We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smaller site than it seems online..”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saint-Aubin-Sur-Mer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Camping de la Cote de Nacre
Reviewed 19 June 2013 via mobile

We holidayed with keycamp. There was a total of 3 staff members on-site working for keycamp. And although they were friendly enough, we couldn't help but feel they needed more help!! When we arrived there was noone around, it was just lucky for us that one of the 3 (off duty) seen us from the bar and made a call...
We were given a caravan that hadn't been used since last year, and the gas just didn't seem to work... (It was very dusty EVERYWHERE) we asked to be relocated which they did without fuss and we were very pleased. It's nice that the caravans have some enclosed garden areas so sunbathing ect can be a little more private.
We enjoyed a band, but only a few tracks as they were good instrumental wise.. But singing.. Well!..they killed it. Made for a very funny evening though. The kids enjoyed the bouncy castles. The playpark is fabulous... And although we can't comment on swimming in the pool. It did look great. If we had stayed longer and had more time to spend in the park we would have used it.
Which I shall go on to say that the park is situated in a lovely area. In a lovely little town. Make sure you visit the market and the beach nearby. I'm sure it only took about 20 minutes to drive to Bayeux. Which obviously has the tapestry museum. And Bayeux also has a British war cemetery.. Which is a much see.
When leaving the park there was again, no one around. We left our key with the Thomsons alfresco rep. And left.. Wishing we could have stayed longer. We had a ball!!!! :)

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OCMCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in April 2013 following a one night stay at La Vallee in Houlgate (also with keycamp) (We have also reviewed La Vallee, Houlgate). We stayed in Villanova 29, 2 bed & deck (same as at La Vallee). The strange thing is our caravan here was miles bigger than the one at La Vallee (further info below).

We had a pretty unfriendly welcome from our keycamp courier when we first arrived (completely the opposite of our welcome at La Vallee). We arrived at 4pm, they did not seem to have any record of our booking and we were told our caravan wouldn’t be ready for an hour around 5pm (check-in is from 3pm). When we queried this, the keycamp courier was quite unconcerned with a reaction like - that’s the way it is. He didn't appear bothered at all. If any keycamp management read this, he could perhaps be given some lessons in customer service from Luke at La Vallee.

We arrived back at the camp to be shown to our caravan by a much friendlier member of staff (I think his name is Dave). The caravan we had was fantastic, very spacious and warm. It actually felt more like a small house than a caravan, if was really wide in the living area, compared with the living area we had at La Vallee, which was very narrow. In the morning it wasn’t as cold as the caravan at La Vallee so it made our stay much more comfortable.
To be honest we spent no time using facilities at the camp as we only used it as a base to explore Normandy, so can’t comment much on this side of things unfortunately. If exploring the WW2 sites I would say Arromanche area would be a bit more central, but I am not sure if there any camps around this area. We had about a 1 hour drive to Utah beach and 45 mins or so to Omaha area, so would have preferred to be a bit closer to these.

On leaving the camp at 10am there were no key camp staff at their reception area. My girlfriend went to the main reception area of the camp and a member of staff there contacted a keycamp courier to say we were waiting to give the key in. We were waiting around 10 mins and decided to leave a note alongside the key when a keycamp courier walked over from the direction of the main reception area to take our key? Strange.

We really would recommend visiting Normandy for the WW2 sites it is a very humbling experience. We visited: Pegasus Bridge/museum, Ranville cemetery, Juno beaches, Merville Battery, Arromanche harbour & 360 cinema, Musee D’Omaha & beach, American cemetery, Pointe Du Hoc, Dead Mans Corner museum, Utah Beach museum and Saint Mere Eglise church area. We also visited Carentan and Honfleur.

My favourites were: Arromanche harbour/360 cinema, American cemetery, Pointe Du Hoc, Utah beach Museum, Dead Man’s corner museum and Honfleur.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Honestreviewer544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We came to this campsite in September 2011 with our friends and their 4 year old son. The accommodation was fantastic with our own little terrace and BBQ (although we did tend to use this with an umbrella above it...typically English I am on holiday so will BBQ mentality!) Sadly, alot of the services for our friends son were shutting down as it was nearly the end of the season, but we still had a brilliant time. We ate in the clubhouse once and used the take away a couple of times during the 2 weeks we were there. The swimming pool was brilliant (but freezing!) and they still had all the bouncy castles and the dry-ice skating available (which was interesting...) Great location for visit the D-Day landing museums and for some amazing restaurants by the sea. We will for certain being returning, especially to do more visits of the museums and the history surrounding the area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happymoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

As a family we were pleased with our holiday. We booked with Thompson so we were right by the teenagers hangout area, but as i had done my research before i brought with us some ear plugs which were very useful. The food was good, the mussels were fab and the baby pizzas were big enough for 2. The pools was great, and the entertainment was umm well French, they have weird humour. The local beach was not the best I've seen, it's defiantly worth going up to arrowmarche for beach play. If we had paid full price for this we would not have been that pleased but as we used our tesco deals for the holiday and the crossing is wasn't to bad.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank crazycat304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Slightly disappointed with the site after staying at a fabulous site further south the week before. This is a busy site and the pool area and bar were very crowded. If the weather is not great then the pool complex is not very good as the covered pool is quite small with no slides etc. Similarly, when the weather is bad, the bar / restaurant becomes the entertainment area and is very crowded. We stayed with Keycamp and although our caravan was a few years old it was perfectly acceptable. The restaurant and take away served good value meals and there are fresh baguettes and croissants available from the shop each morning. The site is a short walk from the pretty seaside town of St Aubin which is nice but the beach can be windy. We have 3 young children under the age of 10 and would say this site is probably geared towards slightly older children. There were very limited spaces available in the kids club for the younger children but on the plus side, there are 5 or 6 free different bouncy castles which were great for the younger kids. All in all, this is an average site and we won't be going back again. If the weather is poor which it can be in this part of France then the pool area isn't good enough, but if the weather is good then the outdoor pools and slides are great, albeit crowded.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rochnigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

To begin, we were slightly worried about arriving at this site due to keycamp advising that they haven't replaced their vans for 8 years???

However on arrival we were pleasantly surprised. They were lovely. Very clean. And easily the best location on site. (whilst alfresco had nice vans they were poorly located in noisy areas!)

This is our second summer holiday with keycamp. And we are even planning next years. The reps on site were always available and very helpful.

The area is fantastic for any historical d day landing. And st aubin sur mer is straight onto part of the juno beach - Canadian landing site.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wright1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We visited in June 2012 for a family holiday, booking with Keycamp. I was pleased with our caravan - and the layout inside. It was well-equipped and there was plenty of room inside. Our key camp couriers were friendly and helpful and dealt with any issues that arose. There was lots to do for the kids and the pool was lovely and rarely full despite it being half term. I found the outdoor pool quite warm although as it was virtually empty most of the time, maybe others wouldn't agree! If you visit with your own tent / caravan then you will be very pleased by the quality and cleanliness of the toilet and shower block - the best I've ever seen!

There is lots to do in the area as other reviewers have said. We visited during the anniversay of D-day so there was an additinal programme of events in place as well as commemmoration ceremonies going on.

I was surprised at the number of large groups of young people on site and the noise made at night by these groups. We were told the site has a policy of no noise after 11pm, however this was largely ignored by these groups and on one night loud noise and music went on until 5 or 6 am. Our courier approached the site manager about this which seemed to solve the issue.

Despite this I'd consider another visit - and would perhaps try booking with Yelloh as their accommodation looked better.

Room Tip: The Yelloh and Keycamp caravans seemed to be in the best location for peace and quiet and privacy. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mrb1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Aubin-Sur-Mer hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Le Saint Aubin
Hotel Restaurant Le Saint Aubin
#1 of 4 in Saint-Aubin-Sur-Mer
188 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Clos Normand
Le Clos Normand
#2 of 4 in Saint-Aubin-Sur-Mer
211 reviews
0 mi away
Le Chat Chez Qui j'Habite
Le Chat Chez Qui j'Habite
#1 of 3 in Saint-Aubin-Sur-Mer
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
De Normandie
De Normandie
#3 of 3 in Saint-Aubin-Sur-Mer
19 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Camping de la Cote de Nacre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping de la Cote de Nacre

Address: 17 rue du Major Gal James Moulton, 14750 Saint-Aubin-Sur-Mer, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Saint-Aubin-Sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Saint-Aubin-Sur-Mer
Price Range: £33 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Camping de la Cote de Nacre 5*
Number of rooms: 230
Also Known As:
Camping De La Cote De Nacre Hotel Saint-Aubin-Sur-Mer
Camping De La Cote De Nacre Saint-Aubin-Sur-Mer, Normandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing