We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really good experience.”
Review of Petwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Petwood Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Woodhall Spa
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A really good experience.”
Reviewed 28 October 2007

27th October 2007

Wife and I checked in very early, Reception was most helpful, instant attention, and we were immediately allocated a room.
A very good first impression.
Standard Rooms are not large, but are immaculate.
Bath towels are huge, and most luxurious. Ample hanging space and clothes hangars.
Shower in bath was very easy to adjust and very powerful. The worst fault we could find was that the clothes hooks on the bathhroom door were too high for a short reach comfortably.
Evening meal was excellent, as was breakfast the following morning.
Plenty of choice at breakfast, with the most delicious smoked bacon and real Lincolnshire sausages.
WiFi only available in a relatively small area by reception.
It would be nice if it was in the rooms, it is so much more convenient, particularly as there was an excellent desk with power points adjacent, and 2 chairs in our room.
All in all first class and well worth the money.
Traveller 133

  • Liked — The general ambience
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank traveller133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    557
    212
    90
    44
    16
See reviews for
154
423
27
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2007

Just returned from a stay with a group at the superb Petwood Hotel - very good food, friendly staff, real log fires and the most superb grounds - and only a SHORT walk into Woodhall Spa. (previous reviewer is obviously too used to four wheels!) We were in a group of twenty four persons and all had nothing but praise for the hotel - and the food. The weather was glorious which showed off the grounds at their spectacular best - an early morning walk was a great appettite enhancer for the varied cooked buffet breakfast. All are looking forward to a return at a future date.

  • Liked — food - fluffy clean towels every day -log fire in large lounge - grounds
  • Disliked — Having to leave!
  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HonestlyWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2007

We stayed here for one night following a wedding. The hotel is full of character & the grounds are outstanding. The ceremony & reception were both at the hotel & it all went perfectly. The food was of a high standard, including the self-service breakfast. This hotel does allow dogs in some of its rooms & we had been assured we could have a pet-free room, although I'm not convinced that it was. Overall, a lovely setting for a special break.

  • Liked — The character & grounds
  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ethelmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2007

I stayed here for my cousin's wedding on 4th May 2007.

The check in was ok,, the service in the bar was quite slow though.

I had a single room which was very clean. Isaw some other rooms and suites and they were huge! The snug bar with the dambuster's memoribilia was very charming.

There was plenty of lovely areas outside for photos but it was a little crowded inside when all the wedding guests were in the normal bar. I imagine people there to have a normal family drink or meal were quite annyoed by us all!

The food outside of the wedding meal was good, but the meal for the actual wedding was bland and uninspired. Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice.

The only thing that annoyed me was the charge for the internal phone. Room to room cost 25p a 'unit', I dread to think what a normal phone call would have cost. There is no mobile signal at all in the hotel so I think they must profit from this.

Overall a good location for a wedding and a hotel with character and history.

  • Liked — the history
  • Disliked — food, phone charges, was pretty expensive even on event reduction price
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heyjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2007

My husband and I chose this hotel for our wedding ceremony and reception in May 2006. 90% of our guests stayed over as well as us and everybody had a fantastic time. The service including assisting with wedding arrangements, food, rooms and staff were second to none. The hotel itself and grounds are perfect and all this combined made our day.

Would not hesitate to recommend a stay to anyone - excellent!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoneymoonersLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 27 November 2006

I have just come home from a weekend stay at this hotel. I went as part of a group for a Christmas party, and have to say that this is one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed in. The hotel is gorgeous, and set in stunning landscaped grounds, with a fascinating history that includes some of the story of the world famous 'dam busters'. The general rooms of the hotel are wonderful, with an open fire in the drawing room, and the hand carved oak staircase is to die for. It was also wonderful that there is a lift for those less able than others. The food was of a very high standard, and very reasonably priced, the staff helpful and friendly, and above excellent in their ability to cope with every need. The room I stayed in was amazing to say the least, with gorgeous decoration, and ultra clean and tidy. I had a fabulous time at this hotel, and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to others!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — n/a
  • Stayed November 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank belladiablo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 10 June 2006

We were very disappointed with our tiny room. It was very dusty and the hairdryer etc did not work. For the price we were expecting much better! The TV was at ground level and could not be seen from the bed which was smaller than the advertised 'double'.

Breakfast was cold and self-service. The fruit juice glasses were minute so we asked for a larger glass and were given a dirty one complete with lipstick marks!
It is difficult to work out the mealtime schedule and often when we were hungry they were not serving!

On the positive side the grounds are beautiful and the hotel is lovely from the outside. The food is good if you go at the correct times and avoid breakfast! The historical rooms are fascinating!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodhall Spa
0.5 mi away
The INN at Woodhall Spa
The INN at Woodhall Spa
#3 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
384 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
393 reviews
11.2 mi away
Branston Hall Hotel
Branston Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The Admiral Rodney Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House
11.6 mi away
Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel
22.6 mi away
Belton Woods Hotel
Belton Woods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Belton
1,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petwood Hotel

Property: Petwood Hotel
Address: Stixwould Road, Woodhall Spa LN10 6QG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Woodhall Spa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Woodhall Spa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Petwood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1905 and once home to the 617 'Dambusters' Squadron, the Hotel is situated in Lincolnshire and surrounded by 30 acres of beautiful gardens. This former country house offers free wi-fi, free car parking, log fires in the drawing room, a beauty and wellbeing studio, restaurant, terrace bar, RAF memorabilia, conference and banqueting facilities, wedding facilities with a licence for civil ceremonies, billiards room and outdoor entertaining area. A tranquil setting for both business and leisure guests.Rooms at the Petwood Hotel feature bathrooms with baths, showers and hairdryers. They also include TVs, radios, tea/coffee making facilities and some rooms have garden views. The Restaurant serves fine cuisine influenced by locally sourced produce. The hotel famous for it's RAF connection was used in World War II by the 617 Squadron, visit our Squadron Bar to view memorabilia and tributes to the Officers.Home of England Golf, the Woodhall Spa Golf Club is a 5 minute drive from the Petwood Hotel. Alternatively enjoy a stroll through our historic town, enjoy afternoon tea and lunch on the hotels terrace or pamper yourself with various beauty and massage treatments.The hotel is only a 2-minute stroll from Jubillee Park, which offers swimming and tennis or a 5-minute drive to Bainland Country Park offering bike hire, horse riding, microlight flying, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Petwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petwood Hall Lincoln
Petwood Hall Hotel Lincoln
Petwood Hotel Woodhall Spa, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing