We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Special day” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Finca Cortesin Hotel, Golf & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Finca Cortesin Hotel, Golf & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Casares
Certificate of Excellence
Algarve
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Special day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

My husband and I held an intimate wedding reception at Finca Cortesin for a small group of family and friends. I can only say it was fantastic! The hotel is possibly the most beautiful I have ever seen, anywhere in the world. Add to that the attentiveness of the staff and the wonderful treatment we received and you end up with a truly special and memorable day which we will always cherish.
On arriving back at the hotel, we began with a champagne reception in the outside lounge area, overlooking the lawn, along with the most delicious canapes. We then moved on to the Beach Club, where we enjoyed two paellas- one classic and the other lobster- both outstanding. We even received a surprise wedding cake, which looked beautiful and tasted exquisite!
The staff at the hotel, and in particular the GM, Rene and his assistant, Joanna, were incredibly helpful and efficient in assisting us with the arrangements. There was absolutely no stress or panic involved. They gave us exactly the kind of day we were hoping for- and much more.
Our guests are still reminiscing about the fantastic experience they had, and what a wonderful day it was. This was not our first time at Finca Cortesin (and it definitely won't be our last), but somehow they made us feel even more special than normal.
I'd like to say a special thank you for a truly perfect day!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    37
    9
    5
    9
See reviews for
82
206
7
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Level Contributor
103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012 via mobile

The hotel is good, ever so expensive as you are out of the way from normal society. Te food is class, the service is class, the experience is ultimate. The golf is one of the most difficult golf courses you'll ever play, yet a test you must endure to appreciate it in its full beauty!

Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Harry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

Immaculately designed and maintained hotel, with outstanding service and excellent food. We are particular about hotels and this is one of the very best we have stayed at. The golf is excellent, the pools beautiful and the spa also very good. Brilliant find.

Room Tip: We stayed in villa 3 which was beautiful and quite private, with abundant living space and a view ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spiraea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

Originally we had a reservation at the Marbella Club, our friend recommend that we stay at the Finca Cortesin instead. That was the BEST decision we made as it was truly exquisite. I really can't say enough about this property. As you drive up to the hotel and enter the courtyard filled with blooming flowers, you feel as if you left the rest of the world behind and entered a place of "tranquility." The attention to detail was beautiful, both on the inside and out. Renee, Joana and the rest of the staff were very attentive and friendly. The food was fresh and creative. We golfed at the world renowned course with spectacular views, relaxed at the beach club, walked the gardens, lounged by the (many) pools, and experienced the Spa. This place is truly a slice of paradise - as beautiful as it gets..

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

Having recently attended a wedding in Spain we wanted a bit of time to ourselves. We looked hard for a luxurious but quiet property in Andalucia - away from the hustle & bustle of Marbella but still easy to get to from Malaga airport. Having considered a number of other 5 star properties we picked this one as we felt the rooms & grounds looked excellent. We were not disappointed! From the moment we arrived we were treated as distinguished guests. We were lead from a very slick & personal check-in to the outside terrace for a drink & nibbles. From there we were escorted to our magnificent suite which was to be our haven for the four night stay. A complimentary bottle of Champage & various confectionary awaited us which was a nice touch & much appreciated.The suites are huge with an enormous bathroom & separate lounge areas. We had opted for a suite with a plunge pool which also had a huge terrace - we were lucky enough to have the end room giving us great privacy.
The common areas are lovely - the pool area is beautiful leading on to landscaped gardens awash with vibrant flowers. One morning started a little cloudy so we even had the opportunity to sample the indoor pool & spa. Again this was excellent - the spa area even contains an Ice cave - although the sauna/steam room are more to my taste. The hotel never felt at all crowded - many areas we were able to enjoy to ourselves - however our room was so nice we spent most of our time on our terrace.
The breakfasts were amongst the best we have ever had - to begin they serve you buffet style at your table - arranging a variety of sweet & savoury delights to start you off - then they cook you a selection from a hot menu. They were even able to meet my request for freshly squeezed mango juice - which was delicious. The breakast is served in the El Jardin restaurant which has a lovely terrace - we enjoyed it so much we ate here every night! The fresh fish dishes in particular are exceptional & there is a great wine list with a good selection of Spanish wines in particular showcasing national grape varieties. The pool-side restaurant also deserves a mention serving exceptional lunch time food - the beef carpaccio was amazing.
In summary we felt this property impossible to fault - the service was slick & friendly - the setting & grounds stunning - the food varied & tasty. I would have no hesitation in returning here in search of relaxation.

Room Tip: Definitely go for the plunge pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Technog0at
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Pedro de Alcantara, Spain
Level Contributor
83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

The Finca Cortesin Hotel is a very special, perfect piece of Paradise tucked away
in the Andalusian hills of Casares behind Estepona. If you think this cannot be improved upon, then drive down to the coast and take a look at the Finca Cortesin Beach Club.

This is better even than Hollywood. On a still day, looking out to sea past
the ancient watch tower, cerulean blue stretching to the horizon and a sandy
beach shore at the waters edge, I defy anyone to claim there is anywhere better
in the civilized world.

Parking is not great and one has to find a space on the central reservation of the small service road for the beachside apartments and try to hug of close to the palm trees to find a little shade when the summer sun is beating down. There is a small reception desk for guests who wish to use the pool and the sun loungers which lie adjacent to the Beach Club restaurant.
Tables and chairs are set out on a deck under the bamboo cane shaded roof and a soft breeze blows through from the sea, though beware this can turn into a sandblast on a very windy day.

The staff are attentive and efficient though a little mean in pouring "just a glass" of wine/champagne. All the food served is of the high quality one expects from the Finca Cortesin.
Their Paella and Fish Baked in Salt is superb and probably the best on the coast and all salads
are fresh and crisp. It really is worth the added calories to savour the Mango Sorbet.
Nothing at Finca Cortesin is cheap, but it is the nearest thing to divine. Hasten along at the
earliest opportunity.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scorpioLZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

This property exceeded all our expectations for a place to relax and gather strength for the remainder of a packed full 2 weeks in southern Spain. We stayed 2 nights to recover from jet-lag and get re-acquainted with our friends. I agree with the other reviews on all counts. Additionally, the seaside beach pool and restaurant are a lovely way to spend the day. A driver will take you and pick you up at the hotel (too far to walk -and the road has no pedestrian walkway). The bartender is the best we had in Spain, and could make an excellent Americano, if you prefer that to fino. The restaurant in the hotel is a great choice for your first night, but not the best value, and service is dis-organized. There is a decent restaurant on the beach, next to the beach club as an alternative.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ProfandPres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Casares
17.9 mi away
Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella
2.3 mi away
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa
19.5 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#4 of 70 in Marbella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
#4 of 36 in Estepona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
12.4 mi away
Marriott's Playa Andaluza
11.0 mi away
Villa Padierna Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Cortesin Hotel, Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Cortesin Hotel, Golf & Spa

Property: Finca Cortesin Hotel, Golf & Spa
Address: Carretera de Casares, s/n, 29690 Casares, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Casares
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Casares
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Finca Cortesin Hotel, Golf & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Spanish Costa del Sol between Marbella and Sotogrande, overlooking the warm Mediterranean there is a place where nature gently vanishes into the deep blue sea. A private community that offers members a personal sanctuary in an environment not found anywhere else. For those seeking an emotional connection to where they live this is arguably the last great property available by the Mediterranean. This impressive resort is located in one of the most peaceful and upcoming areas of the Mediterranean coast in the municipality of the picturesque village of Casares, just 1.500m from the beach and within easy access, by motorway, to the international airports of Málaga and Gibraltar. Set on a 215-hectare estate, 150 of which is designated green belt area, the development centres around 5 extensive areas: Hotel, Golf, Spa and Sports Club, Beach Club and Residential Area. Hotel Finca Cortesin is designed to enchant every one of the senses. The hotel's fresh but grand design is inspired by traditional Andalusian architecture and gives every area a big, bright and luxuriously spacious feel that is so rare in Europe. Built around two principle courtyards with palatial proportions, the hotel has 67 large, luminous and exquisitely designed suites with lofty 4m high ceilings ranging from 50 to 200m². With 23.000 m2 of manicured gardens, luxurious spa, 3 pools, tennis and paddle courts, impressive 6.000 m2 beach club, exquisite cuisine and an ambiance of tranquility, elegance and refinement, it is a destination that invites you to return. Come discover why Finca Cortesin has been named the 'Best National Resort' in the country by Conde Nast Traveller magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Finca Cortesin Hotel, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finca Cortesin Hotel, Golf Hotel Casares
Finca Cortesin Hotel, Golf And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing