We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of all”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Finca Cortesin Hotel, Golf & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Casares
Certificate of Excellence
vienna
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Best of all”
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We stayed at the Finca Cortesin for a week in May. The place is just wonderful. Situated in the mountains with sea view it has been build in an exxtraordinary high quality manner. The best is the choice of the pools which are wonderful for swimmers with 50, 25 and 20 meters.Also the indoor pool is very large and in an extraordinary decoration.
The rooms have high ceilings and are very spacious junior suites. The decoration is beautiful and the beds are just great. Breakfast is served and very nice. We ate once at the gourmet place which was excellent and worth the price. The golf course is beautiful and well maintained with a very sympathique team, We took a lesson at the academy and had a vy good experience there as well.
It is not far to the beach whih has just opened but I would not recommend going there as it is noisy from the road behind and the coast is not so nice at all. Next to the beach there is a lovely fish restaurant called bahia beach, which we can fully recommend. We had there nearly every day a meal.
For us the hotel Finca Cortesin is one of the best places we have stayed at and we will o back for sure.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank al208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    37
    11
    6
    9
See reviews for
85
213
7
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

I don't know where to begin... our friends recommended Finca Cortesin as they have raved about it since their holiday last year. I didn't think a hotel could be this amazing, but I was wrong! From arrival the standard of service was impeccable as we received a warm welcome and were shown to our suite which was amazing, much bigger than I imagined, a bathroom to die for and a beautiful view. We dined at each of the restaurants throughout the week, it was great having a choice within the hotel and not have to travel elsewhere. We had lunch at El Jardin on our first day where my partner had the most delicious fish, cooked to perfection so I was informed. Breakfast is my thing and I was not disappointed. We were served individual portions of fresh fruit and yoghurt, perfect if I was trying to be good but followed by a basket of fresh croissants, cheeses and meats, of course I had to indulge. There was also a great option of hot dishes freshly made to order, again I tried these out too and could not complain! Schilo is the hotel gourmet restaurant and certainly lived up to its reputation. The food and ambience was perfect for a very special evening.

The spa was inviting and comfortable and I was treated to an indulgent full body massage. This combined with lounging by the pool everyday meant I was falling deeper and deeper into a relaxed state of mind. My partner put his skills to practice on the championship golf course and could not have been happier. We found the staff very nice and friendly, the barman was always able to recommend a tipple, while the concierge were very knowledgeable on the local area. It was the first time we had a holiday where the hotel was the focus and like a cocoon that we didn’t want to leave...ever! I would HIGHLY recommend for a relaxing break or for any golf enthusiasts to visit Finca Cortesin.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morte1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Arrival: We booked on the hotel's own website and had requested a sea-view. On arrival, we were told this request could not be met, but we were given an 'upgrade' to an executive room,. However, it was immediately above the hotel entrance, with no terrace. We were not offered a welcome drink, which having paid in the region of £3,000, seemed a bit mean. A poor first impression.

Dinner: Schilo is excellent although it is very expensive. There is no a la carte. Il Jardin was extremely poor: ordinary but expensive food and completely shambolic service. Don Giovanni's was nice, if over-priced. The best option is to eat outside the hotel on the road to Casares: venta Garcia or Hondo

Breakfast: Again, the food is nice, although we began to tire of the same thing every day after a week. However, the service was a shambles. e.g. we asked for "tea for two". Tea for one would arrive, then be taken away, then someone came with coffee for two, then after 10 minutes, tea for two finally arrived. Trivial perhaps, but very annoying.

Accommodation: We slept poorly due to a dripping sound from above the ceiling from about 01.00 every night. We brought this to reception's attention twice, but the issue was not resolved, and we felt that the issue was ignored and we were dealt with in an arrogant fashion.

Misleading claims: Since the hotel is in an isolated location, my wife was looking forward to some shopping. The brochure declares: "Every city has a shopping area where part of the attraction is lookng into the windowas as well as at other shoppers. At Finca Cortesin it is our shopping Galleria." We asked 3 separate members of staff where the shops were, to be met with blank looks or told there were no shops! It became clear that there are a dozen or so empty premises with nothing inside. Although the hotel is relatively new, this has to be addressed.


General feeling: We felt very disappointed with our week here. It felt like the hotel was trying to make as much money as possible from guests. E.g. every night we were pestered by reception, wondering if we were dining at the hotel. Also, in common with other reviewers, we felt the beach club was over-priced for what it was (no sea access). Why charge at all?

We also felt a slight tone of arrogance among the staff, and there was little real engagement with guests. As others have written, a rather 'stiff' feeling.

On the plus side, the adults-only pool is magnificent and the hotel manages not to feel to full, but this could not compensate for a very disappointing holiday.

If things are not improved, the hotel could end up as empty as the desolate half-built developements that surround it.

In the meantime, we would not recommend this to anyone.

Room Tip: Try to get a sea-view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank macleod1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FincaCortesin, Director General at Finca Cortesin Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 26 September 2011
Dear Mr. & Mrs. MacLeod,
Thank you for your comments. We are obviously concerned receiving negative feedback. We believe that you are right in some of the issues, while others, in our opinion, were not viewed from an objective perspective. Most importantly, if these issues were raised to our attention during your stay, I am sure that your opinion would be a rather positive one. However, as you have decided to express your opinions at this point in time, there is little we can do to change how you feel. We do apologize for not meeting your expectations. We will consider all of the points you mentioned and reassure you that our efforts to provide optimal service and quality remain our number one priority. With kind regards,
René Zimmer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

We booked a room at the Finca Cortesin for 2 nights at the last minute to end our holiday.

The rooms were extremely well appointed and exceptional, breakfast good, spa and adults pool wonderful BUT we found the service a little stiff. A few Daily Mail toting types at breakfast every morning provided some entertainment and are indicative of the clientele.

Being reminded of how to dress oneself in the hotel unnecessary and the dress code for the one restaurant in the hotel we wished to visit was archaic. As we were (politely) banned from said restaurant we were left with the choice of eating with a herd of children running around or outside on an unseasonally chilly night - we chose the latter and were a bit disappointed. It unfortunately left a bad taste in our mouths - especially given the nightly rates and we won't be returning as a result, but it is a beautiful place that many will really enjoy.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Douglebatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
200 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

For relaxation in calming and impeccable surroundings, this place is faultless. Everything, from the linen to the manicured gardens, is maintained to an excellent standard and the service and facilities are equally good. The gym is well-equipped and the spa is beautiful. Both outside pools (one for adults only which is especially quiet) are fantastic, with helpful staff to move beds and put up umbrellas. I can see that it wouldn't be an ideal place for families with young children but it's a perfect, tranquil environment for grown-ups to enjoy.

Room Tip: I think the executive suites have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MCE63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Finca in August. The room (suite) was probably the best appointed we have have come across in any European hotel. Everything was spotlessly clean and of top quality and taste. If I had to fault it would be the view from the room towards a tall hedge. The hotel grounds are beautiful as are the huge swimming pools. We ate in the outdoor restaurant and the food was absolutly delicious. The wine list is very extensive.
We found most of the staff helpful and attentive. The newly opened beach club is beautiful and well worth a visit. The only down side of this hotel is its surroundings. It is a very ugly area of Spain with no places of interest nearby. The economic crisis of recent years is sadly clearly visible with many unfinished apartments and holiday homes in the vicinity.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PSA88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Not a FAMILY hotel but a REHAB CENTER middle of nowhere! Unprofessional, service is bad, should take off 2 of their stars! waist of money! should learn how to speak to guests and stop giving rules on everything! got complained of my little baby crying of colic! Housekeeping had to wait 2 days to throw the dirty nappies!!!! no choice of breakfast! make you pay to go to the Beach club even if you are a guest! for sure not going back! An hour for room service 1 sandwich. Babies are not welcomed into the main pool! For the value of money you are putting, specially for villa and private pool suite, IT IS HORRIBLE

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank SGA25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FincaCortesin, Director General at Finca Cortesin Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 6 September 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. We are obviously concerned receiving such negative feedback, especially as we are used to welcome very good critics since we have opened our resort in Oct 2008. In any case we will take them positively as food for thought and try to avoid such notes by working hard on our services, professionalism, standards and strategies. We are sorry that this time we were not able to fulfill your expectations. With kind regards,

René Zimmer
Director General - Hotel Cortesin
Finca Cortesin Hotel, Golf & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Casares
2.3 mi away
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa
18.2 mi away
Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella
19.5 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 70 in Marbella
1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
#4 of 35 in Estepona
804 reviews
11.0 mi away
Villa Padierna Palace Hotel
12.4 mi away
Marriott's Playa Andaluza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Cortesin Hotel, Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Cortesin Hotel, Golf & Spa

Property: Finca Cortesin Hotel, Golf & Spa
Address: Carretera de Casares, s/n, 29690 Casares, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Casares
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Casares
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Finca Cortesin Hotel, Golf & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Spanish Costa del Sol between Marbella and Sotogrande, overlooking the warm Mediterranean there is a place where nature gently vanishes into the deep blue sea. A private community that offers members a personal sanctuary in an environment not found anywhere else. For those seeking an emotional connection to where they live this is arguably the last great property available by the Mediterranean. This impressive resort is located in one of the most peaceful and upcoming areas of the Mediterranean coast in the municipality of the picturesque village of Casares, just 1.500m from the beach and within easy access, by motorway, to the international airports of Málaga and Gibraltar. Set on a 215-hectare estate, 150 of which is designated green belt area, the development centres around 5 extensive areas: Hotel, Golf, Spa and Sports Club, Beach Club and Residential Area. Hotel Finca Cortesin is designed to enchant every one of the senses. The hotel's fresh but grand design is inspired by traditional Andalusian architecture and gives every area a big, bright and luxuriously spacious feel that is so rare in Europe. Built around two principle courtyards with palatial proportions, the hotel has 67 large, luminous and exquisitely designed suites with lofty 4m high ceilings ranging from 50 to 200m². With 23.000 m2 of manicured gardens, luxurious spa, 3 pools, tennis and paddle courts, impressive 6.000 m2 beach club, exquisite cuisine and an ambiance of tranquility, elegance and refinement, it is a destination that invites you to return. Come discover why Finca Cortesin has been named the 'Best National Resort' in the country by Conde Nast Traveller magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Finca Cortesin Hotel, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finca Cortesin Hotel, Golf Hotel Casares
Finca Cortesin Hotel, Golf And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing