We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but shame about the 'wake up call'!”
Review of The Golf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Golf Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Woodhall Spa
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed here for one night as we were attending a wedding nearby. The hotel was in a good location, plenty of parking, friendly reception staff and a clean, modern room with a fabulous, spacious bathroom. The only thing that let the room down was the view but I appreciate that not all rooms can have decent views. Anyway this was a rare night away for us, leaving behind our three young children, so of course we were looking forward to a long lie in after the evening's festivities and had already negotiated a late check out. At 7am we were woken by an awful high pitched noise and we couldn't work out where it was coming from. It was loud enough to wake both of us up and got worse as we lay in bed trying to ignore it. I called reception who told me they'd just put the heating on at 7 so it could be related to that and they offered to turn it off again. The noise lowered slightly but then started again full force a few minutes later. My husband eventually tried turning off the radiator and immediately it stopped. Fantastic! But this was forty minutes later and we were both wide awake and feeling very irritated by then!! We explained this to reception on check out and were told they thought there was probably air in the pipes but we were given no apology whatsoever! As parents of young children you really do value the odd night away and we had been looking forward to that lie in for months! Very disappointing!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Apostolino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (322)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 322 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014

Came across the hotel on a trip back to Sheffield from Skegness and decided to do an overnight. My travelling companion and I enjoyed this hotel immensely from start to finish. Adam on reception and bar duties couldn't have been more welcoming, friendly and helpful. A real asset to the business.Our room was very nice and well appointed. The bar prices are very reasonable and so we enjoyed a few drinks outside in the sun. The breakfast was very acceptable too. I would love to stay at this hotel again as it is in a lovely little village.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kevin2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed with a golfing party of 7 at the hotel recently. The staff were very good and the service friendly and polite. The hotel has had some refurbishment recently but unfortunately this stops at the room and doesn't go into the bathrooms. Entering the bathroom was like a scene from Ashes to Ashes in that it was like going back to the 70's. Tired and tatty bathroom with no water pressure in the shower. The outside of the hotel also requires some major refurbishment as the paint is peeling off most of the exterior. The grounds also need a lot of work to make this a welcoming venue. Overall food and service good, rooms sadly not.

Room Tip: choose a room on the lower floors to get some water pressure in the shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ag10051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Very much a mixed bag of experiences at this hotel. Arrived a day before the others and had time to wander a bit by myself. Very well updated in the areas one notices, and looked brilliant. Small room for a single was fine, but look into the bathroom and the tiling was poor, toilet and bath stained and in need of the next on the list for re-furbishment. The outside is as stated by others and again in need of much work.
The star performers were the staff- of many nationalities, and all good communicators and very obliging when asked for anything out of the ordinary.
The dinners we had were excellently prepared and all very well presented. Yes ,some delay between courses, but we were not too worried as we had little else to do apart from chat!
Breakfast was a little disappointing- very sparse in choice, no rolls ,croissants or pastries, just toast your own brown or white sliced bread! No cold meats, cheeses or other savouries. A visit to a continental hotel with their fantastic breakfast choices would be a revelation for the Patels.
Wine prices pretty reasonable at the bar as were all the drinks.
Just remember it is a three star hotel.
.
Where was the marmite!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DevonDOGGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We were part of a party of 60 motorcycling Rotarians based at the Golf Hotel for the weekend. Very friendly staff, good food, real ale. Internal refurbishment is well under way, external work would improve first impressions, but do not judge the hotel by the outside.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael_Studham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed here for the first time although have been to Woodhall before. We picked this hotel because we got a good deal on the room and it nestles to one end of the high street so good for browsing lot's of little boutique shops and coffee houses. We coffee'd in Kitchenetta which is cute and friendly and the coffee was as good as Costa.

The hotel looks like many of that era but this one has been transformed inside. Our room (120) was a good size, great and comfortable bed, large flat panel TV on the wall, tea and coffee making, hairdryer, dressing table, bedside tables, through to dressing room and wardrobe and then into bathroom. Fully tiled with power shower over bath (my ONLY criticism of the whole experience was that the temperature of the shower varied as though there was a faulty valve somewhere) and lots of shower gel available. Heated towel rail and ample towels etc..

We had two friend join us for dinner who were delighted with the dinner menu and it was all excellent. The service was fast and efficient and the portions more than adequate and well priced. Check out the menu on their web site and costs. Drinks in the bar after and we were given the Sky remote to a 110" flat panel TV in the bar, biggest I have ever seen and we watched an old B&W movie before going to bed. Again, everyone was very friendly. Breakfast, excellent. Help yourself to juices, cereals and fruit and then a full English (fried egg, two rashers smoked back bacon, one sausage, hash brown, beans, mushrooms and a whole tomato) and toast. Jug of coffee and more than enough to burst some shirt buttons. All very fast, well cooked and well presented. So, if I was to give the hotel a 9 out of 10 just because of the shower that would be mean. However, the only thing missing that mattered to me was any form of Wifi, so 9/10 it is.

Room Tip: If a view is important then ask, ours didn't have a view worth mentioning but that isn't wha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donald2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed here recently as a hen group party. We spent the day in the spa, had evening dinner at the hotel and then stayed over the night, even enjoying some late night entertainment in one of the hotel rooms (not a stripper...)
We really enjoyed our stay. The Spa staff were really good hosts to us, going out of their way to give us extra offers, and keep us comfortable and happy. The treatments were really good. Was a bit worried by the previous reviews about lack of sauna or pool etc, but we found that with their tranquility room and their conservatory area, we were quite happy to socialise within our group and didnt feel bereft by lack of sauna/pool etc.The prices were reasonable, and staff approachable. Really enjoyed it.
Dinner at hotel was really tasty. Only issue with the food was the slightly slow service, which was mildly annoying as the staff were made aware that we had plans booked. But, even though they're currently refurbishing some parts of the hotel, it wasnt noticable. The building looks very old fashioned and almost a bit run down from the carpark, but inside is very modern. Not much fault for the rooms. The rooms were very hot, but hotel staff brought a fan up to the room, and were very friendly and happy to help and supply ice buckets etc for our wine.
Only downside possibly was the shower in our room, water didnt stay warm. was either very hot or very cold. Also, even though wed requested rooms near each other and warned them of us most likely being noisy til late in the night, we were placed in rooms not next to each, with other couples in between out rooms.
Besides these few tiny problems, the overall weekend was highly enjoyable and definitely worth the money! Would recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank laura o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodhall Spa
0.5 mi away
Petwood Hotel
Petwood Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
1,011 reviews
0.2 mi away
The INN at Woodhall Spa
The INN at Woodhall Spa
#3 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
416 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The Admiral Rodney Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House
3.9 mi away
The Leagate Inn
The Leagate Inn
#1 of 1 in Coningsby
166 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stone House Lodge
Stone House Lodge
#2 of 10 in Woodhall Spa
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golf Hotel

Address: The Broadway, Woodhall Spa LN10 6SG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Woodhall Spa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Woodhall Spa
Price Range: £83 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Golf Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
52 Bedroom Hotel, Built in 1880 and set in seven acres of gardens, lawns and woodlands, the hotel is ideally situated for the Woodhall Spa Golf Club, village and surrounding tourist sights. The Golf Hotel is currently under new management and under going a full refurbishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Golf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Golf Hotel And Aqua Sante Spa
The Golf Hotel & Aqua Sante Woodhall Spa
Hotel Aqua Sante
The Golf Hotel Woodhall Spa, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing