We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good base for WW2 sites” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Petwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Petwood Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Woodhall Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, UK
Level Contributor
88 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Good base for WW2 sites”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Stayed here in April 2014 for three nights as a base for a trip to Lincolnshire Aviation Heritage Centre for a ride on a Lancaster and the Battle of Britain Memorial Flight.

Petwood Hotel was ideal with plenty of WW2 RAF pictures and memorabilia around. We even chatted to a local historian in the Squadron Bar. There are lovely grounds to walk around.

Due to a mistake on our part we were shown a double room – we usually reserve a twin room. The receptionist was very helpful and organised a twin room. This transpired to be a ground floor room with a door out to the gardens – very nice to step straight out and stroll around the gardens.

The room was traditionally furnished and clean. But no safe. The bathroom had a small selection of the usual toiletries. The bath towels were very large and thick – some of the best towels we have experienced. Two minor criticisms of the bathroom were: very little storage space (no shelves for personal toiletries) and the soap dish above the bath did not drain – so there was some stagnant water in the dish.

We booked on the internet and the following day a representative called to let us know there would be a wedding whilst we were at the hotel. We were assured that our room would be well away from the noise of the wedding. A nice touch we thought, in case we were looking for a quiet break. In the event the only effect that wedding had was that a large group used the lounge one evening.

As already mentioned the receptionist was very helpful and we found all the staff very helpful and polite.

We dined in the main restaurant on two nights and the Terrace on one night. The food was very good. Breakfast was the usual cold fare plus a hot breakfast which was individually ordered and freshly cooked.

All in all a pleasant stay and convenient for WW2 sites. Lincoln was a 30 minute drive away.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GOMCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petwood, Owner at Petwood Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you so much for your review following your recent stay in the area to visit aviation heritage sites. I am very pleased that the hotel's setting and history added to the enjoyment of your break, in addition to good food and great service. I thank you for commenting specifically on the service received from our Reception team.

I am grateful for your feedback about the room quality and look forward to incorporating your comments into the bathroom refurbishment scheme.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you to the area again soon and that you will consider a return visit to the Petwood.

With my thanks and best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    504
    193
    85
    42
    16
See reviews for
141
382
26
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Woodhall Spa, England
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We booked the maple suite for our 18th anniversary, dinner, bed and breakfast at a cost of £260. The room is lovely and cannot fault and the food is good too. However l feel the staff need training on making their guests feel welcome. A smile costs nothing. Felt rushed through dinner and breakfast as if the staff couldnt wait for us to leave. Sort this out and l would rate it 5 stars.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brianfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petwood, Owner at Petwood Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for your review, however I was bitterly disappointed to read that you felt our team lacked warmth and good service. Having privately contacted you to arrange an opportunity to discuss this in more detail, I hope to speak to you soon to understand where you feel specific improvements can be made. I am keen to ensure that our service is the best it can possibly be and, with your help, I will promptly address the issues you raise.

Thank you for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again soon to demonstrate how your comments have been implemented.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kissimmee, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

i visited the petwood today for an afternoon tea event which was booked in the garden room for 16 people, when we arrived on the notice board it said we were in the garden room but we were directed to another smaller room and told that it was our mistake (also the notice board NOT) the room was not adequate, we were told we could pay more for another room errrm no!!! when the food arrived it looked lovely, 3rd of the sandwiches were for the 1 vegetarian, the the scones were stale/hard, the mini eclairs had no cream in them and the cup cakes were not soft and fresh. The place was clean but tatty in places. Would NOT recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elizabethbB31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petwood, Owner at Petwood Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for your review, however I am so sorry that the afternoon tea experience fell below your expectations. The organiser booked the Squadron Bar for the afternoon tea and so I am sorry the welcome board mistakenly directed you to the Garden Room. The Squadron Bar accommodates up to 20 people, whereas the Garden Room can comfortably cater up to 30. The Garden Room was available on Saturday afternoon and was offered as an alternative.

The tea menu ordered comprised a selection of sandwiches including beef sirloin, ham, cheese and tomato, poacher cheese, tuna and cucumber and egg mayonnaise and so I am sorry if you felt there was insufficient selection for non-vegetarians. We are always happy to cater with alternative fillings when advised by the client. Scones are freshly made each day and the cakes were also freshly made for this event.

I am disappointed that you did not enjoy the celebratory afternoon tea and once again offer my apologies.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Sometimes you just need to take time out from the rat race and that's exactly what we did when booking the Petwood. Like steam from a hot cup of tea the stress disappeared and you can do nothing but relax in the most picturesque environment, luxurious bedrooms, food and on hand staff who could not have been more attentive to our every need. Thank you so much to everyone at the Petwood for having us. Highly recommended and we shall be returning.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Claire K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petwood, Owner at Petwood Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you so much for your review following your recent stay. I am extremely pleased that you felt The Petwood offered everything you needed for an enjoyable and relaxing night away. The team and I are delighted to receive your feedback and thank you for your recommendation.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Totally agree with recent very positive reviews. Having used the hotel for our car club AGM two years ago we had no doubts about returning this year, we were not disappointed! The hotel is clearly a popular venue for wedding receptions and afternoon teas but is also well suited for conferences or business meetings, not only does it have facilities to cater for large numbers it also has ample car parking. Dinner on the saturday evening was most enjoyable, the beef I had was as good as anything I have eaten recently - after a nightcap it was up to my room which happened to be twin bedded, it came with the usual accoutrements while the en suite was spotless and had The White Company toiletries.
One reviewer was disappointed with the garden, I can only say that while it's not at it's best at this time of year it was certainly well looked after and was neat and tidy. The hotel itself was clean and the furnishings appeared to be in good order, I would have no hesitation in recommending the Petwood to any group of car buffs or aviation enthusiasts, the link with 617 squadron has already been mentioned here. The only downside was the location, somewhat remote for our members who happened to live in the south west or the south east for that matter.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunray04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petwood, Owner at Petwood Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you so much for your review. It was a pleasure to be the venue for your car club AGM and I am delighted that you found the facilities to offer everything you required.

We love hosting your event and hope to welcome you again in the future when our gardens have been restored to their former Edwardian splendour.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with other TripAdvisor users.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainsborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Edwardian charm in spades, and steeped in RAF history. Close to local amenities, but in a quiet country setting. The friendly and courteous staff are very helpful. In place of chrome, plate glass and marble, you will find dark oak, brass and an abundance of elegance. If you appreciate aviation heritage take note of the original bouncing bomb in the car par, and inside there are a feast of exhibits adorning the walls which could occupy you for hours. 617 Squadron (the 'Dambusters') operated from RAF Woodhall Spa from January 1944 to May 1945, the Petwood Hotel serving as the Officer's Mess. Food was rationed then of course, but far from it today; the meals are excellent. If Golf is your hobby, Woodhall Spa will delight. Finally, the hotel has a quality born of its age, atmosphere. In this it is priceless.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petwood, Owner at Petwood Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. The team and I are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to The Petwood, noting particularly the rich aviation heritage, delicious food and excellent nearby golf facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

With thanks and best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

BOMBER trip location 10/10 in all respects clean& well maintained old values in dacore and appearance fully functioning equipment that is dated now but but why change for changes sake i
just stayed at the petwood hotel a great and relaxing experience staff very helpful and kind and considerate I will return to see more of the grounds and take more photos.I could not pick fault in anything easy going staff make the ambiance very easy to fall in with.there is plenty to read look at and get interested in open fires and central heating make a welcoming home at the end of a long day discovering lincolnshire I will certainly do all I can to make peoples opinions of the place
sing the praises of staff and location by recommending it to all good luck in other hotels

Room Tip: i had 228 1600hrs typhoons return to base past the window to RAF CONINGSBY get early morning calls...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phil m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petwood, Owner at Petwood Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Thank you so much for your review following your recent visit to Woodhall Spa. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay, particularly the welcoming atmosphere and friendliness of our team. Thank you for sharing your experience and photographs with other TripAdvisor users.

I look forward to welcoming you again soon, perhaps in time for the Woodhall Spa 1940s Festival on 19th and 20th July 2014.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodhall Spa
0.4 mi away
The INN at Woodhall Spa
The INN at Woodhall Spa
#3 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
11.2 mi away
Branston Hall Hotel
Branston Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Belton Woods Hotel
Belton Woods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Belton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
11.6 mi away
Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Golf Hotel
The Golf Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petwood Hotel

Property: Petwood Hotel
Address: Stixwould Road, Woodhall Spa LN10 6QG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Woodhall Spa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Woodhall Spa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Petwood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1905 and once home to the 617 'Dambusters' Squadron, the Hotel is situated in Lincolnshire and surrounded by 30 acres of beautiful gardens. This former country house offers free wi-fi, free car parking, log fires in the drawing room, a beauty and wellbeing studio, restaurant, terrace bar, RAF memorabilia, conference and banqueting facilities, wedding facilities with a licence for civil ceremonies, billiards room and outdoor entertaining area. A tranquil setting for both business and leisure guests.Rooms at the Petwood Hotel feature bathrooms with baths, showers and hairdryers. They also include TVs, radios, tea/coffee making facilities and some rooms have garden views. The Restaurant serves fine cuisine influenced by locally sourced produce. The hotel famous for it's RAF connection was used in World War II by the 617 Squadron, visit our Squadron Bar to view memorabilia and tributes to the Officers.Home of England Golf, the Woodhall Spa Golf Club is a 5 minute drive from the Petwood Hotel. Alternatively enjoy a stroll through our historic town, enjoy afternoon tea and lunch on the hotels terrace or pamper yourself with various beauty and massage treatments.The hotel is only a 2-minute stroll from Jubillee Park, which offers swimming and tennis or a 5-minute drive to Bainland Country Park offering bike hire, horse riding, microlight flying, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Petwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petwood Hall Lincoln
Petwood Hall Hotel Lincoln
Petwood Hotel Woodhall Spa, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing