We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Strong cigarette smell and noisy”
Review of Kingwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kingwood Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Sibu
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Strong cigarette smell and noisy”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I stayed at the new wing of this hotel during an official trip recently. However, my stay there was less than pleasant. There was a very strong cigarette smell in my room and also there was a karaoke pub a few floors below my room which meant it was very noisy throughout the night. These two things are more than enough to reduce the quality of my sleep. Fortunately I only had to spend a night in this hotel. The only good thing about this hotel is its proximity to the Sibu Wharf Terminal which makes it convenient for those who are traveling to Kapit since it's within walking distance.

Room Tip: Request for a room that is NOT on top of a karaoke pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitchell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    37
    44
    12
    10
See reviews for
20
13
7
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Stayed for 2 day on business trip (Jan2014), selected the old wing, 5th floor. Same room on new wing have to pay extra RM50.
Room for 2, very spacious, clean & yeah quite old fashion....wifi is fast, facing the Rejang river-scenic.
bathroom no hot water,only warm ( during peak hour)
cafeteria food -tempting. but didt take the breakfast, plenty of the local dish around-walking distance.
Overall-satisfied, definitely will choose this hotel again on my next trip.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

I first stayed in Kingwood Sibu in year 2007. At that time, there was only 1 wing.
Stayed there again in Oct 2013 whilst attending JCI Malaysia Annual Convention for 5 nights.
Now they have a new wing. As almost all the convention programs were held in the hotel, I got to experience various parts of the hotel.

Room in new wing: New furniture, modern design, very comfortable. Free wifi. Spacious room. Wish could stay in the room more but unfortunately had to go out attend the conference programs.

Breakfast: We had specially arranged breakfast at the building next to the river. About 5 choices, fruits, toast and jam. It was acceptable.

Lunch: Also held in same place as breakfast. About 6 choices and fruits. Definitely could not beat the conference in KK, but acceptable.

Dinners: We had the opening ceremony and closing ceremony in the hotel ballroom. Indeed a huge ballroom, and the food was ok. Putting the chips on the table was a great idea, guest have something to munch before dinner is served.

Location: right next to river, walking distance to the market. definitely a plus.

Overall a nice stay.

Room Tip: There are more lifts in the new tower, so if its busy conference time, recommended to stay in the ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcnurul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seremban, Malaysia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

I stayed on the 6th floor at the old wing from Dec 9th to 20th, 2013.
First, some of the good points: a large and spacious room with a pleasant view of the river.
Now for the reality:
1. Opened the wardrobe to put in my clothes and was greeted with a back-panel that was thick with dirt and a dirty shelf. Were never cleaned although reception was informed of it.
2. Opened the cabinet door to the mini bar and was welcomed by a gaping hole and rotting wood.
3. The AHU makes a rickety noise and the suction vents were filthy. Defect never rectified although reception was informed of it.
4. Shower gel: was often not replenished sufficiently.
5. Hot water in the bathroom: available between about 11.00am and 6.00pm (when it is least needed). After 8.00pm the water in the shower was only warm, and it was not possible to have a bath in the morning as the water in the shower was colder than the air out in the street.
6. Sheets: were never changed during the whole of my stay, despite my informing reception of this.
7. Wifi: although claimed to be available, is only available in the lobby, and that too, in the area directly opposite the reception desk

On numerous occasions the front desk was informed of all of the above, but their best response implied that all they could do was to inform maintenance and housekeeping but could not assure me of any action as those parties operated on their own.

Room Tip: If you must stay in the old wing, expect nothing more than a spacious room (a hallmark of most old h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CyrilSen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sibu hotels

Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
69 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Kingwood Hotel for two nights while attending a conference. Overall, it was a pleasant experience, though there were some issues.
First, the positives. The room was beautiful. We had a suite on an upper floor facing the river. Walking in, it was one of the nicest looking rooms we have ever stayed in (and we've stayed in a lot!) The rooms were clean, modern, spacious, and well maintained. The view out the window was breathtaking... it looked like a panorama from National Geographic. There was a large in-room safe, and free internet (no password, so it was probably not a very secure connection, but it worked.)
The main negative was the restaurant. Kingwood includes a free breakfast buffet, but it was one of those cases where you get what you pay for. The only meat on the buffet were little chicken sausages cut into chunks, then marinated in ketchup with some strange spices. I tried to eat it, but could not. They also had hard boiled eggs that were cut into slices and marinated in ketchup. (We didn't even try those!) We both got omelettes, which were so saturated with grease we could not eat them. We both left most of our breakfast uneaten, and went back to the room to eat some cheese and crackers!
The room was good enough that if the breakfast had been edible, I would gladly have given the Kingwood five stars.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room on an upper floor, facing the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RbrtH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
326 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 374 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

First time to Sibu, checked through the web, found Kingwood Hotel, As we are nature lover, chose the River view on high floor. Check-in at 12.20noon, Receptionist told us to wait till 2.00pm. During check-in , Receptionist told us would send breakfast vouchers to our room but they never did !! Room 1131 is spacious, clean and comfortable with free wifi connection. Went down to the Floor 2 ,the direction of hotel Business Centre.,which is printed on the key card to do some printing, but the staff there told me to go use it at the Lobby. Went down to the Lobby, Front counter staff told me their Business Centre is not good to use. They sent me up again to Floor 2.!! We asked for extra coffee/tea , Housekeeping told us we are only entitle to one serving in the room !!! We loved the River view, it was lovely ,tried to snap some pictures but the windows seem never been cleaned, dirty marks all over, not a great view for our camera!!!. The water cistern/toilet is leaking.The next morning , went down for breakfast, asked at the front desk for our breakfast vouchers, the lady at the desk did not seem too pleased to attend to us !! Breakast served not to our expectation, the juices are diluted , coffee are cold. Tables were not set up for guest use at all !!!
Check out was slow , cashier seem more concerned talking to her colleague instead of attending to the guest waiting infront. Certainly some room for improvement in guest and housekeeping services !!!! It is a nice hotel with great location to all nearby touristic spots ,eateries and shopping malls for tourists !!!

Room Tip: Choose the room facing river at the new wing on higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldGlutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

Nice and spacious room and toilet with reasonable price per night. Rajang River view and not so noisy. Keep it on Kingwoods. Will recommend for my friends. The only negative thing is the cooperate rate are higher than normal walk in. Ha ha ha.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Yu H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sibu
1.1 mi away
Paramount Hotel Sibu
Paramount Hotel Sibu
#9 of 11 in Sibu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Hotel
Premier Hotel
#6 of 11 in Sibu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tanahmas Hotel
Tanahmas Hotel
#1 of 11 in Sibu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
RH Hotel
RH Hotel
#7 of 11 in Sibu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
105.9 mi away
Promenade Hotel Bintulu
Promenade Hotel Bintulu
#1 of 16 in Bintulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
2.5 mi away
Salim Room
Salim Room
#3 of 10 in Sibu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingwood Hotel

Property: Kingwood Hotel
Address: Kingwood Hotel Lorong Lanang 4, Sibu 96000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Sibu
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Sibu
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingwood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Kingwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing