B&B Jsuite
B&B Jsuite
#9 of 20 in Gioia del Colle
36 reviews
0.4 mi away
Al Borgo Bed and Breakfast
Al Borgo Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 20 in Gioia del Colle
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Svevo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Svevo Hotel

Address: Via Paolo Cassano 319, 70023 Gioia del Colle, Italy
Region: Italy > Puglia > Province of Bari > Gioia del Colle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gioia del Colle
Price Range: £61 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Svevo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Svevo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing