We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & food....rooms lacking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
L'hostellerie de l'Eveche
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alet les Bains
Reviewed 20 May 2012

This is a quintessential old French historic property that is very charming. The gardens and grounds with huge magnificent trees are wonderful. The service is outstanding, the staff speaks good english, the food excellent, especially the trout! And I tried rabbit for the first time because it smelled so good in the dining room and it was good, the sauce great! The medieval abbey is next door and it is really beautiful, my room had a view of it and that was lovely. It's on the river Aude and some rooms have views of that too. The whole town can be walked around in less than an hour with medieval and very old properties eveywhere. Its very quiet and charming and located close to many fine Cathar sites and ancient castles.

But....the rooms....fall short. My room was tiny which I dont mind, but really old fashioned and musty. The mattress/bed was terrible. Like plastic-y thin and covered with one thin sheet. The carpet threadbare, the towels like sandpaper, the bathroom small but clean. The large window in the bathroom faced the abbey and a large garden so that was nice (tho in the bathroom) but the window in the room was like a large porthole. Kinda charming, but you had to stand up to see out to the garden and river beyond. It felt like an old dormitory, rather than a nice hotel. The rates are reasonable enough, 55E, breakfast not included. The food was great but pricey.

Since I didnt stay there for the room, I woud recommend the place, just know what you are getting. Lovely staff and overall a very cozy and French place to stay. Be sure to see the Gallery of Angels shop around the corner. Note there is only one small and not well stocked grocery store with limited hours and I'm not sure if there even was another restaurant besides the one at this hotel. It is a tiny, but historic and charming town. Enjoyable but you may want to move on after 2 nights.

Room Tip: My room, 61, had the nice view of the abbey next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Savana_Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2011

The location, by the river and near the old abbey, was excellent. There was a very convenient restaurant there as well, and plenty of space to park the car. However, for the price of 65 euros a night for a double room - or 85 if you want to have breakfast - we stayed in much better accommodations in France. The hotel is in an old building,and there was a overpowering stale smell in the room that was difficult to get rid of - we had to spray deodorant all over the place to be able to sleep, because oppening all my lovely bags of lavander was not enough!!! Poor sound proving - we could hear the next door neighboor snoring as if he was in our bedroom.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Giozil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2010

We took a tour group to sw France, and Madame Yolande and her staff at L'Eveche were wonderful. We threw her several curves--last minute dinners, extended stays, etc.--and she handled all with efficiency and grace. Wasn't our first visit to L'Eveche, and it won't be our last.

Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
2  Thank Esclarmonde_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights using Alet les Bains as a base to explore the Cathar region. The hotel sits in extensive grounds with a river one side where I saw a kingfisher. The old Abbey ruins and the road form the other boundaries.

I believe the owner is the chef and we guessed his wife was "front of house". She worked incredibly hard and very long hours, and although self contained, was very pleasant. She appreciated our attempts to communicate in French but also spoke good English. Reception duties was one of her many jobs, and although she wasn't there when we arrived, we duly pressed a bell as instructed and she quickly appeared.

I think there are 2 buildings which house the bedrooms, but we only saw one 1 in use - the one near the Abbey. Our room was simply furnished, very clean and more than adequate. The bathroom seemed much more modern and was great - nice big shower! The only down-side regarding the bedroom were the 2 lumpy pillows with no extra ones in the wardrobe.

The restaurant opened at 7.30pm, but it was possible to get a drink from the bar via reception. There was a seating area in front of the recpetion and restaurant under the shade of a huge tree which was very pleasant.

We ate at the hotel restaurant every night as there didn't seem to be anywhere else close by within walking distance. The menu choice leant towards a lot of duck, which is fine by me as I love duck. I had that twice (leg and then breast) plus tried the steak, which was lovely. Trout was also offered but we weren't there long enough to try it. Personally, I like a few more vegetables with my food, but had a lovely goats cheese salad to start one night to compensate for the lack of greenery with the main course. A nice cheese board was also offered and twice I made it through to dessert both of which were lovely. The real highlight of the restaurant was the superb service - just the owners wife and a really pleasant and friendly waiter. They worked very fast and efficiently and made it look easy.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iberian_Lynx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2010

Beautiful setting with stunning views. Unfortunately the rooms let it down - small, barely furnished, and in need of re-decoration. En suite bathroom extremely small, comprising a sit up and beg bath with wall hung shower attachment. You need to be pretty agile to get in and out! Small wash basin and loo all in very old fashioned blue. These rooms are in desparate need of renovation. Breakfast was average. The grilled trout for lunch was excellent. Would not return to stay overnight.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeicesterWineMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2010

We didn't stay, this review is for the restaurant only (hence "average" marks for the hotel), where we had lunch mid-week. Lovely situation by the river and seemingly the only decent place to eat in Alet. Large shady terraced area with perfectly acceptable choice of menus, nothing exciting but eminently competent and served with good grace and efficiency. Although clearly a large operation at times, presumably corporate and functions, we were just one couple of two who had the terrace to ourselves. But usually you are pretty safe with a Logis restaurant and if we were in the area again would happily return

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterHarvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2009

We stayed here only one night during a road trip in Cathars Land and we got it late night. Room and bathrooms were very small and people not very friendly but large free parking, ancient building recently restored close to medioeval church remains. A little expansive rates.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bliss984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alet les Bains hotels
0.1 mi away
Val d'aleth
Val d'aleth
#3 of 3 in Alet les Bains
27 reviews
0.2 mi away
Les Marguerites
Les Marguerites
#1 of 3 in Alet les Bains
292 reviews
0.1 mi away
L'Escalette
L'Escalette
#2 of 3 in Alet les Bains
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'hostellerie de l'Eveche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'hostellerie de l'Eveche

Address: 11580 Alet les Bains, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Alet les Bains
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alet les Bains
Price Range: £71 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the area famous for its catharistic castles. 30 Km from Carcassonne. In the peaceful 7.5 acre park of a former bishop's palace turned into a comfortable hotel. Gastronomic and tourist menus, large rooms for banquets, seminars and business meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your L'hostellerie de l'Eveche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Hostellerie De l`Eveche Hotel Alet Les Bains
l Hostellerie De Eveche

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing