We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, nothing else!!!”
Review of The Golf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Golf Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Woodhall Spa
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good location, nothing else!!!”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I wasn't too much impressed with the quality of the room, especially when my wife found hair on the chair and in the bathroom, plus...the tray with coffee and tea was filthy with dust!!
The service was not so great, so...we really dont't have reasons to stay again here!

Excited about our escape, but dissapointed with our accomodation!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    98
    52
    31
    35
See reviews for
43
133
12
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

This is a review of the property in mid refresh so take some of it with a pinch of salt. The new reception and bedroom (not bathroom) looks attractive but the old parts of the hotel are REALLY old.

Location is great if you need to be in this area. Close to RAF Coningsby for the BBMF or East Kirkby for the Just Jane Lancaster. It is in a beautiful village with nice cafes etc. Reception was well organised and polite. Parking is good.

I was aware the room was partly renovated so will skip comments at this point. Observations to check for if you book following the re-fit ? No air con in the room. No fridge in the room to cool drinks. No Fan. Front window was not really secure onto a landing and no safe. I would trust these will be addressed as part of the re-fit.

Food was uniformly very good at dinner and breakfast. Prices for dinner were modest and the portion fresh and a decent size. Wine and beer were also well priced for a hotel. Staff were polite and efficient. There is a nice garden off the bar if you want to sit outside. It has a very nice air about it.

Issues. RAF Coningsby is an operational base for Eurofighter as well as the Lancaster and Spitfire/Hurricane of the BBMF. They are not quiet aircraft so assume some noise, less than a hotel near to LHR or Luton etc mind you. EasyJet have more aircraft than the RAF these days so there are not that many flights ! WiFi is only in the bar area and does not currently cover the rooms however it is mid-refit so I trust this will be addressed.

Reasonable prices and decent value. Would be happy to stay again.

Room Tip: Do ask about Air/Con, WiFi and if you room is fully refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neveratrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horncastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

This is our second visit to the Golf Hotel restaurant with family and friends for Sunday lunch. We waited a little while for our first course but it was well worth waiting for. We sampled between us the roast beef, chicken and salmon. It was all very well cooked and nicely presented with ample portions. There was a choice of deserts which also were of a good quality and taste. Over all we found it good value for money amid spacious surroundings.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melodiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We have now had 2 Sunday lunch experiences of the Golf Hotel and are so happy with the overall package that we are returning again tomorrow with another bunch of friends. On our first trip[ over to Woodhall we hadn't been to the Golf for lunch for a good few years and had been told that it had recently changed hands. Sadly we were the only ones there the first time, which surprised us as it was very good on service and food. We returned for a second time on Sunday and again the food and service was excellent and there were other people also dining. Value for money is good and we would certainly recommend a trip out to eat there.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacquie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

My wife and i were booked in for an overnight stay in early April, having visisted the Lancaster Bomber ''Just Jane''. Upon approach to the property it became apparent by the flaking paintwork on the exterior of the building, the filthy looking curtains and the overgrown lawn area, that this hotel was in dire need of renervation. We gave it the benefit of the doubt and checked into the hotel for out stay. The reception and the bar area had been modernised to some extent, but on passing through here to our room we were surprised at just how run down the hotel accomodation was. The room was fairly large although poorly decorated and the bathroom was filthy. We immediately complained to reception and asked for our money back.Subsequently checking out and driving some 3 hours home again. It is now some 5 weeks since we visited the hotel and still they have not replied to my telephone calls or emails with regards to a refund, whilst the agency that we made the reservation through claim it is the hotels problem. Frankly, this ruined what would have been an otherwise fabulous weekend away organised by my wife as a gift. My advice is stear clear and go to Premier Inn or Travelodge, at least you know what you are getting and will be treated correctly.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Woodhall Spa hotels

Wakefield
Level Contributor
117 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We stayed for the one night and paid £90 for bed and breakfast but went out for dinner so cannot comment on that part.
We understand that the hotel is being refurbished and it really does need bringing into the 21st century. On arrival we immediately noticed the overgrown lawns that surround the hotel and the peeling paint from the half timbered effect frontage - first impressions count! The receptionist, who we believe is one of the 4 names above the entrance door, was very pleasant and welcoming. As said by others the reception area has just been modernised so you have an 1888 (date on front) exterior with a 21st century interior.
We were aware there was building work so cannot complain about the corridor to the room which is being repaired. Our room on the ground floor was large by any standards and nicely furnished except for the electric heater which had coat hooks for feet! The bathroom was large with bath and shower over. Just a pity the manufacturer's sticker has not been removed from the shower! Or that housekeeping forgot to clean inside the bathroom cabinet. A towel rail instead of a wall heater would have been much better as there is nowhere to hang wet or used towels.
We went out for our dinner and later returned for a drink in the bar which had a mahoosive television. We noticed the poor wiring and fittings which is a shame. Just a little more attention to detail would make all the difference. We rated sleep quality at three due to the idiot in the room above who decided to do a half marathon at 1.30 in the morning, so for around 20 minutes listened to very heavy footsteps pounding around the room.
Breakfast was very good but do not expect croissants, cold meats or fresh fruit. Orange juice, cereals and cooked breakfasts (buffet) are the order of the day.
It is hard to sum up really. The staff without exception were excellent, pleasant and friendly. If it is the owners' intentions to refurbish the hotel we wish them well. It would be a real shame if such a grand old lady was left to rot. On the other hand though, we would prefer not to see too much modernism in the choice of fittings and furniture e.g. the (modern) stripey carpets in reception do not sit well with the (original) vaulted and corniced ceiling in the dining room in our opinion. Others may disagree.
And, as we said at the outset, first impressions count so please, cut the grass and paint the front of the building, as a matter of urgency. We would like to return in a year or so to see if it becomes a success.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WakefieldYorkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

I'm not sure what the owners are trying to do to the Golf to be honest. The outside is crying out to be restored. It's paintwork is badly chipped and the gardens need some serious tender loving care.

When you walk inside it's like you're walking into a bad Premier Inn. You want something with character to match the age of the property but instead are met with badly fitted stripey carpets, walls of curved dark wood and flat screen tvs.

The bedroom itself was ok actually. The bed was big and comfortable but why oh why do you need a 32" flat screen tv in there? Far too big and the money could have been much better spent elsewhere, like in the bathroom for instance. The bathroom was dirty and needs some serious work doing to it to modernise it. The outlook of the room (ground floor) wasn't great either.

I cannot complain about breakfast at all. This and the fact that the bed was comfortable is why my rating is average and not poor. The lady who served tea and coffee was very pleasant and the cooked breakfast and range of food on offer was really good. The breakfast room itself had a nice feel to it and I think that was because it hadn't been attacked by the modernisers yet.

I don't live very far away and am a huge fan of Woodhall Spa. In it's heyday, The Golf was one of the premier wedding venues and hotels in the area. We were invited to a wedding at the Petwood but unfortunately could not get a room there. It will never be The Petwood but if restored properly and back to what it was it could be a lovely venue again.

Room Tip: Go to the Petwood instead!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachaelhbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodhall Spa
0.5 mi away
Petwood Hotel
Petwood Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
899 reviews
0.2 mi away
The INN at Woodhall Spa
The INN at Woodhall Spa
#3 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
379 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The Admiral Rodney Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House
4.0 mi away
The Leagate Inn
The Leagate Inn
#1 of 1 in Coningsby
156 reviews
11.7 mi away
Branston Hall Hotel
Branston Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golf Hotel

Property: The Golf Hotel
Address: The Broadway, Woodhall Spa LN10 6SG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Woodhall Spa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Woodhall Spa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Golf Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
52 Bedroom Hotel, Built in 1880 and set in seven acres of gardens, lawns and woodlands, the hotel is ideally situated for the Woodhall Spa Golf Club, village and surrounding tourist sights. The Golf Hotel is currently under new management and under going a full refurbishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your The Golf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Golf Hotel And Aqua Sante Spa
The Golf Hotel & Aqua Sante Woodhall Spa
Hotel Aqua Sante
The Golf Hotel Woodhall Spa, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing