We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Reception and overnight stay”
Review of Dower House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dower House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Woodhall Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Louth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wedding Reception and overnight stay”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

A family member chose the dower house for their wedding reception in June. From the moment we arrived after the wedding ceremony to the time we left the next day the whole experience was absolutely fantastic. All the staff were very friendly and efficient. The day went off without a hitch, the weather was beautiful and the location and the grounds of the dower house absolutely superb. It was so peaceful and tranquil. I would certainly recommend this hotel for any occasion and am thinking about treating my parents to a night there.

Room Tip: Room 7 was a good room as it was on the ground floor and it has french doors that open out to the ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KHR62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    58
    15
    7
    4
See reviews for
79
155
4
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The staff are friendly and accommodating and the hotel itself is fantastic. We could tell that their had been a lot of investment in the building and the staff were very well trained. The food was also terrific.

Room Tip: Best hotel in Woodhall Spa area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puy-l'Eveque, France
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed at the Dower House with a group of friends for a special event outside of the hotel. It was the first time we had visited Woodhall Spa and the The Dower House and neither disappointed.
The small town is charming and the hotel, tucked away in a leafy quarter, just a short walk from the high street was a real delight. Immaculate, with lovely spacious and well-equipped rooms.
We didn't dine in the hotel but the all inclusive breakfast, cooked freshly to your order, was excellent.
Sad to leave, we have vowed to visit it again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grumpymikefrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

we had a one night stay fantastic room in the lodge over looking the golf course friendly and helpful staff who went above and beyond to make are stay enjoyable food was excellent both evening meal and breakfast would visit again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g8zz8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights with a small group of friends. Had a great stay. Rooms were in the lodge and were fantastic. Had dinner one night and we all agreed it was one of the best meals we have had on our trips away. The steaks were amazing. Breakfast equally as good. Generally just had a great stay and will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Golfboy82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The location, service and ambience was as we had experienced before. However the meal itself was very disappointing. The meat was bitty with no discernible slices. The choice of vegetables was unimaginative, carrots, frozen broad beans and peas.
Alas on this occasion it was not value for money.

Room Tip: We did not stay. Just there for Sunday lunch.m
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank xamswerdna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We visited the Dower House for quintessential English afternoon tea. We were seated in lounge facing the gardens and new annex - a lovely room except it is now the entrance hall and reception. For us, the new layout just does not work. Tea itself was a feast consisting of finger sandwiches, plum loaf with Poacher cheese, shortbread, cake and scones with cream and jam. The prawn sandwiches were particularly good whereas the beef and ham were rather dry and the salad leaves past their sell by date. The pieces of cake were rather dry and not really up to the standard we have come to expect. Overall, afternoon tea was OK but on this occasion certainly lacked finesse.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 19LincsTraveller40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodhall Spa
0.4 mi away
Petwood Hotel
Petwood Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
915 reviews
0.3 mi away
The INN at Woodhall Spa
The INN at Woodhall Spa
#3 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
383 reviews
12.0 mi away
Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Branston Hall Hotel
Branston Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
1,044 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Golf Hotel
The Golf Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
310 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Admiral Rodney Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dower House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dower House Hotel

Property: Dower House Hotel
Address: Manor Estate, Woodhall Spa LN10 6PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Woodhall Spa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Woodhall Spa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dower House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect central village location, situated overlooking the Golf Course with the club house just two minutes walk. Recently completed extensive £1.5m refurbishment and the addition of "The Lodge", the Designer has retained all the original features of this beautiful Country House Hotel, including wonderful open fires in the Lounge & Bar. Seasons Restaurant offers a Full A La Carte Menu using locally sourced produce, with a selection of lighter meals that can be taken in Harrys Bar. Rooms have double aspect or bay windows with Twin or Super King Beds, en-suites with bath and power shower over- Suites have separate bath and "walk in" showers or book Room 16 for the freestanding double ended claw foot bath that you can really relax in. Even the complimentary in room "Butlers Trays" contain a jar of Shortbread which is freshly baked daily. Well positioned for visits to the Kinema in the Woods (2 mins), Memorial Flight (RAF Conningsby), local Antique centres, Lincolnshire Wolds, and historic Lincoln Cathedral. Hotel Car service to and from Airports & Newark, Grantham, Lincoln railway stations(charge applies). For Business, The Orangery, Oak Room and Garden Room provide the perfect solution for meetings / conferences or private Dining and the 24 hour reception allows for late arrivals or early starts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Dower House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dower House Hotel Woodhall Spa, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing