We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Nieuview

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nieuview
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2014

An amazing getaway. Could not have asked for a more beautiful stay. I would recommend Nieuview to anyone that is looking for a relaxing stay. Perfect for any season. Certainly one of the best I have been to!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ChristinaZ1975XD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NaomiPaternoster, Owner at Nieuview, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

We appreciate the review that you have written. It is always very helpful to receive reviews in order to evaluate our services. We are very glad that had a good stay. We would like to thank you for recommending us to your friends and family. We will do our utmost best to keep up the excellence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

Beautiful and well situated accommodation. Unfortunately the maintenance leaves much to be desired.
The lounge ceiling is full of water marks and ceiling is leaking. The wall next to bed on the wwindow side is so wet that there is clearly visible very bad mildew built-up. For a price of R 1.500,00/night (average price for online booking) this accommodation should be immaculate.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Antje1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NaomiPaternoster, Owner at Nieuview, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thanks for staying at Soli deo Gloria and for the review. We would like to apologise for the 'maintenance issues' raised by you. Soli underwent a 'facelift', but unfortunately due to the weather in Paternoster and the 'old' roof, we are battling with damp. We've done some water sealing on the roof, but the contractors suggested that the walls are still too wet to apply new paint. We will surely repaint all these affected walls as soon as they are dry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We had a fantastic stay at Nieuview3, amazing views and well equipped rooms. The only issue is the safety in Paternoster, which could be a discouraging factor no matter where you stay. Keep everything locked up. I'm hoping the locals get together and sort this out as this could affect many holiday makers returning. I would however recommend Nieuview for your next get away.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Dev0nT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NaomiPaternoster, Owner at Nieuview, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thanks for staying in Nieuview . and for the positive review. We totally agree with you in the safety issues and therefore we applied all safety measures possible at Nieuview. Unfortunately, like in the rest of the Western Cape, the problem is 'tik' and there are no easy answers to this problem. We are working with the community, police and Community Police Forum on this issue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Excellent location with direct access to the beach. Sunsets that inspire romance. This was a winter visit so the fireplace was a treat. Occasional local visitors selling crayfish (could be annoying depending on your needs). Highly recommended if you just want to relax near the ocean.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 2EddH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NaomiPaternoster, Owner at Nieuview, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thanks for staying in Nieuview. We are very glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay. We totally agree with the romantic atmosphere - not only in Nieuview, but also the beach that is so close. The crayfish vendors are part of the community - they try to sell their stuff to visitors. We are trying hard that they only sell their crayfish in front of the hotel of at the fish market, but we didn't yet get there. We are looking forward to accommodate you again in Nieuview.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Really loved the apartment, it had everything we could ask for. Friendly check in and check out. It was an amazing weekend away and would do it again soon. I would recommend these apartments to everyone looking for a quiet, relaxing weekend away

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ReinierEngelbrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NaomiPaternoster, Owner at Nieuview, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you for staying in Nieuview and for the positive review. We've received an award for excellence from TripAdvisor - I think the reason is exactly what you are explaining here. We are looking forward to accommodate you again in Nieuview. We are working very hard to keep up the excellence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed two nights in Nieuview and would have loved to spend a week! The location is superb, right on the beach and the bedroom well appointed and very romantic with A frame and skylights. Wonderful beach on both sides and great restaurants in Paternoster.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sumpine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NaomiPaternoster, Owner at Nieuview, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

We would like to thank you for staying in Nieuview and for the positive review. Paternoster, and especially Nieuview, is THE place for a honeymoon. The cottage is intimate and romantic, and the views are to die for. We are looking forward to accommodate you again - perhaps for the anniversary?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed in NieuView Unit 2. The accommodation is of excellent quality and very well equipped. It is right on the beach. Unfortunately we became a victim of crime in Paternoster when our car window was smashed overnight. Over our three days of stay 3 cars where broken into and we felt unsafe. It’s a pity that crime is affecting Paternoster as the area is beautiful, the accommodation fantastic and the service is top notch. I will go back once they sorted out the crime problem.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MorneStevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NaomiPaternoster, Owner at Nieuview, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you for staying in Nieuview and for the positive review. We are grateful that you had such a wonderful stay. We are so sorry about the motor. As in the whole of the Western Cape, we are really battling in Paternoster with 'tik'. It is therefore such a difficult matter to address - although we won't give up. The community is constantly working on the 'tik' problem in order to solve the crime.
We trust that we will see you soon again - in Nieuview without the crime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paternoster hotels
0.1 mi away
Strandloper Ocean Boutique Hotel
0.9 mi away
La Baleine Paternoster
La Baleine Paternoster
#1 of 16 in Paternoster
145 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baywatch Villa Collection
Baywatch Villa Collection
#3 of 16 in Paternoster
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Paternoster Dunes Boutique Guest House
1 mi away
Abalone House
Abalone House
#9 of 19 in Paternoster
274 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Oystercatcher’s Haven
The Oystercatcher’s Haven
#5 of 19 in Paternoster
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nieuview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nieuview

Address: 1 Langstrandslot Langstrand, Paternoster, Saldanha Bay Municipality 7381, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Saldanha Bay Municipality > Paternoster
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Paternoster
Price Range: £87 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Nieuview 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on South Africa's wild West Coast, in the authentic fishing village of Paternoster, these exquisite cottages are located right on the beach. Imagine gazing at the sea while bathing in your extra big bath tub (Nieuview Cottages 1 + 2). At Nieuview Cottages 1 + 2 you can marvel at uninterrupted ocean views from the comfort of your lounge, dining table or even bed. Each of the cottages is fully serviced and flooded with natural light. Soak up the sun on the patio or take a romantic stroll along the beach. Maritime touches and warm colours complement every room's welcoming atmosphere. There are 3 cottages in the building – Nieuview 1, 2 and 3, all connected and built around a beautiful communal casual lounge area. The splash pool is under renovation and due to water restrictions out of order for a while. These cottages are beautifully decorated and well appointed, including a tea/coffee station, every appliance you may need for a weekend away, gown, full service. What a pleasure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Nieuview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing