We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”
Review of Paternoster Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Paternoster Hotel
Ranked #16 of 19 Paternoster B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 October 2012

The one positive thing about this hotel is the location, a 2 minute walk takes you to the beach.
The hotel lacks charm. The old original building has been added onto successively and in a haphazard and rabbit-warreny way with windows now opening up into corridors or dark corners. The room we had was at the front of the hotel and faced the sea, it was one of the best. Others was really dark and dreary with no outlook except onto a corridor.
Our room was in need of a full refurbishment and face lift. It was dull, uninspiring and badly laid out. It smelt damp and was quite cheerless.
The local staff were very friendly but the service at breakfast was awful. It took ages for anyone to come and take an order and when we asked for another cup of tea were told we would have to pay extra .... we were booked in for B&B! Dinner was a miserable affair in an empty dining room. I'm not surprised!
I would not stay here again, there are far better options.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RJWal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 111 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2012

My wife and I attended a wedding at the Hotel in September. Friday was n soek and krayfish braai. Wonderfully done fresh from the sea. Very friendly staff. The wedding the Saturday was equally good. Plat op die aarde mense!! Centrally located and stunning views.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Stefan-12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

1-tv never worked
2-kettle never worked
3- lights kept tripping
4- damp smell in room (terrible)
5- bathroom very old and clutty needs plenty attention
6- overall a terrible experience
7- web pics looked great however not at all like pics on web

Room Tip: sea facing rooms looked nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Lovely old time hotel serving superb seafood - huge portions for for reasonable prices. They are not trying to rip off toursist, and provide a good value meal. The "Panty Bar" is a treat and well worth a visit to have a drink with some locals.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DieterKemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Karin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paternoster
0.7 mi away
Strandloper Ocean Boutique Hotel
14.0 mi away
Hoedjiesbaai Hotel
Hoedjiesbaai Hotel
#2 of 2 in Saldanha
108 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Baleine Paternoster
La Baleine Paternoster
#1 of 17 in Paternoster
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Paters Haven Self-Catering and B&B
0.2 mi away
De Linden Boutique Guest House
De Linden Boutique Guest House
#7 of 19 in Paternoster
57 reviews
0.6 mi away
Baywatch Villa Collection
Baywatch Villa Collection
#3 of 17 in Paternoster
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paternoster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paternoster Hotel

Address: St Augustines Rd., Paternoster, Saldanha Bay Municipality 7381, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Saldanha Bay Municipality > Paternoster
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Paternoster
Price Range: £32 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Paternoster Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Paternoster Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing