We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star all the way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Strandloper Ocean Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Paternoster
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“5 star all the way”
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome and valued. Friendly and helpful staff showed us around and settled us in. Complimentary snack platters and lemonade arrived in our rooms as we unpacked. The setting is priceless. Our room, with a courtyard, had no sea view but was comfortable and immaculate. My only gripe - no bath, shower only. We could enjoy cocktails in the grass and watch the ocean. Highly recommended.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cindymac1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    431
    41
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
30
353
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We had the most rewarding stay at the Strandloper Ocean Boutique Hotel in Paternoster! The management and the staff have been just great, very accommodating and exceptionally friendly. A big thank you to Simba, Prosper and Tapiwa our three "Buttlers" that did not stop to please us and make our stay comfortable. They have shown a very professional and friendly attitude towards all the guests.
A big thanks to the Chef Lovemore for the exceptional dishes being prepared for us from the kitchen. An absolute must, his Kingklip .... roasted to perfection!!!!
Simply, a true 5Star hotel in the most breathtaking area of the Cape West Coast!
We will be back .....for sure!

Room Tip: Presidential suite is tops! Any suites with the Ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amzimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camps Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 October 2013

The owners of this relatively new establishment have honestly distilled the very essence for a 5 star West Coast beach experience. Aesthetically very appealing, well appointed, spacious, private. I have yet to find better anywhere between Grotto Bay and Eland Bay, in fact not even close. The Strandloper Boutique has cracked the recipe for a discerning weekend traveller seeking a West coast getaway retreat.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brent_Dyssell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2013

My girlfriend Sas and I stayed for 2 nights at this superbly run beautiful little boutique hotel and it was truly a magical experience from the warm friendly welcoming of Cyril and Tapiwa to the 5 star service and delicious food served by Prosper, Lovemore and Simba. Everything about this hotel was 5 star from the rooms, the staff, the food, and the position.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annemorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent a much needed weekend away at the Standloper Ocean Boutique Hotel. It was wonderfully quiet and peaceful. The staff are attentive and the rooms are spacious and clean. The 'butlers' were delightful fellows with a warm attitude towards their guests. They kindly arranged our dining reservations and we had superb meals at Gaatjie, the Noisy Oyster and Voorstrand.
I'm not usually very particular but being a 5* hotel I would like to highlight a few things I noticed. 1. Risks or biscuits should be placed in the room every day. 2. The milk should be poured into a tea cup before the tea. 3. The phone must be answered immediately when calling the 'butler', we should not have to go looking for service.
Other than these few pointers we had a lovely weekend.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
95 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

This boutique hotel is situated at one end of the village, with nothing further on other than sand dunes, in a picturesque setting.

On booking the reservation through their website I received a very prompt and helpful response.

On arrival we were greeted by Prosper, who was friendly and efficiently checked us in. He and Simba helped us with our baggage to our room. Rooms were clean and airy, with a beautiful view towards and easy access to the sea. Not all the rooms have that view, but given the limited number of rooms and the setting I don't really think you can wrong regardless of the room you choose. Tastefully furnished with all the amenities one would expect of a top class establishment, with some nice individual touches. Upon asking I was told that the hotel had opened in May 2012.

Breakfast was served on a veranda over looking the beach. Breakfast was excellent, with none of the usual buffet style breakfast. The hotel does not cater for evening meals at the hotel every night, just some (we stayed on a Wednesday), but that does not really matter since there are other eating establishments in the village, about a 15 minute walk away along the road or the beach, although we chose to drive given the windy weather. The hotel had make a booking for us and we were very happy with their choice - can't recall the name but it was right on the beach.

For joggers be sure to take your kit with you. You can run from one end of the village to the other and back, with some twists and turns along the way, giving a total run of 6 kilometers and some beautiful views.

Check out was equally friendly and efficient.

We would strongly recommend a stay at this establishment. We wished we could have stayed longer than the single night.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haydndavies2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I just want to say thank you very much to all the staff at Strandloper Ocean Boutique Hotel. My fiancée and I needed a break away from the rigmarole and stress of planning a wedding and we decided to try somewhere different. We stayed Friday and Saturday night and it was exactly what we were looking for. We stayed in a Courtyard room which was very nicely put together, clean and you could see that someone had applied the personal touch to the room. The location is perfect, its at the end of Paternoster and it really makes you feel miles away from anything. The food on offer was fantastic. Breakfasts in the morning were a great start to the day and the dinner on Saturday night was perfect. Lovemore certainly knows what he is doing in the kitchen.

The standout factor for us was the quality of the staff. A big thank you to Taps, Simba, Prosper, Cyril and Kayla who were incredibly pleasant, down to earth and friendly. Everyone was always ready and available with a smile and a handshake and it was very much appreciated.

We highly recommend to anyone who wants to get away and be looked after to try and stay at the Strandloper Ocean Boutique Hotel.

Richard and Lindi

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paternoster hotels
0.0 mi away
ah! Guest House
ah! Guest House
#1 of 19 in Paternoster
382 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baywatch Villa Collection
Baywatch Villa Collection
#4 of 16 in Paternoster
99 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Baleine Paternoster
La Baleine Paternoster
#1 of 16 in Paternoster
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Paternoster Dunes Boutique Guest House
1.0 mi away
Abalone House & Spa
Abalone House & Spa
#9 of 19 in Paternoster
260 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gilcrest Place BnB
Gilcrest Place BnB
#2 of 19 in Paternoster
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strandloper Ocean Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strandloper Ocean Boutique Hotel

Property: Strandloper Ocean Boutique Hotel
Address: Patterson Slot | Cape West Coast, Paternoster, Saldanha Bay Municipality 7381, South Africa (Formerly Strandloper Ocean Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Saldanha Bay Municipality > Paternoster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Paternoster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Strandloper Ocean Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for an unspoiled ocean getaway, it doesn’t get better than the exclusive new Strandloper Ocean. Hidden away on the shores of the unspoiled fishing village of Paternoster, only 90 minutes from Cape Town, this is a coastal destination with immeasurable charm.The 16 exquisite rooms and suites are a fusion of beach style and contemporary luxury; with organic lines, hues and textures and an overall feeling of simplicity. Each has its own terrace or courtyard, some with small splash pools, and wide doors that open out onto breathtaking views of sky, sand, sea and space.Take the time to simply be, or if you are feeling more adventurous, set off on an endless beach walk in search of whales and dolphins, hop onto a bicycle for a leisurely ride or take to the waves on a kayak.Paternoster is a seafood and lobster Mecca, a gourmet destination for travelers in search of the ultimate meal. Inspired cuisine with a local and organic slant is created daily at the Ocean Lounge, which also serves up breathtaking views of the surroundings.A romantic venue for couples, honeymooners or anyone looking for some special me-time, the Strandloper Ocean offers the best of West Coast hospitality and fuss-free luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Strandloper Ocean Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing