We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully Atmospheric”
Review of Petwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Petwood Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Woodhall Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Stayed just the one night as I was visiting the Battle of Britain Memorial Flight at RAF Coningsby the next day. I was interested to see and read the 617 Squadron memorabilia and I wasn't disappointed. The hotel has an 'olde-worlde' feel to it in some areas but that was in keeping with my expectation given its recent history. The room I was in had a more modern feel and was very comfortable. Dinner was very good and a hearty breakfast followed the following day. I'll be going back for a longer stay and to visit other WWII sites in the area. Recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vintageATCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,021)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

938 - 944 of 1,021 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2012

From start to finish the hotel was fantastic, nothing seemed to much bother for them and service was always with a smile, I got to see a few of the other rooms around the hotel Beech suite is fantastic all the rooms on the first floor overlooking the gardens seemed great with their own balcony type area, unfortunately mine over looked the bins at the back, but hey I spent most of my time with my eyes shut sleeping and everything in the room was fine with nice fresh bedding etc.

The wedding day itself was fantastic, I was the best man and to me it seemed as if the hotel will do as much or as little as you would like them to! From putting up decorations and laying place cards ect.. really takes the stress off the day. The Food was also great, Lamb shank recommended. The service was great it seemed like they replaced the table water not because it was empty but the ice had melted, real service!

The Barman on the evening was also great, he was supposed to lock up by 2 but we kept him there till at least 2:45! And he was still in work for 11 the next day!
Thank you Petwood!

Room Tip: Check in is not till 3 i think, But if you phone in advance or ask at the desk, if your room is read...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doug_bea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

We booked a two night stay via a Groupon offer with the main aim to celebrate my girlfriends birthday. We got excellent discount on the first night which included a meal and breakfast, we also got champagne and chocolates in the room upon arrival.

As a surprise I had asked the hotel if they could get me a birthday cake and have it delivered to the table after we finished our meal. The majority of this was dealt with by email and the staff were very helpful and even accomodated a last minute change to the cake layout.

Upon arriving the hotel was stunning, the staff were lovely and the surprise cake was not mentioend to my partner. We had lovely big room over looking the front gardens. The champagne and chocolates were a welcome gift which we enjoyed before the meal.

The food was exceptional as was the service. After the meal we were offered coffee and after that was brought to the table the cake was delivered. I had not spoken to any of the staff upon arriving and was delighted how smoothly it all went. My partner was stunned at the surprise and the cake itself was wonderful.

The hotel kindly kept the cake in the fridge until we left and not only did it look good but it tasted superb.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Petwood and are looking to go back later in the year.

A huge thanks to all the staff for keeping the cake a suprise and how wonderfully they presented it all.

I would recommend this hotel to anybody looking to visit the area. As an ex member of the Royal Air Force it was also lovely to be in place that had such great tradition with regards to The Dam Buster Squadron.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 204 which was at the front but overlooking the gardens. It was a wonderful room an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ritchiemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We stayed for 3 nights as the hotel was offering a 'three for two' on a bed, breakfast and evening meal basis. As it was a romantic break, we paid a little extra for a room with a four poster bed. The whole stay can only be described as stunning!!! The room was very large with a seperate living area, massive bathroom with a roll top bath, and of course a large comfortable four poster bed. The room had two large bay windows giving a brilliant view of the grounds, was well decorated and very clean.
The hotel was designed as a stately home with wood panels and a fantastic wooden staircase. It was the officers mess for The 'Dambuster' squadron during the Second World War and retains much of the original character and is covered in history. The grounds are large and offer a very relaxing walk around the fountains, accross the lawns and through the woods. There are numerous rooms were you can sit in front of a large log fire and have a quiet drink. There is free use of the snooker table, and my wife playing for the first time, only just beat me.
All the meals were excellent and offering a varied choice and I can recommend the scallops, followed by fillet steak. The staf could not do enough for us and made us feel very special.
This is a hidden gem and a fantastic hotel. It is perfect place if you want something just a little bit different and want to be pampered. But do not shout too loud about this hotel as we want to keep it as our place to go when we want to be spoilt.

Room Tip: Go for the executive upgrade. It is well worth the extra money just for the stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TDHNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Stayed for one night on a Groupon deal upgraded to Exec room overlooking gardens. Having read some reviews which are not brilliant we went with open mind and left with no complaints and have booked to go again for two nights. The room was lovely, bed really comfy nice pillows, ensuite large and clean, dinner and breakfast excellent. Some stains on public area carpets which lead to the gardens but it's winter ! ! It was my birthday and our wedding anniversary and we had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SweetAnne58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

i stayed here in the summer of 2011 stunning hotel, lovely food and really polite staff. grounds of hotel were amazing and kept to a high standard. short walk to the quaint village of woodhall spa. definitely stay again

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynne186356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

My husband and I attended a New Years Eve gala dinner at the Petwood with friends. We stayed for 1 night. Previous reviewers have stated the hotel is shabby in some parts which is true. It is a beautiful old building though with so much history and charm. Our room was adequate and comfortable but the bathroom was small. The carpet was badly stained and needed replacing. We had been given a dog friendly room and the hotel had provided a blanket for her. A thoughtful touch. The location of the hotel is wonderful with spacious grounds which our dog loved. I cannot praise the staff enough. They were professional and willing to help even though they had been working very long hours. The dinner dance was quite expensive but it was New Year. The meal was delicious and enjoyed by all of our party. We would all definitely stay again and have been looking at future events. Woodall spa is a quaint little place which is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DizzyD61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodhall Spa
0.5 mi away
The INN at Woodhall Spa
The INN at Woodhall Spa
#3 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
419 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
427 reviews
11.6 mi away
Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The Admiral Rodney Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House
0.5 mi away
The Golf Hotel
The Golf Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
324 reviews
18.1 mi away
Brackenborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petwood Hotel

Address: Stixwould Road, Woodhall Spa LN10 6QG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Woodhall Spa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Woodhall Spa
Price Range: £64 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Petwood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1905 and once home to the 617 'Dambusters' Squadron, the Hotel is situated in Lincolnshire and surrounded by 30 acres of beautiful gardens. This former country house offers free wi-fi, free car parking, log fires in the drawing room, a beauty and wellbeing studio, restaurant, terrace bar, RAF memorabilia, conference and banqueting facilities, wedding facilities with a licence for civil ceremonies, billiards room and outdoor entertaining area. A tranquil setting for both business and leisure guests.Rooms at the Petwood Hotel feature bathrooms with baths, showers and hairdryers. They also include TVs, radios, tea/coffee making facilities and some rooms have garden views. The Restaurant serves fine cuisine influenced by locally sourced produce. The hotel famous for it's RAF connection was used in World War II by the 617 Squadron, visit our Squadron Bar to view memorabilia and tributes to the Officers.Home of England Golf, the Woodhall Spa Golf Club is a 5 minute drive from the Petwood Hotel. Alternatively enjoy a stroll through our historic town, enjoy afternoon tea and lunch on the hotels terrace or pamper yourself with various beauty and massage treatments.The hotel is only a 2-minute stroll from Jubillee Park, which offers swimming and tennis or a 5-minute drive to Bainland Country Park offering bike hire, horse riding, microlight flying, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Petwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petwood Hall Lincoln
Petwood Hall Hotel Lincoln
Petwood Hotel Woodhall Spa, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing