We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Break”
Review of Les Marguerites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Les Marguerites
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2010

My partner and I are spending our first night back in our little house in England and are seriously missing the luxury and atmosphere of Les Marguerites.

When looking for a relaxing week away from our busy lives, we thought the South of France was well beyond our reach at such short notice. After the short Ryanair hop from Liverpool to Carcassonne we were picked up from the airport by Keith and delivered to this grand maison, not knowing what to expect.

What we discovered was a warm (a beautiful wood burner in the kitchen sees to that) and welcoming family home with the luxury and comfort of an expensive boutique hotel. From the moment we set foot through the door we felt at home and were treated like honoured guests. Keith and Antoinette create a lovely mix whereby you can see them get on with family life with their wonderful children at the same time as giving you the space to enjoy the amazing house and the surrounding area. Antoinette is a goldmine of knowledge about the local area and how to get to places of interest.

From the first beef stew we had for lunch on arrival, the food at Les Marguerites was not only delicious but in plentiful supply, mainly due to Antoinette's committment to buying fresh ingredients daily and being a very good cook. I would recommend the Table d'hote to any guests and can testify that we chose to eat at the house rather than spend our money eating out. The wine is never in short supply and is always well matched to the menu.

The bedrooms are decorated to the highest standard with comfortable beds and wonderful locally sourced furniture and accessories. We both commented that it takes more than the mattress and duck-down duvet to give an amazing night's sleep but combined with window shutters and the peace, Les Marguerites creates an environment where sleep comes naturally and lingers beyond the alarm clock.

We visited the new and medieval cities of Carcassonne, Narbonne up the coast and the seaside port of Sete, all within easy reach by road. The rest of the time we were able to relax in the house, whether in the pleasant sitting room or chatting with the family in the homeley kitchen. I even got the opportunity to work off some energy chopping firewood for the burner.

We would both eagerly recommend a stay at Les Marguerites and to discuss what you are looking for with Keith and Antoinette - they will bend over backwards make your stay enjoyable. We are already looking forward to returning before the winter is out and wish we were still there.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartinF1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2010

we went to this lovely house twice this year , once just the two of us exploring the south, we were made very welcome, you would not know there were young children in the house they were so good , the next time we visited with our daughter , son-in-law , and their three year old son louis, our daughter was 7months pregnant , and is a vegetarian, no problem , the meals were all made to accomadate everyone of us happily , louis ate with the other children and had a fab time , the only complaint was we were not there long enough, we were made so welcome we will be going back , thankyou.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thedoubledees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Having been disappointed with my choice of hotel last time, Les Marguerites certainly makes up for it. The rooms are very spacious, tastefully decorated with just the right splash of colour. The en suite bathroom, complete with shower, was spotless, as large as my sitting room at home and the shower, with piping hot water and a sensible bar of soap provided, was what I can only describe as a deluge! The house is beautifully proportioned, cool when needed, quiet and big enough to lose yourself in. I was priviledged to join the hosts, Antoinette and Keith, for the first decent meal I have enjoyed in France for many a year. The quality and selection was stunning as was the company, conversation and generosity - it did mean a late trip up the grand staircase to bed, though. Breakfast topped it off with warm coissant, pain au raisin, fresh orange juice, coffee, fresh fruit etc. etc. I was sad to leave but know that there is that little oasis in Alet les Bains waiting for my next visit complete with new friends to catch up with. The house of dreams!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeicesterWineMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2010

What a beautiful guest house, created with an obvious love and passion for the area and local artefacts. The hosts, Kieth and Antoinette could not do enough for us, but also were not intrusive and left us to our own devices, giving us plenty of tips of the surrounding area. The first night we shared dinner with them (optional) and I felt like we were visiting old friends.
Delightful children - I am looking forward to returning with mine and hope they fall into the "well behaved "catagory.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary1126043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

Staying at Les Marguerites is a unique experience. Keith and Antoinette take justifiable pride in the elegant property which they have renovated imaginatively to turn into the most comfortable, elegant and welcoming B&B that you could ever wish to stay. Our three night stay was a pleasure from beginning to end: the spacious rooms have been lovingly restored and furnished, as has the guests' lounge; meals are taken in the large dining-room, or more often than not, in the garden. The warmth of the family makes it feel more like staying with friends than in a B&B, and food (both breakfast and evening meal) is excellent. Dinner in particular is an opportunity for the guests to sit back and relax, enjoy the good food and wine, without the slightest hint of stuffiness; Keith and Antoinette ensure that the conversation flows as freely as the wine. They have created a gem.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucanor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

French Life: is throwing open your shutters on a darkened room to find the sun peaking over the trees, smiling to yourself in the knowledge that today is going to be another lovely day. It is walking downstairs to a breakfast of perfectly ripe perfumed melon and delicately soft pastries all served in the garden. It is sitting in the garden contemplating where to explore today. It is enjoying a perfectly cooked meal around a friendly table whilst taking a glass or three of the local wine. At the end of the day it is climbing into crisp white cotton sheets and drifting off to sleep ready for the next day.

This is more than a dream at Les Marguerites it is a reality, Antoinette and Keith the hosts welcome you into their family from the moment you pull into the drive. A perfect destination for those with or without children, our little boy happily played and explored the garden in the company of the Fairhurst children.

We would definately return to Les Marguerites as it is a perfect all year round destination.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ngarbett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2010

We stayed at Les Marguerites for one night but wished we could have stayed longer, and definitely want to return to this beautiful house in its quaint and peaceful traditional French village. From the outside the house and gardens are beautiful - fairy-tale like - and inside the rooms are finished to an exceptionally high standard. The luxuriously comfy bed and brand new bathroom with power shower and free-standing bath were a real treat, and the room decor was really nice.
The best part about this stay, though, was the fantastic service and food. The Fairhurst family who live in a section of this huge property make it feel really welcoming, and meals are served in the garden with the family which adds to the friendliess of the experience. All of the food is sources locally and home-cooked, meaning you get a truly French (and delicious!) eating expereince. Breakfasts are equally good and the fresh baguettes, croissants and hom-made jam made getting out of the comfy beds a little easier!
Les Marguerites is definitely worth a visit - one of the nicest places we have stayed - but beware - you won't want to leave!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnaP82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alet les Bains
3.4 mi away
Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse
0.2 mi away
L'hostellerie de l'Eveche
L'hostellerie de l'Eveche
#1 of 1 in Alet les Bains
67 reviews
13.9 mi away
Chateau de Palaja
Chateau de Palaja
#1 of 1 in Palaja
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
La Chaumiere
La Chaumiere
#1 of 3 in Quillan
189 reviews
5.9 mi away
La Moneze Basse
La Moneze Basse
#1 of 13 in Limoux
176 reviews
15.9 mi away
Bed & Breakfast L'Orangerie
Bed & Breakfast L'Orangerie
#2 of 53 in Carcassonne
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Marguerites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Marguerites

Address: 57 avenue Nicolas Pavillon, 11580 Alet les Bains, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Alet les Bains
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Alet les Bains
Price Range: £113 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Languedoc, in the medieval village of Alet Les Bains, we offer you all year round luxury bed and breakfast accommodation with the choice of evening meals. Surrounded by tree lined mountains this idyllic rural setting is an ideal base to unwind and savour the many delights of France! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Les Marguerites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Marguerites Hotel Alet Les Bains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing