We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good B&B with excellent service and superb breakfast!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woodhall Spa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kirkstead Old Mill Cottage
Ranked #1 of 10 Woodhall Spa B&B and Inns
1 review
“Very good B&B with excellent service and superb breakfast!”
Reviewed 10 April 2013 via mobile

Whilst further from Woodhall Spa than I would have liked (about 10 minutes by car into the village), the welcome I received from Barbara more than compensated for the distance. The Monet Bedroom was very clean and comfortable with tea/coffee making facilities and your own personal fridge!). My bedroom also had a spacious ensuite bathroom (with a great shower I might add).
The fantastic and genuine service was only surpassed by the quality of the breakfast (especially the Lincolnshire sausages!)
The drive in from the main road takes you on what I can only describe as a dirt track which is a little bumpy in places (and perhaps not ideal for the car's tyres!). However I would reiterate that the personal customer service and generous breakfast more than made up for it!
I'd be happy to stay there again and would recommend it to others wanting a peaceful B&B with warm, caring service. Thanks Barbara!

Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KirksteadWoodhallSpa, Owner at Kirkstead Old Mill Cottage, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Thank you, Lee, for adding to our Trip Advisor reviews. The farm track is 1.1 miles long, so we only welcome guests when it is in a reasonable condition, and travelling down it carefully often allows one to view some of the abundant wild life. The latest visitor is an egret who fishes in the beck. A lot of our guests come back time after time just to enjoy the guiet, tranguil atmosphere, and of course the Gold Award breakfasts, which I really enjoy preparing. Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
52
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

I've now stayed here a couple of times and will continue to do so, as Kirkstead Old Mill Cottage has everything you could want and more from a B&B. In a beautiful and secluded spot down a track you are deep in the countryside and warmly welcomed by Barbara. The rooms are spotlessly clean and have every home comfort you could want, and if you think of something thats not there, I'm sure Barbara would get it for you. The breakfasts are delicious, homecooked food and a huge choice. Highly recommended. I'll be back soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

James at the Tourist Information said that this place was just down a gravel track from the main road... a mile later... during which we encountered two barn owls, a pair of nesting buzzards, several rabbits and a badger who accompanied us for around quarter of a mile, we found this little jewel set right in the heart of the Lincolnshire countryside. Now, don't misunderstand me, the little jewel is not the house... it's Barbara. The house is wonderful and the contents are eclectic... Miss Faversham springs to mind... the rooms, and we inspected them all, are spacious, extremely clean and well provided. In the Balcony Room (the best if you can get it) there are armchairs in cream leather, huge beds and (obviously) a brilliant balcony. The shower in that room is the most hi-tech gadget I've ever been washed in! But I digress... from the moment we entered nothing was too much trouble. Breakfasts are a host of decisions. Never before have I been asked which type of sausages I prefer, or how many would I like, or offered 3 kinds of bacon, 3 ways of cooking for my eggs and how much of each one. The fruit plates are almost a shame to eat, it's akin to destroying a work of art.
Barbara treated us to breakfast in the garden while we were there, seating us around a huge circular table in the sunshine, ably assisted by Reg and the cleaner/room maid. Barbara doesn't get around too quickly now and if you don't mind passing her things occasionally then the resulting conversations are erudite, entertaining and intelligent, but always with a slight edge of humour.
Carry on Barbara.. for many years to come I hope.
Bill

Room Tip: Try for the balcony room. The mirror wardrobes give the illusion of a mansion hall, but all the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cybermouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea County, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Stayed 3 nights in the Monet room, our friends enjoyed the massive Balcony Room. A really quiet retreat in rural Lincolnshire but within easy reach of all the attractions of Lincoln and surrounding area. We were looked after well by Barbara and her staff, the breakfasts were large and filling (dont set off the smoke alarm though when toasting your own bread!!), the rooms were warm and welcoming and we all slept well. Cant really ask much more from this well-managed B&B

Using Kirkstead Old Mill as our base we easily visited: Lincoln & its stunning Cathedral, RAF Scampton Aviation Museum, East Kirkby's Lincolnshire Aviation Centre, Kinema in the Woods, the Dambusters Memorial in Woodhall Spa, Petwood Hotel & its Squadron Bar, Hemswell Antiques Centre etc plus eating locally each evening

Room Tip: There's only two - the Balcony Room is larger but costs a little more. We stayed in the Monet an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birdcontroller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Hostess Barbara went out of her way to make us welcome, supply maps and directions. The B&B is beautifully appointed with very large rooms, huge bathrooms and the best showers in the UK. Beautifully presented fresh fruit before a well cooked breakfast. The balcony room overlooks the garden where you could sit in the morning and enjoy the sun. Quiet location not far from the local pub which served good evening meals

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, CT
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

I spent two nights here in early January. Within 10 minutes of arriving, I felt that I was being taken care of as one of Barbara's family. The Cottage is located close to the Witham River; it is warm and cosy; the rooms are spacious; and the breakfasts are excellent. I had to leave very early on my last day, so Barbara packed a lunch for my journey (in addition to the breakfast she left out) and supplemented it with a box of shortbreads I had admired one teatime! Best B&B exprience of my life!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ks21604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Rang Barbara the night before having made a last minute decision to visit Woodhall Spa and give my dear wife a suprise two night break. The cottage far exceeded all my widest dreams for it's location and the wonderful reception we received on arrival. We stayed in the Monet room, which we found excellent, cosy with all the little extras you could only imagine. It was so peaceful and the bed was fantastic! Barbara is a truly wonderful host and although her son and his wife were staying over, we were invited to join in with the family in a game of Rummikub, which was great fun. Breakfast was wonderful, such a choice and well presented. We always felt part of the family whilst staying and can't wait until we return soon. Thank you Barbara, Reg and all the staff for making our stay such a pleasent one.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodhall Spa
0.8 mi away
Petwood Hotel
Petwood Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
914 reviews
0.4 mi away
The INN at Woodhall Spa
The INN at Woodhall Spa
#3 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
383 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Leagate Inn
The Leagate Inn
#1 of 1 in Coningsby
158 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Golf Hotel
The Golf Hotel
#4 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
310 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stone House Lodge
Stone House Lodge
#3 of 10 in Woodhall Spa
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirkstead Old Mill Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirkstead Old Mill Cottage

Property: Kirkstead Old Mill Cottage
Address: Kirkstead Old Mill Cottage Tattershall Road, Woodhall Spa LN10 6UQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Woodhall Spa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Woodhall Spa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you value peace and quiet, and enjoy watching wild life, come and share the riverside tranquility of Kirkstead Old Mill Cottage, which is a mile off the B1192, but just two from the idyllic village of Woodhall Spa in central Lincolnshire. Choose from two twin/double bedrooms, with luxury en-suite facilities, or opt for our economy twin/double room with use of a private WC and separate shower. After your Gold Award breakfast, relax in the sunroom or beside a log-fire in the lounge, or explore the gardens and four-acre nature reserve. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kirkstead Old Mill Cottage Woodhall Spa, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing