We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The People Make The Place...”
Review of The Crouch Oak

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Crouch Oak
Ranked #1 of 2 Addlestone B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 August 2014

When you see rooms available above a pub thats exactly what it is, however it doesn't explain the great people who work here and the great people you meet here.

Make sure you go and enjoy a pint and meet the locals as well as enjoy Dave the Chef great meals (I recommend the Breakfast!).

Always showing the sport which helps on a Sunday.

Like I say the rooms might be basic, but the atmostphere and friendliness here makes this a great place to stay!

Room Tip: Ask for Dan, Guy or Bobby by name ;)
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rbnforsyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
There are newer reviews for The Crouch Oak
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

Very tired and somewhat battered furniture - but bedding was clean and shower/ hot water good. Small t.v. ( decent reception) + tea/coffee making kit provided.
Small electric fan in room - much appreciated as room hot due to weather.
Basic " builders" fry up for breakfast - sugar already put in tea and and toast already buttered on side of plate - but not bad value for a fiver.
We booked through late rooms which states room available from 12:00 hrs - however on arrival room not ready and we were informed that room would not be ready for at least another hour as they actually operated a 2pm check in at the weekend.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Iman321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I knew this was not going to be the best place to stay from the reviews but it was the only bed within walking distance from a family party - despite the poor reviews it really did shock me.

The room was tiny, dirty, stuffy, hot and very noisy on a main busy road without even a bedside table. The bedding was grim and I felt sure hadn't been changed. The bed was sort of a camping bed with metal legs that bounced all over the place and pretty hard mattress. The shower room door floated loose and the needed a complete re-furb.

The sign in the bathroom amused us ' do not put your towels on the bed or bedding' but there was no towel rail !!!

We skipped breakfast - for £65 (£75 with breakfast) I haven't stayed anywhere nearly as grim since I back packed round India and then they were better and a quarter of the price.

I have posted pictures but apologise that they are up side down but hopefully they will give you enough of an idea to decide for yourself ! The camera doesn't lie!!!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else !!
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank merryweather29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Very small room (nowhere near as big as the one in the photos). Rather old and dinghy, no hairdryer, no bath and most uninspiring. There is a strange smell as you climb the outside fire escape and enter the building. BUT its not expensive, there is a large and cheerful bar downstairs and the staff were obliging and friendly. A special mention goes to Dave (he cooks the excellent breakfast and brings tea/coffee - a real genuine old character). Not a place to bring your wife\girlfriend - well not if you want to impress, but for a short practical stop over it provides all the basics at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank tomlaw1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This property provides very basic accommodation. Access to my room was via the fire escape in the car park at the side of the pub.
The bathroom was very small. Seemed like an after thought for the room.
The room was clean except for under the bed where there was an old sock and dirt. Seemed like it had not been cleaned under the bed for months and months.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Hi there,
We ended up staying in the double which other reviewers have mentioned, with the shower in a wardrobe accessed via the fire escape. Personally, these things did not bother me and everything was functional and provided us a comfortable stay. We went to a wedding at the Brooklands Motor Museeum nearby, and at 2 in the morning it was only a £10 Taxi drive away. Decent curtains unlike most B&B's and we slept well. Had a lovely brekky (extra £5 each) courtesy of Dave who was really lovely, but I would probably skip the breakfast if I could do it again. A little too greasy for me and made us feel ill. But good reception from all staff.

We also bartered with them on the phone and got a double for £50 on a Friday night so well worth a phone call rather than booking through the net!!

This place does exactly what it says on the tin. Provides all the basic but no more.

Kind Regards

Room Tip: Poor for disabled access or people with limited mobility, but all seemed fine otherwise.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma Marie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012 via mobile

This is a no-nonsense establishment that provides acceptable pub grub and drink, and extremely basic accommodation.

If you are looking for anything more than the bog standard basics, then look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IncognitoMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Addlestone
1.3 mi away
Best Western The Ship Hotel
1.5 mi away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
2,631 reviews
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Chertsey Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Bridge Hotel
The Bridge Hotel
#4 of 4 in Chertsey
664 reviews
1.9 mi away
Oatlands Park Hotel
Oatlands Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Weybridge
978 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Warren Lodge Hotel
The Warren Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Shepperton
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crouch Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crouch Oak

Address: 138 Station Road, Addlestone KT15 2BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Addlestone
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Addlestone
Price Range: £48 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your The Crouch Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing