We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Oasis in Southern Spain - truly excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Finca Cortesin Hotel, Golf & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Casares
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic Oasis in Southern Spain - truly excellent”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

This part of Andalucia may on average be rather too busy for most peoples' liking if in search of a truly luxurious retreat, but Finca Cortesin is well worth a visit. Superb location in the hills away from the madding crowd just one hour's drive in the Gibraltar direction from Malaga. The property built in 2008 has had vast amounts of money invested to create a wonderful Colonial style building with palm tree filled courtyards and wonderful tiled and mosaic floors. Restaurant choice is great and food deserving of the high praise given by critics. Staff are absolutely top notch. Attention to detail all 100%. Big swimming pools....there are three outdoors and one indoor including the one at their privately owned beach- club just 5 minutes away. So if you have struck a line through Costa Del Sol, have a second think and give this one a go for a 5 day break or longer.

Room Tip: There are bigger suites facing the sea which are the best choice and king size beds very comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    37
    11
    6
    9
See reviews for
85
213
7
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Just had 5 nights at Finca Cortesin. Okay okay I am a golfer but with the "golf package" the missus got 3 treatments and I got 3 rounds of the insane Finca Cortesin course. Volvo World Match Play speaks for itself.

We had a fantastic time, staff and management could not have been more helpful and friendly.

Design and execution of this place (its only 5 years old!!!?) is a credit to all those involved. it's like its been there for 500 years.

I'm lucky enough to have stayed at many of the worlds best hotels and resorts and this place is firmly in that super select group worldwide that just get it so right.

Perhaps a touch more causal dining on the pool menu but overall it's pretty hard (impossible) to fault.

Wonderful dining up the road in Casares also.

Please don't book in late September because we intend to go back then!

Room Tip: ours was the cheapest and was so opulent i cant see what we could've possibly missed out on!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alastair c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

First visit to the Finca, almost a week, late July. Four of us, two teenagers, in two junior suites.

What more can I add to what's been said already? Everything about the hotel was perfect. Stunning architecture, great detailing, luxurious in an understated and tasteful way, from the exterior to the public areas right down to every detail in the fabulous suites.

Staff--again, outstanding. Uber-helpful, efficient, professional, (and, errrr, at the risk of undermining this serious review, made us all wonder if the hotel only recruits its staff from a modelling agency?), with great little touches that show how much thought has gone into making us feel like special, pampered guests--which we were.

The pools are the best I've seen anywhere. The quiet, adults-only 50m pool is a spectacular oasis of tranquility (when you don't get the occasional obnoxious loudmouth next to you who insists on including you in his phone call--amazing how oblivious some people can be to others' comfort). Better than being in some faraway tropical island, it's that good!

We didn't want to leave... and we'll be back very soon.

Room Tip: Not a bad room in the hotel. Go blind and enjoy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RayKhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

It was my first time in Spain and I definitely want to go back. The hotel was beautiful, the ambience was great. the rooms were clean and very spacious, the bathrooms were beautiful. and the service was top class. It was extremely serene, I will definitely go back there.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TOSIN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sotogrande, Spain
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I spent the day at the beach club and had lunch in the beach club restaurant. Lunch was great, very tasty prawn salad fantastic class of cava. Relaxing around the pool is incredible, very relaxed and peaceful. Really the perfect way to spend a day relaxing, swimming and reading. Its very quite, with very few children running around. Staff as in all Finca Cortesin restaurants are incredible. There are beds/loungers around the salt water pool, or on a section with beach sand.

They have a free shuttle from the hotel, I was not staying at the hotel but my husband was playing golf, so its was easy to get back up to the golf club. I sat around the outside spa pool while I waited for him to finish.

If you have never been, its very expensive. 55 Euros for the lounger around the pool, 10 euros per glass of sangria. Salad was 20 euros and my cava was 19.50. So expect to spend a fortune for quite relaxing.

Room Tip: You can reserve your lounger around the pool, and you can call up and see how busy they are. The do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SerahO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flemington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2013

My husband and I visited Finca Cortesin for a destination birthday party for my husband's cousin's 50th birthday! This was a vacation I would never forget. The facilities were breath taking and the service was impeccable. We stayed in one of the Junior suites, but there was nothing Jr. about it. The rooms were large and well appointed. The was a balcony overlooking a garden filled with flowers in a beautiful array of colors. Upon our arrival in Spain my luggage did not arrive. The hotel staff provided us with detailed information about where to go for shopping, for replacement clothes and other items lost in the process. They contacted the airlines and followed up on the status of my luggage. They even guided us to some of the best restaurants in Southern Spain!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adadevoh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Staying in the hotel was a great experience! The rooms are very spacious and very well equipped!
The most outstanding experience I had in the hotel was the excellent service and the trustworthiness of the staff.
A truly great hotel with outstanding services!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miriam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Casares
2.3 mi away
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa
18.2 mi away
Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella
19.5 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 70 in Marbella
1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
#4 of 35 in Estepona
805 reviews
11.0 mi away
Villa Padierna Palace Hotel
12.4 mi away
Marriott's Playa Andaluza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Cortesin Hotel, Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Cortesin Hotel, Golf & Spa

Property: Finca Cortesin Hotel, Golf & Spa
Address: Carretera de Casares, s/n, 29690 Casares, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Casares
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Casares
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Finca Cortesin Hotel, Golf & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Spanish Costa del Sol between Marbella and Sotogrande, overlooking the warm Mediterranean there is a place where nature gently vanishes into the deep blue sea. A private community that offers members a personal sanctuary in an environment not found anywhere else. For those seeking an emotional connection to where they live this is arguably the last great property available by the Mediterranean. This impressive resort is located in one of the most peaceful and upcoming areas of the Mediterranean coast in the municipality of the picturesque village of Casares, just 1.500m from the beach and within easy access, by motorway, to the international airports of Málaga and Gibraltar. Set on a 215-hectare estate, 150 of which is designated green belt area, the development centres around 5 extensive areas: Hotel, Golf, Spa and Sports Club, Beach Club and Residential Area. Hotel Finca Cortesin is designed to enchant every one of the senses. The hotel's fresh but grand design is inspired by traditional Andalusian architecture and gives every area a big, bright and luxuriously spacious feel that is so rare in Europe. Built around two principle courtyards with palatial proportions, the hotel has 67 large, luminous and exquisitely designed suites with lofty 4m high ceilings ranging from 50 to 200m². With 23.000 m2 of manicured gardens, luxurious spa, 3 pools, tennis and paddle courts, impressive 6.000 m2 beach club, exquisite cuisine and an ambiance of tranquility, elegance and refinement, it is a destination that invites you to return. Come discover why Finca Cortesin has been named the 'Best National Resort' in the country by Conde Nast Traveller magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Finca Cortesin Hotel, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finca Cortesin Hotel, Golf Hotel Casares
Finca Cortesin Hotel, Golf And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing