We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Les Marguerites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Les Marguerites
Certificate of Excellence
utopia
1 review
“superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

We stayed for a week and wished we could have stayed longer. As frequent visitors to the area we can recommend the locality in general and the accommodation in particular. Keith and Antoinette have excelled both in the standard of the rooms and their hospitality. We would wholeheartedly recommend anyone thinking of visiting the Aude valley to make les marguerites their base.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willymctell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    7
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
90
111
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

This totaly refurbished Chateaux is situated in a delightful area of Southwest France.
It is owned and run by an English couple who have clearly put their heart and soul into this superb 'little' hotel. It is close to the village centre ( lots of historic buildings) and a river nearby. I believe it is possible to swim in it. We visited in April when the weather was coolish. But the Chateaux grounds are shaded by mature trees ...i imagine in the summer shade could easily be found.
The couple clearly take a great deal of pride in producing their food and dinning arrangements.... which are situated alongside the kitchen area ......hospitality and quality of the home cooked meals cannot be faulted.( nor can the local wine)expect to share the meals and great conversation with your hosts.
My wife and I were truly impressed at this couples determination to create this dream home/hotel.
If you have ever watched 'Grand designs' on T/V then Antoinette and Kieth have been there and done it!.

Bedrooms are tastefully decorated and furnished.....and children will find a huge play area in the grounds. No en-site swimming pool was available when we visited but I believe that a 'municipal pool ' is within a short distance from the village. Car parking is within the Hotel grounds and only yards from the front door.
If exploring this part of France is your intention...then i doubt if you could do better .
It may be as well to ask about wheelchair access before booking...i am not too clear on this point...the groundfloor bedroom would be the best option.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mauricelam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chico, California
Level Contributor
91 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

We were only able to spend one night at Les Marguerites, but we wished we could have stayed longer. The rooms are beautifully decorated and very spacious. We had room #4, with plenty of closet space, very comfortable bed with beautiful bedding and the bathroom was extra spacious (we had extremely small bathrooms on the first two weeks of our trip.)
Antoinette fixed a delicious dinner of Beef Bourguignon, with plenty of wonderful wines. It was a very cold evening so we dined inside by the cozy wood stove. What a fun evening, so much fun we visited until midnight. The next morning we were served a plentiful breakfast. Antoinette and Keith made us feel extremely welcome and comfortable. They have put a lot of work and love into their beautiful home. We were able to meet their children who were delightful! I felt sad leaving Les Marguerites...it is magical and fun!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mauisun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

You might think that previous reviews are a tad exaggerated, they are not! Antoinette just works a magical miracle by providing extremely comfortable beds with the softest pillows in beautifully decorated rooms. S he is a wonderful cook and more than generous with the wine + delicious LImoux Blankette for apperitif . Part of her magical ability must be her choice of place (Alet les Bains) and house to provide her guests with such a wonderful time. She and Les Marguerites are something truely special. If these reviews mean that Les Maguerites is full next time we wish to go there I shall be delighted for Antoinette because she so much deserves total success but, never-the-less jolly cross because we do not want to stay anywhere else in that region!!

Room Tip: All rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2011

Train, eurostar, TGV, train and finally car, a day that began before sunrise and ended long after sunset this was our journey to Les Marguerites at Alet Les Bains. The ringing of Alet's church bells woke us the next morning, And what a surprise, we looked out of our windows to mountains having spent the previous day traveling through flat French countryside. There is so much to see in the area, lovely old towns and villages, from Alet with its abbey ruins and it's Roman history to the amazing city of Carcassonne to Rennes le Chateau creating the source material for Dan Brown's The Davinci Code. Les Marguerites is a beautiful house with attractive, shady grounds where Antoinette serves both breakfast and dinner during the summer. The evening meal is a family meal with guests and Antoinette and Keith's family dining together at a long table with conversation often going on late into the night. One warm, clear evening we walked out of the village after dinner into the darkness to look at the stars, a glorious sight now almost lost at home in our street lit towns. We loved every moment of our stay, an attractive confortable room with it's huge bathroom, delicious meals, the fun of meeting other guests and a charming family, but above all Antoinette's kindness and care. Nothing had prepared us for tis holiday of a lifetime.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

We have just spent 4 perfect days at Les Marguerites to celebrate my husband’s birthday. We had arranged to be collected from the airport as we didn’t want to drive and the owner Antoinette greeted us warmly at the airport and her charming hospitality continued throughout our stay.

Les Marguerites is a beautiful property and our room was stunning – with a super king size bed, lovely linen, a settee and two easy chairs, french windows onto a balcony overlooking the gorgeous garden. The bathroom was enormous and the house was spotless. Our room interconnected with a twin room + cot which would be ideal for a family, and there was play equipment in the garden to keep little ones amused.

Breakfast was served in the garden with cereals, yoghurts, cheese, a variety of breads, croissants, home made jams and eggs cooked however you wanted. What a great way to start your day.

We opted to have evening meals and what a good decision that was. Antoinette is a fabulous cook who surprised us every evening with 3 courses and wine aplenty! We ate indoors and in the garden with Antoinette and other guests at a beautifully laid table which made for a very convivial and interesting dining experience as we exchanged stories.

There are very good transport links for those not wishing to drive, with a bus and train service from the Alet les Bains which is regular and punctual. There are numerous places locally to visit such as Limoux. We got into the beautiful city of Carcassonne in just over half an hour and spent the day exploring the myriad of shops, restaurants, bars and also the medieval part of the city which is wonderful.

There is a fantastic market at Esperaza, about 20 mins away, which has an eclectic mix of stalls and people – fascinating. The locals are very friendly and helpful to those who French is limited such as us!

We had a fascinating day at Rennes le Chateau which is perched quite high up giving a breathtaking panoramic view of the area. You can visit the chapel, house and garden with an orangery and discover an intriguing story about one of it’s old inhabitants and a conspiracy theory – I won’t say any more as it may spoil your visit. There are some lovely little shops and places to eat here as well.

The Tour de France passed close by to the village this year and I can imagine the area would be good for keen cyclists as the roads are not too busy and are a mixture of flat and hilly and lots of villages dotted along the way – we may bring bikes with us next time!

If you are looking for a B & B in a gorgeous location, with beautiful accommodation, superb food, exceptional hosting and a relaxing feel, then Les Marguerites is the place. The only problem is ..................you may never want to leave!

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely, but Room 3 has a balcony overlooking garden and also benefits from an adjo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank midlandstraveller_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

After a tiring long-haul flight back from France, we are finally home. Looking back to the time in France, Les Marguerites was the highlight of our trip. My husband and i were warmly welcomed by Antoinette, treating us with drinks, showing us around. The house is with hundreds years but it was renovated and tastefully decorated. Our room No 5 is large, airy, bright, delight with a comfy double bed and an en-suite bathroom. This bathroom is spacious, almost as large as the room, comprising a bathtub and a walk-in shower. It seemed that all pressure and tiring were all gone while i was soaking my body in the bathtub.

Every morning Antoinette would prepare a wounderful continental breakfast with egg at all styles. Besides, she alwasy make something different to surprise us for our daily breakfast, sometimes the homemade jam, sometimes a special chees. You never know. The baquette offered in Les Marguerites breakfast was the most tasty, yummy one, crispy outside, soft insdie.Antoinette said she insisted buying the most fresh baquette in the early morning every day. After leaving Les Marguerites, i had been looking for the same delicious, i tried many bakeris in Paris but i failed. I think the reason why the baquette was so tasty is not only the quality of bread itself but also Antoinette's love to the guests she cherished. Forgot to mention that my husband thinks the plum jam and habricot jam by Antoinette were the best we have even tried in France.

Les Marguerites also provides dinner days a week. Antoinette is a good cook. We had one
fantastic dinner there with company of Antoinette, Antoinette's husband Keith and the other guests of a couple. The dinner went on quite late because all of us immersed in good food, wine and lovely talking.

Les Marguerites is located in an tranquil village, Alet les bains. We loved this old village, full of historical houses and stories. Wondering around is a happy thing. if you like outdoor activities, it also offer lots of it, swimming, canoing, rafting etc. Based on this village, you can make one day trip to the nearby carcassonne, to explore Pyrenee.

Antoinette is elegant, caring and Keith is humerous, knowing lots of history in that region. Their kids are all adorable. Once you are there, you are no more just a guest. They will treat you like you are one of their families. We received the most warmly hospitality. Hope we can go back soon.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lydia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alet les Bains
3.4 mi away
Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse
0.2 mi away
L'hostellerie de l'Eveche
L'hostellerie de l'Eveche
#1 of 1 in Alet les Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
9.1 mi away
La Chaumiere
La Chaumiere
#1 of 3 in Quillan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
L'Hostellerie de Rennes-les-Bains
L'Hostellerie de Rennes-les-Bain...
#1 of 1 in Rennes-les-Bains
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
13.9 mi away
Chateau de Palaja
Chateau de Palaja
#1 of 1 in Palaja
5.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
17.6 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Marguerites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Marguerites

Property: Les Marguerites
Address: 57 avenue Nicolas Pavillon, 11580 Alet les Bains, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Alet les Bains
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Alet les Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Languedoc, in the medieval village of Alet Les Bains, we offer you all year round luxury bed and breakfast accommodation with the choice of evening meals. Surrounded by tree lined mountains this idyllic rural setting is an ideal base to unwind and savour the many delights of France! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Les Marguerites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Marguerites Hotel Alet Les Bains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing