We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newly-renovated rooms”
Review of Kingwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kingwood Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Sibu
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I stayed in the new wings of the hotel. It was new and nice renovated. I would recommend to others. However, the limited car park is a big problem. It was so hard to find a parking, and the hotel car park is bad, narrowed design. Personally think that breakfast provided at the lobby needs improvements, no appetite for more. I prefer to spend for food outside instead of the complimentary breakfast. And I requested for an international adapter and an extra towel during my arrival, they told me limited staffs and I need to wait. Then I waited for almost 2 hours. I do think that the hotel has lots to improve where hospitality is concerned.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank misschai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
There are newer reviews for Kingwood Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

112 - 118 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2012

I stayed here during my last visit to Sibu. The biggest hotel in Sibu, but not sure whether it's the best or not. Personally, i think Kingwood is a nice & comfortable hotel to stay. Most important, it’s clean and free of bed bugs. :) Basic amenities provided but the hair dryer is an old style type and not functioning very well. My hair not even dries using it. The tv channel are limited. At least install Astro, will do. One more thing, as we went back to the hotel at night, around 12am, the surrounding are so dim because most light are switched off and it’s kind of insecure. The prices are affordable and its value for money. Location of this hotel are also good for it’s at the heart of Sibu, can easily find food stalls around the hotel but mostly the non-halal stall. Overall, this hotel is recommended. Might consider this hotel for my next visit to Sibu.

Room Tip: For quality sleep, choose room facing river view.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank missWj83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Located centrally in sibu and within walking distance to the town centre. It takes around 30-40 minutes by car to reach this location from Sibu airport.

It has a new wing which is far better from the previously reviewed old wing. There is still on-going construction but noise levels are minimal. Rooms face either the town or the rajang river. I stayed at the new wing.

Doors are equipped with key card.

Rooms are clean and new. Pillows and bed is comfortable. Room comes with a writing desk and hairdryer next to it. Fridge and coffee making facilities available.

No safe available in the room. Iron is available only on request. Housekeeping is closed after 10pm and resumes at 7am. (so, if you need the iron early in the morning - request the night before)

Wifi is complementary. However there are frequent disruptions to the connection but acceptable.

Easy to find food around this area.

If you're just looking to stay for a few days on business, this hotel is ideal.

Room Tip: Personally, the town view is better cause the Rajang river is always yellow...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank john_gpjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

This hotel is the biggest in Sibu as it recently added a new wing to the old building. It is within walking distance to the esplanade, the express boat terminal, the wet markets, and a few other local attractions nearby as Sibu town tends to be quite centralised.

My room was located in the old wing, large enough to accommodate 2 queen beds. Though clean, the furniture looks worn. The mini fridge was missing for some reason. A kettle jug, cups and saucers were provided but there wasn't any tea or coffee available! There was an old television set in the room but channels were very limited, with only CNN, NHK, Lotus Macau and a few others. Picture quality was bad, so not much of entertainment there.

Buffet breakfast was available from 6.30 a.m. onwards. The spread of food was ordinary, the food was not labeled so people may not know what they were eating.

I was having a seminar there, and for the 3 different sessions I had to go to different rooms all over the hotel. For session 1, I was aghast to find out that 80 persons were being cramped into a small room. Session 2 was held at a ballroom, but the place smelled stale. The venue for session 3 changed at the last minute without us being informed. I felt like I was being taken for granted.

I requested for late check out. At first I was turned down, but later on, it was extended to 1.30 p.m. I did not see a concierge, so I had to go out of the hotel to search for my own taxi.

I do think that the hotel has lots to improve where hospitality is concerned.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank glyn0220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 4 February 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 March 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZXFEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Vraag kamer vanaf de vijfde verdieping ivm uitzicht op de rivier, er is bedrijvigheid genoeg.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOHN d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sibu hotels
1.1 mi away
Paramount Hotel Sibu
Paramount Hotel Sibu
#9 of 11 in Sibu
42 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Hotel
Premier Hotel
#4 of 11 in Sibu
58 reviews
0.7 mi away
RH Hotel
RH Hotel
#7 of 11 in Sibu
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tanahmas Hotel
Tanahmas Hotel
#1 of 11 in Sibu
96 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Orchid Hotel
The Orchid Hotel
#7 of 12 in Sibu
6 reviews
2.2 mi away
Qu Lin Resident
Qu Lin Resident
#5 of 12 in Sibu
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingwood Hotel

Address: Kingwood Hotel Lorong Lanang 4, Sibu 96000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Sibu
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Sibu
Price Range: £36 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingwood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Kingwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing