We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lincoln's best kept secret”
other traveller has booked this property
Amazing wooden bath - perfect for 2. Bathroom also has a small wet room with shower +toilet and sink
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Amazing wooden bath - perfect for 2. Bathroom also has a small wet room with shower +toilet and sink
Lovely living room is warm and welcoming with wood-burning stove and underfloor heating Beautiful bedroom with beams.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Amazing wooden bath - perfect for 2. Bathroom also has a small wet room with shower +toilet and sink
Lovely living room is warm and welcoming with wood-burning stove and underfloor heating
Beautiful bedroom with beams.
The Manor House Stables - an 18th century stable block beautifully restored in 2008
Cosy well-equipped kitchen with electric Everhot range cooker, Belfast sink, microwave and fridge.
Plenty of goodies are provided - veggies, sausages, eggs, milk, chocolates, bread, wine, jam + more
Other essentials are provided too like tea, coffee and sugar as well as milk, butter & bread
The private little garden just outside the kitchen door with basket swing, BBQ, picnic table & more
We are pleased to say that we have had many wonderful reviews!
The Manor House Stables in Winter - lovely and warm and cosy inside by the wood-burning stove!
The Lancaster flying over our house
Fields surrounding the Manor House
The Cottage Museum, Woodhall Spa
The Kinema in the Woods, Woodhall Spa
The Spa Train, Woodhall Spa
The Ancolme River, Woodhall Spa
The Viking Way runs through Woodhall Spa
Along the Water Railway walk
The Countryside
Heckington Windmill
A church near Horncastle
'Just Jane' - the Lancaster at East Kirkby
Branston Hall near Lincoln
Lincoln Castle
Lincoln Cathedral
Lincoln
Lincoln
One of the Roman archways, Lincoln
Lincoln
Lincoln
The Lincoln Tour Bus
Skegness beach in winter
The Wolds
We offer half day 'Courses just for 2' for guests to the Stables
Awards we've wone
Awards we've wone
The Manor House Stables logo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Woodhall Spa, Lincolnshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
palmy62
Canterbury Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lincoln's best kept secret”
Reviewed 3 December 2012 for a stay in September 2012

My partner & I stayed with a friend at the Bothy for 4 nights in September - what a fantastic place. The Bothy itself was gorgeous, with absolutely everything you may need in a home away from home.

It was hardly self-catering, as advertised - everying was provided. We received a "Starter Pack" which Sherry said was just enough to get you going - well it kept us going for 4 days! We were thrilled to bits with all the thoughtful little extras like the wine and chocolates. We also ordered the meal the first night (for two) and there were enough roast vegetables and apple crumble to have with our dinner on the 2nd night.

Sherry was extremely helpful and friendly and really made our stay special, our experience was as good as any 5 star hotel and it certainly would be our first choice of accommodation whenever we return to Lincoln.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa S
cambridge
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“You will not need to leave the cottage”
Reviewed 11 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

The manor farm stables are perfect if there is such a place. Sherry and irvine have thought of everything. We stayed in the Bothy which was cosy, warmed by underfloor heating and has a woodburner that was really just a treat rather than a necessity. The quality of this restoration is continued throughout and the extra treats such as all the wonderful local produce including delicious sausages that await you in the fridge really add to the luxury feeling. Fresh vegetables that were dug up by Sherry that morning and the most delicious rum truffles in tha hamper! The wooden tub is a very unique experience and the bed was very comfy as well. On leaving Irvine was kind enough to show us the Hayloft above which we will definately be trying out next time! I think I have gushed enough. The local area has a lot to offer as far as restaurants, lincoln castle and cathedral and plenty of river and castle walks, Tattershall is worth a visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamFresh
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pampered by the accomodation, if not by the weather!”
Reviewed 20 August 2012 for a stay in June 2012

This was an extended family holiday where one party stayed in the upper part of the stables, we, a family of four with two little children stayed on the ground floor; it was all interconnected so ideal for all of us. The accomodation was absolutely gorgeous. The owners put a lot of thought and investment into making the buildings as Eco-friendly as possible. But don't think that means smelly toilets and cold showers, instead think of a massive bathtub big enough for two, tonnes of fluffy towels, basically a warm, cosy yet luxurious place to come back to after a walk in the rain. Not only that, Sherry left us a basket full of absolutely delicious goodies including the best Lincolnshire sausages I've ever tasted, cheese, bread, best of all, fresh organic veggies, which I used to make a casserole one night, using the herbs from the garden. If you enjoy cooking, the ground floor kitchen is perfect, a massive range cooker, and all the equipment you could possibly need. Did I mention the rain? This was the start of our Great British Summer of Rain, where it basically poured down for 40 days and nights. Never mind, at least we had a great place to stay. Also the owners went out of their way to help us when the drier packed up - I can't recommend this accomodation highly enough.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Service was great yet discreet
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elliott62...
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We have found the perfect hideaway from busy London... D & E, May 2012”
Reviewed 8 May 2012 for a stay in May 2012

Thank you for such a lovely, relaxing stay! We have found the perfect hideaway from busy London and we will definitely be returning!! Love the Bothy 10/10!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directthe...
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
““A place to relax and unwind””
Reviewed 29 April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We were looking for somewhere to escape form the hustle and bustle of modern day life and while searching on the internet found The Manor House Stables. On checking out the website the accommodation and location seemed ideal for a getaway break and the feedback from Tripadvisor was a bonus.

On arrival we met with Sherry who is an extremely friendly and charismatic character. Sherry gave us a brief guided tour of the Bothy accommodation and then left us to explore. Previous guests had made comments on TripAdvisor about Sherry’s food hamper and when we were exploring we found that in every nook and cranny there were additional goodies.

We both found the facilities were to a very high standard and didn’t need to bring anything additional with us. Everything you would need was to hand and made it a break to remember.

The deep wooden bath tub and wet room was a fantastic feature and was an ideal way of relaxing after a day exploring in Lincoln.

It was our first visit to Lincolnshire and we found the surrounding area were beautiful as was Martin. We found plenty to do and would recommend a trip into Lincoln to explore.

I would highly recommend the manor house stables to anyone and am sure we will be back soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful cottage, truly relaxing long weekend”
Reviewed 2 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012

We have just returned from the most lovely long weekend in the Bothy. Sherry and Irven could not have made us feel more welcome, and the cottage was absolutely gorgeous. We took advantage of the option of having dinner provided on our first night which was a lovely relaxing start to our weekend; we had a delicious homecooked meal brought right into the cottage and just relaxed into our stay. There are a number of lovely touches in the cottage, from the generous hamper of local produce to the products in the bathroom, and the soak bath (that you need to go up stairs to get into!) and the well equipped kitchen. The garden is a great spot from which to observe birds and just relax. We hope to return soon and would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone. Next time I would love to take part in one of the classes - what a great idea!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bathroom
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amyp1980
birmingham
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Everything we anticipated it would be...and more!!”
Reviewed 16 February 2010 for a stay in February 2010
1
person found this review helpful

The MHS were recommended to us by friends who had been previously so we arrived at the Bothy with high expectations and we truely were not dissapointed!!
The barns are beautiful and so so cosy and warm, the welcome hamper great (full of local produce) and the attention to detail fantastic. I really do think it was the fact that Sherry has thought of EVERYTHING that made such a difference.
On the sat night we had a dip in the hot tub which really made the weekend, it was so warm, so relaxing and just very special - a nice way to see in valentines day!
I think it is fair to say that we left the MHS with an appreciation that green/eco living can be luxurious and very comfortable - no sacrifices have to be made at all. It has made a bit of a lasting impression...
I have already recommended this place to lots of friends and intend to return soon - maybe in the summer so that we can use the BBQ and garden!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing