We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Site”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saint-Aubin-Sur-Mer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Camping de la Cote de Nacre
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Have just returned from a 2 week stay in France. We spent the 1st week at this campsite which was excellent. Good size pitch close to the toilet/shower block which was modern and very clean. Pool + slide area was great for the kids which also had several table tennis tables. Nice bar/ restaurant/take away area although a bit pricey. Very close to town and beach and only a 20 min drive from Caen ferry terminal. Site was a great base to explore all the d-day beaches, museums etc. Pools were the best we had seen until we arrived at our next site Domaine des Ormes. Would definitely recommend and will hopefully return 1 day.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Debbie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed here as a family of 5 in July 2014. We opted for a two bedroom cottage with a covered decking area. The pitches vary in size and ours was unfortunately one of the small ones but luckily placed in a relatively quiet area. The only problem we encountered was with the barbecue that is provided. It was very difficult to light and keep alight as there is no under draught. I would recommend to bring your own. The pools are great and very much enjoyed by the children. The campsite is set in a beautiful very typically French village with a pretty sea front and promenade with a few restaurants. The walk down to the sea takes about 10 minutes at a leisurely stroll. There is lots to do and see in the area especially if you are interested in the second world war. We found a very nice beach too between Lion sur Mer and Hermanville sur Mer. The shop was well stocked except warning for Brits and Irish they only stock UHT milk but the fresh bread and croissants were fabulous and no more expensive than outside the campsite. Warning also to wi-fi users....The campsite offers a free wi-fi service around the reception area. All I can say is avoid trying between 6pm and 11pm, it is very popular and consequently very slow. A tip would be to visit the tourist office, they also have free wi-fi which is much faster.
Reading through this review it sounds quite negative but we actually had a wonderful time here. The campsite is clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful. I was also delighted that we had a kettle in the mobile home, another essential for Brits and Irish who enjoy a cup of tea and often lacking in French holiday rentals.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Myself and my husband have just spent 3 nights at this park, with our son, daughter-in-law and 6 year old grandson. Our caravan ( a Classic 3 bedroom) was lovely and the sun was on the decking all through the day, and we ate all of our meals outside. The pitch was very spacious, there was even room for our grandson to play tennis etc on the grass. We all had great fun in the swimming pools and our grandson loved the slides.

We did a big shop at the local supermarket before arriving at the camp, which worked out well as there is a very limited selection in the camp shop. One evening we walked down to the village and along the promenade by the sea, not too far to walk from the camp.

We had a takeaway from the camp site on the last evening, pizza, burgers etc. which was of excellent quality.

On the way back to the ferry at Cherburg we stopped at Caen and walked round the castle wall, and then went on to see the D-Day landing memorial at Utah Beach, which was excellent and very good value for the museum at 8 euros each, I could have stayed in there much longer if time had permitted.

All in all a great short break.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed here with my wife and two pre school children for the second of our two base France trip.

The park was easy enough to find and got a warm welcome from the yelloh village staff, their English was certainly a lot better than my French, which was helpful. Remember to have your credit card ready as they take down the details to use as deposit incase you break anything!

The cabin was immaculate and pitches were fairly private as their was hedging between each.

We booked the smallest cabin which was a bit cosy for us, but that's my fault for not really looking at the sizing in much detail when booking.

The pool area was very nice and well kept, the convertible indoor outdoor pool was actually pretty warm almost like a hot tub, which was nice.

They also had what looked like a brand new play park with bouncy castles, kids spent hours there.

We used the takeaway at the park which was reasonably priced as far as holiday parks go, compared with the places in town which looked quite pricey. The takeaway portions were also quite generous.

The town it's self had good french character, felt a thousand miles from the UK. It's well worth the scenic 15 minute drive to arromanches for the d day memorials and the nice cafe's and tourist shops. Or also a further 15 minutes away is port en bessin huppain which has a nice harbour with plenty cafe's and restaurants. Or drive 45 minutes in the opposite direction is deauville which has a gorgeous large sandy beach and nice marina.

All in all pleased with camping de la cote de nacre, it felt so much more upmarket than any haven I've been to in the uk, probably because there was no chavs and parents kept their kids under control.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
8  Thank stu666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for half term in 2014.

We were with euro camp and booked a classic lodge/chalet. We were incredibly impressed with the personal greeting and the staff at euro camp, they were fantastic.

The activities available for the kids were a plenty and all of the other families were really friendly towards each other, no matter where they came from.

Unfortunately my son had an accident in the pool whilst we were there, slicing his head open. The staff were quick and efficient, calling an ambulance very promptly to take him to caen hospital where we were treated within 5 minutes. (We were at this point considering moving to France purely for their health service!)

Brilliant fun and a great time.

Yes, the bar was expensive at around 9 euro for 2 drinks, but if you change that back into pounds, it's no more expensive really than a couple if drink in the UK (in the more expensive places of course) we were happy to pay it as the kids had so much fun.

We will be returning for another trip soon.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Lucy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for the last leg of a travelling holiday through France. When we arrived after a long day of driving we were told there was a mix up with how many of us there were and our caravan wasn't ready. They assured us the cleaners were getting one ready immediately and it would only be a 1 to 2 hour wait! And also we were being upgraded to a larger one. The caravan was eventually ready an hour and a half later, looking forward to seeing inside we made our way over. The caravan was smaller if anything! No upgrade and inconvenienced with no real apology. This site was just camping en mass. So many caravans/people it was very impersonal, loud and expensive. 2 drinks from the bar for just shy of 10 euro. We knew before we came that we prefer hotels but this experience has confirmed that camping isn't for us. If you like to shuffle around a dining table while cooking, or sleep on a mattress that hard that bricks would of been more comfortable then it will be great for you. All in all not impressed and definitely won't return to this or any other campsite in the future.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Kirsty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

First stay at this site and first stay with Eurocamp.

Having stayed with Al fresco in other French resorts we were equally impressed with euro camp.

The site was well set up and within walking distance to the town and sea front.

Prices at the onsite take away were very expensive. ..12 euros for burger and fries!!! (However tasty after a day travelling! )

The swimming pool was great for the kids as was the play ground and bouncy castles. (However felt sorry for the families whose caravans literally sat next to this busy play area.)

Great base for exploring the Normandy beaches!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank BLK82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Aubin-Sur-Mer
21.2 mi away
Cures Marines Trouville Hotel Thalasso & Spa
Cures Marines Trouville Hotel Th...
#2 of 15 in Trouville-sur-Mer
1,056 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Le Saint Aubin
Hotel Restaurant Le Saint Aubin
#1 of 4 in Saint-Aubin-Sur-Mer
191 reviews
0 mi away
Le Chat Chez Qui j'Habite
Le Chat Chez Qui j'Habite
#1 of 3 in Saint-Aubin-Sur-Mer
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
De Normandie
De Normandie
#3 of 3 in Saint-Aubin-Sur-Mer
19 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Poisson Dans Tous Ses Etats
Le Poisson Dans Tous Ses Etats
#2 of 2 in Saint-Aubin-Sur-Mer
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping de la Cote de Nacre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping de la Cote de Nacre

Address: 17 rue du Major Gal James Moulton, 14750 Saint-Aubin-Sur-Mer, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Saint-Aubin-Sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Saint-Aubin-Sur-Mer
Price Range: £34 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Camping de la Cote de Nacre 5*
Number of rooms: 230
Also Known As:
Camping De La Cote De Nacre Hotel Saint-Aubin-Sur-Mer
Camping De La Cote De Nacre Saint-Aubin-Sur-Mer, Normandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing