We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty little hotel with vibey bar”
Review of Paternoster Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Paternoster Hotel
Ranked #16 of 19 Paternoster B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 February 2013

This is a great place to have a meal and watch the world go by on the main road of this little seaside town:) The adjoining bar is buzzing...inside the hotel there's lots of art to admire as well as a pretty shell shop which sells jewellery and decorative stuff made from shells.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Mandira_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2013

We like Paternoster and quite enjoy staying in this small hotel. It's not a Plastic Palace, it has its very own unique character. The staff are usually good fun people although the Panty Bar guys on duty this week were a bit cold. When I was there earlier this week, I was really surprised to find people in this bar, watching fat Englishmen throwing little feathered spears at a brightly lit target! That could have been the reason for the staff's lack of enthusiasm? This is usually a staunch WP Rugby Supporters bar, and no doubt there was rugby being shown somewhere, on one of the Sport Channels?

Not so long ago you could spend hours reading the autographs of all the people who had signed the walls. Sports men and women, Actors and actresses and others from all walks of life.
It was redecorated a few years back and now just a few framed shots of the autographs remain.

The rooms are comfortable and with a bit of modernisation could offer more space. Not that it's major issue. They do not have air conditioning but provide fans in the rooms. As there is usually a nice sea breeze, it's quite comfortable.
They have a restaurant which serves the local sea food, lots of it, at very good prices. Their breakfasts these days are very good, just what you need before your morning jog on the local beach. (If the wind is favourable, it can be a very sandy experience if it's too strong.)

Room Tip: The "Sea View" rooms are our favourites, there are only four so they should be requested w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Al D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

The Hotel is marketed on their website with pictures that does not present a proper overview. The landmark "panty bar" is old and smelly and attracted locals who when socialising became loud and roudy. The hiotel restarant is serviced through the main entrance and lobby making it unatractive and busy on arraival. The rooms are a plus. During peak season it was found to be very busy and staff was struggeling to take orders and service guests. The hotel despite being a landmark can seriously undergo some kind of revamp. I will unfortunatly not vist this hotel again but the town for sure.

Room Tip: Room Number 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coenie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

The one positive thing about this hotel is the location, a 2 minute walk takes you to the beach.
The hotel lacks charm. The old original building has been added onto successively and in a haphazard and rabbit-warreny way with windows now opening up into corridors or dark corners. The room we had was at the front of the hotel and faced the sea, it was one of the best. Others was really dark and dreary with no outlook except onto a corridor.
Our room was in need of a full refurbishment and face lift. It was dull, uninspiring and badly laid out. It smelt damp and was quite cheerless.
The local staff were very friendly but the service at breakfast was awful. It took ages for anyone to come and take an order and when we asked for another cup of tea were told we would have to pay extra .... we were booked in for B&B! Dinner was a miserable affair in an empty dining room. I'm not surprised!
I would not stay here again, there are far better options.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RJWal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

My wife and I attended a wedding at the Hotel in September. Friday was n soek and krayfish braai. Wonderfully done fresh from the sea. Very friendly staff. The wedding the Saturday was equally good. Plat op die aarde mense!! Centrally located and stunning views.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Stefan-12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

1-tv never worked
2-kettle never worked
3- lights kept tripping
4- damp smell in room (terrible)
5- bathroom very old and clutty needs plenty attention
6- overall a terrible experience
7- web pics looked great however not at all like pics on web

Room Tip: sea facing rooms looked nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Lovely old time hotel serving superb seafood - huge portions for for reasonable prices. They are not trying to rip off toursist, and provide a good value meal. The "Panty Bar" is a treat and well worth a visit to have a drink with some locals.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DieterKemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paternoster
0.7 mi away
Strandloper Ocean Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Abalone House
Abalone House
#9 of 19 in Paternoster
274 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Baleine Paternoster
La Baleine Paternoster
#1 of 16 in Paternoster
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Absolute Beach Accommodation
Absolute Beach Accommodation
#2 of 6 in St. Helena Bay
60 reviews
0.6 mi away
Baywatch Villa Collection
Baywatch Villa Collection
#3 of 16 in Paternoster
106 reviews
0.4 mi away
Paters Haven Self-Catering and B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paternoster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paternoster Hotel

Address: St Augustines Rd., Paternoster, Saldanha Bay Municipality 7381, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Saldanha Bay Municipality > Paternoster
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Paternoster
Price Range: £33 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Paternoster Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Paternoster Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing