We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel with fine food (but variable service!)”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Palm Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palm Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Petite-Ile
Certificate of Excellence
York
Level Contributor
170 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel with fine food (but variable service!)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

We spent three nights at the Palm. The room was fine (but only luke-warm water, despite reporting the problem!). The facilities were great, the breakfast was first class, the location lovely.
We ate twice in the restaurant and the food was excellent. Expensive but really good. The wine list is amazing, huge choice including many Grand Cru wines at €100, €200, €300 or more a bottle! Not so much choice for people who aren't footballers or bankers but you should find something just about affordable.
However, there was a problem with the service. One night it was absolutely fine. But the service on the other night would have made Basil Fawlty blush. Even getting some bread to eat with the (absolutely delicious) starter, or a bottle of mineral water with the wine seemed challenging to the waiter, who eventually just disappeared and never came back! (We never did get the bread....). And other problems as well.
Any establishment will occasionally have problems. Probably we were just unlucky. But it is a shame to serve expertly cooked and beautifully presented food in super surroundings and then have clients have to put up with farcical Gallic "Je m'en foutisme" from a renegade waiter!
But the service the other night couldn't be criticised!
Hey ho.....

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 99Martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    569
    258
    108
    38
    14
See reviews for
188
629
12
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

We stayed in a junior suite at the Palm Hotel for 4 nights, and had a fantastic time. We don't normally stay at luxury resorts, as I find they tend to homogenise travel, but we decided to splash out on one really good place during our 3 weeks in Reunion, and stay at the Palm Hotel.

We were lucky that our suite was probably the best located one in the hotel – right at the bottom of the property, closest to the ocean – it was a terrrific spot, and nice & quiet. We were also lucky to be there in fairly low season, which meant that there weren't many other people staying at the resort.

The suite itself was very large, with plenty of room for us and our 2 small children. There was an outdoor area at the front of the suite, and a large deck at the back which overlooked the ocean, so plenty of living area. I loved sitting out on the back deck, listening to the sound of the ocean, especially in the evening.

The rooms were finished to a high standard, and include TV with cable channels, safe, bar fridge, tea/coffee facilities, air conditioning, ceiling fan, small desk, coffee table, bath robes and iron. The bathroom was a good size, and once again had high standard finishings. There is an outdoor shower as well as an indoor bath/shower.

There are two pools at the resort, one of which has some fairly amazing views out over the ocean. The bar was a great place to relax in the afternoon, drinking cocktails with a great view (and great bar snacks). Breakfast was a big buffet - probably the best buffet we had in Reunion, that covered most things you can think of. The only downside on the food front was dinner - having eaten at a lot of restaurants in Reunion over 3 weeks, we found dinner very overpriced, and not up to the standard you would expect for those prices. It wasn't a problem though, as it is easy enough to drive to St-Joseph or St-Pierre for dinner (or there is Le Vacoa restaurant just down the road).

There is a pathway down to the beach at Grande Anse, which is a nice place to spend a morning or afternoon. With two kids we found it easier just to drive down to the beach (it's a very short drive).

Staff at the hotel were extremely helpful and friendly - quite a few speak English and made us feel at home. I was a bit concerned that the resort may not have been the best place for little kids, but both of them had a fantastic time, and the staff always said hello to them.

Overall, the Palm Hotel was the best place we stayed in Reunion, and one of the best resort properties we've ever stayed at. Nothing was too much trouble for them, and it was a genuinely relaxing place to stay. I only wish we had stayed longer!

Room Tip: The junior suites seem to have the best position in the resort - ask for one right down the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ricardofusball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
98 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

We spent 3 nights at the resort in August 2012. Our room was large and comfy, with all the necessary amentities, including free wi-fi all over the huge property.
The pool was gorgous, with enough loungers for the guests and even 2 exercise machines in the water. We were surprised that it was warm enough to swim in, considering it was winter.
Breakfast was very good, with a nice selection of foodstuffs. Language was a bit of a problem, as we don't speak French and the staff very little English, so saying we wanted our coffee later meant we'd get a latte (jug of hot frothed milk). This has happened in other countries so we just laughed if off.
The beach was a bit of a walk to get to although the hotel does have shuttle buses a few times a day. After walking there and seeing that the beach was a bit on the rough side, we chose to rather use the pool at the hotel.
We ate in the restaurant on 2 occassions, the food was delicious but a bit on the pricey side. We tried eating out one night and struggled to find anything open close by. Eventually settled for a pizza in what looked like someone's home.
The resort is well situated for exploring the area, as nothing is too far away. We visited Cilaos for the day and it was a very pleasant trip, which included seeing St Pierre.
I would recommend staying there but a car is necessary if you want to do more than lie at the pool.

Room Tip: Try to get a sea facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smurf59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELSCO, Directeur général at Palm Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Thank you for your kind comments, and for posting your positive feedback onto TripAdvisor.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Best Wishes,
Patrice PETA - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

This is a large 4 star hotel with all the concomitant facilities e.g two pools, two restaurants. The staff were friendly but totally competent. This is not a beach hotel although there was a beach about 400 yards down a steep hill. Then food was adequate but very over-priced. Room was very comfortable as expected in a 4 star establishment. The pools very quite cold (in early May). This is a good access point for a volcano trip

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AncientmarinerUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELSCO, Directeur général at Palm Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 19 May 2012
Dear reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to right this review and I hope you will be joining us again soon.
Kindest regards
Patrice PETA - Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morro Bay, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

if you are looking for a great place in reunion island, stay at palm hotel&spa.Best hotel in the south of reunion island. it did even beat the 5 star hotel on the island!great amenities! great commodations!
this is definetely a stunning place, so welcoming! room's are elegant & very comfortable! we had everyday fresh flowers on our bed! the food is excellent! the restaurant manager is very nice!! the front desk staff are so sweet! we showed up early, they gave us a room instead of making us wait.they allowed us to check in early "no charge"!the wifi & parking are free , you can't ask for more.The infinity pool is gorgeous!!!this is truly an amazing hotel, overlooking the ocean!so breathtaking!!!THANK YOU SO VERY MUCH MR.PETA"HOTEL MANAGER" you AND YOUR STAFF ALWAYS MADE US FEEL WELCOME.would definetely recommend this hotel.IT'S SIMPLY UNIUE.I SPEND ALMOST 5 MONTHS A YEAR IN HOTELS, BELIEVE ME THIS ONE HAVE IT ALL.Thank you front desk staff.you're the best!!!!love you all.chacha/Morocco/usa

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SosoLauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELSCO, Directeur général at Palm Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 19 May 2012
Many thanks for your great feedback following your recent stay with us. I was really delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and our service and facilities.
I have passed on your kind words to my brilliant team here at the hotel.
I look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay with us, and please give my sincere regards to Morocco...
Kindest regards
Patrice PETA, Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koh Samui
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

We had the opportunity to stay at the Palm right after the race La Diagonale des Fous in October 2011. A little fragile and super tired this was the best place to stay after such a race on the island of La Reunion. Excellent staff throughout the resort & very good young chef in the kitchen. We really enjoyed the eating every single dish. Thanks to all the team management & chef for this great stay! Being a hotelier, I know how much it takes to build a good place & name. Well done to you all!

See you next year!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex-Andries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELSCO, Directeur général at Palm Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Dear Sir, Thank you for staying at the Palm Hotel & Spa and even more for taking time to share your kind feedback which is overall so positive. I very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel soon.
Kind Regards
Patrice PETA - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
123 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

We stayed only one night in this hotel and that is the one thing I regret from La Réunion. This is truely an amazing hotel and you have to take your time to enjoy it.

The location is great: at the end of a long driveway and overlooking the ocean. It seems that in the right season you see the whales passing by from the terrace or from the magnificent infinity pool. There is also a spa and lots of areas to relax, including a daily campfire.

The resort is full of... palm trees, all with the name of the variety indicated.

The staff is very helpfull. The management speaks English as well; I'm not sure if the staff does because we adressed them in French.

We had a standard room. No view but the room was huge, every clean and very stylishly decorated. It can be a bit of a hassle to walk back to your room after dark. There are (very stylish) lights but not everywhere.

The buffet supper was great and so was the breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hanssterkendries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petite-Ile
23.2 mi away
Iloha Seaview Hotel
Iloha Seaview Hotel
#2 of 3 in Saint-Leu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
21.0 mi away
Blue Margouillat Seaview Hotel
6.0 mi away
Le Battant des Lames
Le Battant des Lames
#1 of 12 in Saint-Pierre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 12 in Saint-Pierre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Delisle
Hotel Villa Delisle
#2 of 12 in Saint-Pierre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
5.2 mi away
Le Saint Pierre Hotel
Le Saint Pierre Hotel
#4 of 12 in Saint-Pierre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Hotel & Spa

Property: Palm Hotel & Spa
Address: Grand'Anse, Petite-Ile 97429, Reunion Island
Region: Reunion Island > Arrondissement of Saint-Pierre > Petite-Ile
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Petite-Ile
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Palm Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very close to the city of Saint-Pierre, in Petite-Ile, in the Wild South of the Island of Reunion, nearby the most important natural sites and places of interest, such as the Cirque of Cilaos or the volcano Le Piton de La Fournaise, a Hotel is nestling between the cliffs, overlooking the blue water of the Indian Ocean and the bay of Grand'Anse with its white sand beach: The Palm Hotel & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palm Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Hotel And Spa
Palm Hotel Petite Île
Palm Hotel & Spa Reunion Island/Petite-Ile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing