We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Lovely, Relaxing Stay.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Golf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Golf Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Woodhall Spa
Norfolk
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Lovely, Relaxing Stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2009

We have stayed here a number of times before, and we always enjoy our visits. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff and the rooms are reasonably priced and well appointed.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raymillard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    98
    49
    30
    35
See reviews for
36
131
11
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dorset UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2009

The room was excellent with a large TV on the wall. My first night I was the only guest, and the service was very good, sitting in the bar with the most enormous TV all to myself was the way to relax after a long journey.
Throughout the food was of a high quality and always hot. All of the staff I met were very welcoming and happy to help at all times.
I would happily stay there again and find some of the other reviews confusing.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerDorsetUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2009

The refurbishment of the hotel lobby is completely out of character with the hotel, has isolted the reception staff and makes the hotel most unwelcoming. It also shows up the drab abd tatty appearance of the rest of the public rooms.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank topcat8562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2009

The customer service at this hotel is non-existent. Since speaking to other people in the area since our we stayed there, we’ve heard similar tales of the attitude problem that other guests have experienced from the staff.
I booked a room at this hotel for our wedding night, after holding our reception in a local village. I enquired when I was booking whether we could leave the car there and maybe pick up a keycard early if we needed to. I was told that wouldn't be a problem and was very impressed with the service. This is where our good experience ended.
On the morning of the wedding, my husband went to the hotel and told reception that he had a reservation under our name, but was asked whether he could wait 10 minutes. He explained that unfortunately he was tight for time because he was getting married that day, but that he just wanted to leave the car and pick up the keycard. After being spoken to rudely by the receptionist (who seemed far too busy to speak to a customer), she dealt with his request.
We arrived back at the hotel at 1.30am and went straight up our room (the night porter offered no help, even though I was struggling up the stairs in my dress with bags). The key didn't work, so the night porter who gave us a new one. When my husband opened the door, he was shocked to see another newly married couple already in the room. Embarrassed and confused, we went back down to reception.
The night porter could not help explain the problem, so called the manager. He arrived with the receptionist that had previously dealt with my husband at 2am. We explained what had happened, but rather than sort it out, the receptionist started to deny all knowledge of a mistake and instead accused my husband of claiming that he was the groom that should have been in the honeymoon suite (it became obvious to us that rather than check-in my husband in using the surname under which he'd given her, she had jumped to conclusions, and given him the key to the honeymoon suite after he’d said the word ‘wedding’ that morning). The arrogance and rudeness that followed was shocking, they still denied they were at fault, but eventually they checked on their system and gave us the room key that we were meant to have had. Still no apologies for their mistake though.
The next morning, (after hearing the other bride tell her guests over breakfast about their late night visit - more embarrassment!), we went to check out. We were asked to pay the remaining 50% of our bill. We objected, explained to the new receptionist what had happened, and said that we were unhappy with the way we had been treated.
The manager was again called and after half an hour of discussion with my husband, he admitted that they had realised there had been a mix up at around 10.30pm the night before, but no one had bothered to rectify the situation or leave a message directing us to a different room. Despite this, we still received no apology for the mistake or that attitude to which we had been treated at 2am that morning, and after much discussion, he would only offer us 10% off the bill. We had to leave to get a train to our honeymoon so couldn't take the matter further, but we have been left feeling that the experience took the shine off what was otherwise an amazing wedding day.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NaWOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Woodhall Spa hotels

london
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2009

Fantastic value, newly renovated hotel has a fantistic bar/ lobby area that really manages to rival other higher star hotels in city areas. Similar expereince for the rooms. Somewhat surprised after reading some of the other reviews, but obviously the renovation for the most part has been finished. Definately will return.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fanof5star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2009

We have just returned from the New Year's Eve Function held at the Golf Hotel. The Gala Dinner, fireworks and 60's Band were excellent and good value for money....BUT... the service was very, very poor and the attitude of the majority of the staff left a lot to be desired, although the proprietors were friendly and helpful. Breakfast this morning was served by the same staff as were on duty last night and although they may have been tired the food and service would have to be judged as a kind 2/10! The staff continually apologised saying they were short of staff, the food is on its way etc etc but really that is not good enough. The room was better than expected and when all the refurbishment is completed hopefully it will bring some splendour back to a what must have been an excellent hotel in the past!

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank 10-co
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2008

Just checked out,

Sitting in the bar...free wi-fi, waiting for a taxi to pick me up for the station,

Just spent a night at the golf hotel, amazing bedroom, my camera phone doesn't do the room justice, it was fab - a whopping 50in plasma!
and a gigantic round bed !..and a remote control for the lighting - amazing i played with it lots ! White Clean Bathroom - powerful Shower

breakfast was cooked to order and just what i need to start my day...

there are quite a few varied reviews here, and they're right and wrong i guess, i think the hotel in under refurbishment, as the corridors are quite 1980's and by bedroom was totally the opposite!. i payed £200.00 bed & breakfast the rack rate i was told was £250, discounted if more than 1 night. - i got a bargain then !

i haddn't eaten in the eveing as was meeting the rest of my team in lincoln - which was 25 minute drive - taxi cost £21, Did not visit the spa either.

i'd definatley come back if i was in the area, hopefully they have refurbished the ground floor by then!

over and out

Babock

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank babock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodhall Spa
0.5 mi away
Petwood Hotel
Petwood Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
0.2 mi away
The INN at Woodhall Spa
The INN at Woodhall Spa
#3 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Branston Hall Hotel
Branston Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
22.4 mi away
Belton Woods Hotel
Belton Woods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Belton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,554 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Leagate Inn
The Leagate Inn
#1 of 1 in Coningsby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golf Hotel

Property: The Golf Hotel
Address: The Broadway, Woodhall Spa LN10 6SG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Woodhall Spa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Woodhall Spa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Golf Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
52 Bedroom Hotel, Built in 1880 and set in seven acres of gardens, lawns and woodlands, the hotel is ideally situated for the Woodhall Spa Golf Club, village and surrounding tourist sights. The Golf Hotel is currently under new management and under going a full refurbishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Golf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Golf Hotel And Aqua Sante Spa
The Golf Hotel & Aqua Sante Woodhall Spa
Hotel Aqua Sante
The Golf Hotel Woodhall Spa, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing