We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Petwood Hotel review”
Review of Petwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Petwood Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Woodhall Spa
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Petwood Hotel review”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We visit the Petwood Hotel every year for dinner, although we have not stayed there. The hotel is in a superb setting and for those interested in the sacrifice RAF Bomber Command made for the freedom of Europe during WW2, well worth a visit. We find the staff charming and helpful, but the BIG downside is the poor food. Usually hardly warm and sometimes uneatable. One would think the food arrived from an industrial delivery van and was just put in a microwave oven. Such a shame for what could be a superb experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank silksheen100 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petwood, Owner at Petwood Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that we regularly have the opportunity to welcome you to The Petwood, a major appeal of which is the Bomber Command connection. I am also encouraged to hear that you enjoy great service from our charming and friendly team.

However, I was most disappointed to read that you rate our food as poor. Your experience contradicts the high satisfaction we strive for and which has been commented upon favourably in the reviews below across all food service areas. I would appreciate a further discussion with you to understand where you feel our standards fall short and where we can improve. To this end, I have contacted you directly to arrange a follow up call.

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I look forward to speaking to you soon.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    563
    219
    90
    44
    16
See reviews for
159
427
27
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
montgomery
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Despite recent competition from hotels on Woodall Spa's Broadway this is still the best hotel. Historic credentials, exceptionally large gardens (of a stately home size), great food, accommodating staff and within 300 yds of the center of Woodhall Spa. We were weary from a day out and had the bar food, yet it is clear that the same restaurant staff provides the uncomplicated, but stylish bar food, which would not be out of place in a named celebrity establishment. In good weather, the food can be eaten outside on the large terrace and, the afternoon tea others were enjoying earlier in the day, seemed sumptuous among an appropriate setting. Although there were fewer children than at other hotels in the area, the youngsters that were preset did not detract at all from adult sensibilities, as the grounds are so large that they become lost among the shrubbery (OK for kids). The final "icing on the cake" was the breakfast, which has a buffet for continental pastries and fruit, but also provides for the more exotic 5 star served food of full English, salmon and scrambled eggs and other smoked fish.....in fact most breakfast things; the breakfast was included as seems normal for the room price. Really, do check this place out on-line, especially if you enjoy golf as Woodhall is a bit of a golf destination (myself and golf came to a mutual distrust several years ago so I have no axe to grind here).

Room Tip: All rooms are good, but I understand that the executive and 4-poster rooms have views to the front o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank halibutMontgomery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petwood, Owner at Petwood Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. The team and I were delighted to read your kind comments and are so pleased to know that you enjoyed a relaxing stay at The Petwood with great food and service.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We were only at the Petwood for one night but we really enjoyed our brief stay. The fact that we were staying in the same place that 617 squadron had used as their base was an honour and a privilege. There is so much to read and absorb in that place, we will certainly return. We had a first class breakfast, I would go for room upgrade next time, the basic room whilst being entirely adequate was a bit plain. My only request would be: please could you have feather pillows? Foam ones are so uncomfortable. This lovely old building is set in magnificent grounds and I cannot recommend too highly. I was interested to read review of Chrissie F. We found one waiter serving morning coffee who was dozy and unhelpful to say the least. But thankfully he was the only one, all the rest were very good indeed

Room Tip: I think that any room would be fine but would recommend a superior one
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pat6119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petwood, Owner at Petwood Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at The Petwood. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the former Officers' Mess of 97, 619 and 617 Squadrons. Thank you also for your feedback about the pillows. Although we have non-feather pillows in our bedrooms as standard, we do have feather pillows available and will gladly exchange them. Please let us know your preference when you plan to return and we will have your pillow choice ready on arrival.

Many thanks again for your review.

With best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didcot, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I was travelling on business and the Petwood was recommended by a customer.
Fantastic hotel, great food, lovely rooms and really helpful staff.
This hotel has a very interesting history, make time to read the information in the hotel.
Definitely a place to visit.

Room Tip: Great views all round!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petwood, Owner at Petwood Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for your super review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Petwood following a recommendation from one of your customers.

I do hope to welcome you again soon.

Very best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a short break and found the staff and service excellent. The room though on the top floor was comfortable and spacious. Had dinner in the restaurant excellent food really fresh and wonderful fish. All the staff were very pleasant and attentive without being intrusive. A great visit only spoiled by the weather which you can never predict will be coming again soon.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank nortonfen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petwood, Owner at Petwood Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you so much for your review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found everything, particularly the food and service, to be of a high standard.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you again soon and will keep our fingers crossed for better weather!

With thanks and best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Having a enjoyed a stay last summer we took advantage of a flash deal for one night and upgraded to a bigger bed and bedroom. The grounds, terrace, garden are wonderfully tranquil and although it was a busy day with a wedding and another event also occurring there was still plenty of space to relax

Room Tip: Go for a room on the first floor so that you can open the window if you like good ventilation
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevengaunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petwood, Owner at Petwood Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you so much for your review following your recent stay. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your visit and could relax in peaceful and verdant surroundings.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Very best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a lovely building with tons of history (former HQ of 617 or Dambusters Sqdn). The rooms I had was in a bit of a time warp, although in keeping with the character of the building. Couldn't fault the restaurant, the staff or the grounds, which were spectacular. May is a great time to visit as the rhododendrons are in full bloom. I would definitely go back there.

Room Tip: If travelling alone, especially if female, ask for a room with windows that don't open onto the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cm9cm9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petwood, Owner at Petwood Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you so much for your review. The team and I were delighted to read your kind comments about the service, food and grounds. Thank you also for completing a guest feedback survey on departure from the hotel, from which the Reservations team have taken on board your comments about room allocation.

I do hope to welcome you to The Petwood again soon.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodhall Spa
0.5 mi away
The INN at Woodhall Spa
The INN at Woodhall Spa
#3 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
389 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
400 reviews
11.2 mi away
Branston Hall Hotel
Branston Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The Admiral Rodney Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House
11.6 mi away
Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Golf Hotel
The Golf Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petwood Hotel

Property: Petwood Hotel
Address: Stixwould Road, Woodhall Spa LN10 6QG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Woodhall Spa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Woodhall Spa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Petwood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1905 and once home to the 617 'Dambusters' Squadron, the Hotel is situated in Lincolnshire and surrounded by 30 acres of beautiful gardens. This former country house offers free wi-fi, free car parking, log fires in the drawing room, a beauty and wellbeing studio, restaurant, terrace bar, RAF memorabilia, conference and banqueting facilities, wedding facilities with a licence for civil ceremonies, billiards room and outdoor entertaining area. A tranquil setting for both business and leisure guests.Rooms at the Petwood Hotel feature bathrooms with baths, showers and hairdryers. They also include TVs, radios, tea/coffee making facilities and some rooms have garden views. The Restaurant serves fine cuisine influenced by locally sourced produce. The hotel famous for it's RAF connection was used in World War II by the 617 Squadron, visit our Squadron Bar to view memorabilia and tributes to the Officers.Home of England Golf, the Woodhall Spa Golf Club is a 5 minute drive from the Petwood Hotel. Alternatively enjoy a stroll through our historic town, enjoy afternoon tea and lunch on the hotels terrace or pamper yourself with various beauty and massage treatments.The hotel is only a 2-minute stroll from Jubillee Park, which offers swimming and tennis or a 5-minute drive to Bainland Country Park offering bike hire, horse riding, microlight flying, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Petwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petwood Hall Lincoln
Petwood Hall Hotel Lincoln
Petwood Hotel Woodhall Spa, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing