We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting”
Review of Paternoster Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Paternoster Hotel
Ranked #19 of 19 Paternoster B&B and Inns
Cape Town
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We had some nice fish and chips here. The waitress was honest and told us what was good and bad (ie what fish was tough and dry) Quite refreshing in this day and age. Service is however fairly average. The most interesting part was watching all the local activities / bargaining on the other side of the road from our table. Areal local experience!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GLMCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    25
    25
    11
    11
See reviews for
23
35
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

This is a great place to have a meal and watch the world go by on the main road of this little seaside town:) The adjoining bar is buzzing...inside the hotel there's lots of art to admire as well as a pretty shell shop which sells jewellery and decorative stuff made from shells.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Mandira_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset West, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

We like Paternoster and quite enjoy staying in this small hotel. It's not a Plastic Palace, it has its very own unique character. The staff are usually good fun people although the Panty Bar guys on duty this week were a bit cold. When I was there earlier this week, I was really surprised to find people in this bar, watching fat Englishmen throwing little feathered spears at a brightly lit target! That could have been the reason for the staff's lack of enthusiasm? This is usually a staunch WP Rugby Supporters bar, and no doubt there was rugby being shown somewhere, on one of the Sport Channels?

Not so long ago you could spend hours reading the autographs of all the people who had signed the walls. Sports men and women, Actors and actresses and others from all walks of life.
It was redecorated a few years back and now just a few framed shots of the autographs remain.

The rooms are comfortable and with a bit of modernisation could offer more space. Not that it's major issue. They do not have air conditioning but provide fans in the rooms. As there is usually a nice sea breeze, it's quite comfortable.
They have a restaurant which serves the local sea food, lots of it, at very good prices. Their breakfasts these days are very good, just what you need before your morning jog on the local beach. (If the wind is favourable, it can be a very sandy experience if it's too strong.)

Room Tip: The "Sea View" rooms are our favourites, there are only four so they should be requested w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2013

The Hotel is marketed on their website with pictures that does not present a proper overview. The landmark "panty bar" is old and smelly and attracted locals who when socialising became loud and roudy. The hiotel restarant is serviced through the main entrance and lobby making it unatractive and busy on arraival. The rooms are a plus. During peak season it was found to be very busy and staff was struggeling to take orders and service guests. The hotel despite being a landmark can seriously undergo some kind of revamp. I will unfortunatly not vist this hotel again but the town for sure.

Room Tip: Room Number 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coenie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paternoster hotels

Windhoek, Namibia
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

The one positive thing about this hotel is the location, a 2 minute walk takes you to the beach.
The hotel lacks charm. The old original building has been added onto successively and in a haphazard and rabbit-warreny way with windows now opening up into corridors or dark corners. The room we had was at the front of the hotel and faced the sea, it was one of the best. Others was really dark and dreary with no outlook except onto a corridor.
Our room was in need of a full refurbishment and face lift. It was dull, uninspiring and badly laid out. It smelt damp and was quite cheerless.
The local staff were very friendly but the service at breakfast was awful. It took ages for anyone to come and take an order and when we asked for another cup of tea were told we would have to pay extra .... we were booked in for B&B! Dinner was a miserable affair in an empty dining room. I'm not surprised!
I would not stay here again, there are far better options.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RJWal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

My wife and I attended a wedding at the Hotel in September. Friday was n soek and krayfish braai. Wonderfully done fresh from the sea. Very friendly staff. The wedding the Saturday was equally good. Plat op die aarde mense!! Centrally located and stunning views.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan-12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

1-tv never worked
2-kettle never worked
3- lights kept tripping
4- damp smell in room (terrible)
5- bathroom very old and clutty needs plenty attention
6- overall a terrible experience
7- web pics looked great however not at all like pics on web

Room Tip: sea facing rooms looked nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paternoster
14.1 mi away
Hoedjiesbaai Hotel
Hoedjiesbaai Hotel
#2 of 2 in Saldanha
95 reviews
0.7 mi away
Strandloper Ocean Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Paters Haven Self-Catering and B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Baleine Paternoster
La Baleine Paternoster
#1 of 16 in Paternoster
140 reviews
0.5 mi away
SA West Coast & Beyond
SA West Coast & Beyond
#5 of 16 in Paternoster
63 reviews
0.8 mi away
Farr Out Guesthouse
Farr Out Guesthouse
#4 of 19 in Paternoster
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paternoster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paternoster Hotel

Property: Paternoster Hotel
Address: St Augustines Rd., Paternoster, Saldanha Bay Municipality 7381, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Saldanha Bay Municipality > Paternoster
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Paternoster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Paternoster Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Paternoster Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing