We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over the top outstanding!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Finca Cortesin Hotel Golf & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Casares
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Finca Cortesin is superb!!! We have stayed at some of the best hotels in the world, many of which I've never reviewed on line because that was prior to my days of writing on Tripadvisor. However, of all the great hotels we've stayed in, Finca Cortesin is by far the most luxurious!

We were fortunate to stay in a pool suite and we highly recommend it. The pool was quite large for a plunge pool, though shallow (just a couple of feet deep) and a very mild temperature like bath water. Our room was absolutely stunning - a blend of traditional and modern decor with every possible amenity. The beds were incredibly comfortable; the bathrooms were luxurious with a large tub and separate shower, two sinks and plenty of closet space; the living room area was wonderful, as well.

The grounds and the gardens are beautifully landscaped and the three pools are divine. We spent most of our time lounging in a cabana at the adult-only pool which is olympic sized and very luxurious. The spa looked quite lovely and the indoor pool there is also large and luxurious. However, we never got around to spending time at the spa which is unusual for us. We were just so happy lounging at the adult pool or at our own plunge pool.

The beach club is very nice but you do have to take a shuttle (only 5 minutes) to get there and the beaches along the Costa del Sol really aren't that great. It is so terribly overbuilt that the beaches just aren't very pretty. While we enjoyed an afternoon at the beach club, we felt that the adult pool on the hotel property was much nicer so we spent most of our time there.

The food and service were outstanding at the hotel. We loved eating outside at El Jardin for breakfast each morning. In fact, the breakfasts were truly the best we've ever had anywhere! We loved El Jardin so much that we ate there several nights. The service is very refined and the waiters were charming and very polished. We ate at the Italian restaurant on the property one night and it is wonderful, as well. It is a bit more casual but still really great food. Also, El Jardin has a band that plays each night and it is such a wonderful addition. They aren't too loud - just right - and they have a huge repertoire which was really appealing to everyone.

A number of families were there with small children and, while we love kids, we aren't always thrilled to see them when we're trying to have a relaxing stay on vacation. However, the hotel is small in terms of numbers of rooms (maybe 65) but very spacious and spread out in terms of the architecture. As a result, we were never bothered by the noise at all. Also, perhaps because it is a very expensive hotel, most of the well-to-do families had very well-behaved and polite children. We were able to enjoy a romantic getaway while being amidst some very sophisticated families and their adorable kids.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are extremely luxurious but, if you can splurge and get a pool suite, it's cert...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melody5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FincaCortesin, Manager at Finca Cortesin Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for all the comments, we do strive to make all our guest´s stay memorable and we are glad we´ve achieved it, it is always nice to read a review like yours.

Looking forward to seeing you again!

Rene Zimmer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (473)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 473 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

The standard set within the Hotel ranks with some of the best 5 star Hotels in Europe. A smile makes a guest value their experience even higher and the Team at Finca Cortesin "smile a great deal". The reception Team are exceptional as are the staff in all other departments.
Prices for the restaurants are high however the Menu is well balanced and first class well presented food is faultlessly served. Be prepared for high cost cocktails yet the measures are large compared to the UK so one Cortesin cocktail may have double the alcohol of an English equivalent. A hire car is useful as although Taxis are always available their cost quickly mounts up as the nearest towns an Villages are too far away to walk to. In conclusion I would absolutely recommend to the discerning traveller a visit to Finca Cortesin

Room Tip: If possible, although at extra cost, I recommend a room with a balcony. The views are breath taking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FincaCortesin, Director General at Finca Cortesin Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments and appreciation for our team´s standards as well as our facilities.
We are glad to read that you will visit us again.

Looking forward for your next visit!

René Zimmer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This is our third day here. We travel a great deal and this is again one of the best hotels we have stayed in. The location is excellent, surrounded by a beautiful golf course and mountains. The gardens are lovely, with long paths of rose arches. It is an oasis of calm, with professional, friendly service and superb food. This is our second stay, we came 2 years ago and stayed in a villa, this time we have a suite, and a separate room for my adult son. All the rooms are very large, cool, elegant and beautifully furnished, with excellent housekeeping. The general areas have enormous character - the lobby areas are paved with stone from a monastery (check out the location numbers on the floor) and do wander and find the hidden gems, such as the beautiful North African style lounge. The front desk staff are unfailingly helpful, friendly and efficient. The pools are lovely, with child friendly one (not raucous), and an adults only massive pool surrounded by lounging cabanas and day beds. Even when the hotel is full, this is not apparent to guests, because of the spacious layout. The gym has everything my fitness craving son could want, and a recumbent bike for me. The spa is lovely with a warm inside pool and a tremendous staff. The Thai masseur, Jin, is fantastic, she is both very skilled and kind. The spa lemongrass tea is very special.
In terms of restaurants, breakfast on the terrace is lovely..the yoghurt foam with muesli is great, and service very good. Lunch by the pool is simple, and service a bit less focussed than elsewhere, but friendly, and the food is good. The main restaurant has a great menu and really well executed, flavoursome, well presented food, up to Michelin standards. Unexpected highlight last night was the dessert of goats cheese with quince and a lavender ice cream...spectacular. Save up and come here! You wont regret it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Spiraea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FincaCortesin, Director General at Finca Cortesin Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Guest,

It is always a pleasure to read all this nice comments from such a well travelled guest.
This certainly will helps us improve and follow the same path.

Looking forward to seeing you again!

René Zimmer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This hotel is simply faultless. No critism at all of anything. Have bored my friends to death raving about how great it all is and now I am doing it on here.
Rooms are huge and the view of the mountains is breathtaking. Pools are amazing and so quiet but not at all souless. Beach club is great and the shuttle service prompt and reliable. Only slight comment would be the addition of some subtle background music (not Ocean Club style I hasten to add) as you can hear a little traffic noise but not enough to cause a problem.
Restaurants are fabulous too with an excellent choice of dishes. Loved the Italian and the setting is great. Best part for me though was waiter service at breakfast and not the dreaded buffet. For once I actually ate with my husband and wasnt left on my own whilst on his numerous trips to the buffet!
We both agreed that staying at Finca Cortesin was on a par with some fabulous hotels we have been lucky enough to stay in in Asia. Best part absolutely no jet lag.
Yes, it is rather expensive but in a funny way you actually get value for money as it is completely worth every single penny.
If you are researching this hotel dont waste anymore of your time just book it you wont be disappointed. Enjoy I am very envious .......

Room Tip: We had Room 34 which had everything you could ask for including a sea view but the mountainview is m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 963Amanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FincaCortesin, Director General at Finca Cortesin Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for all your compliments and recommendations.
We are happy to inform you that we do agree with you, and next time you visit the hotel you will find some nice background music playing at the Beach Club.

Looking forward to welcoming you soon!

René Zimmer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed 5 nights at this stunning property and could not ask for a more perfect stay. The room was beautiful and very well appointed. We loved the special touches, such as a fresh bowl of fruit replenished daily and macaroons on the nightstand in the evening. The Pool 35 restaurant is ideal for lunch, with a nice selection to choose from. El Jardin was beautiful for breakfast and dinner. The staff was always very friendly and attentive. There are so many gorgeous rooms to sit and relax, we felt we were in a palace. We look forward to a longer stay next time, as this truly is a luxury experience.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FincaCortesin, Director General at Finca Cortesin Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for all the comments, we do strive to make all our guest´s stay memorable and we are glad we´ve achieved it.

Looking forward to seeing you again!

René Zimmer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Finca Cortesin is beautiful, relaxing and comfortable. The rooms are large and comfortable with beautiful views, the facilities are in excellent shape and the decor is spot on. The beach club and the two pools are so ideal that it's difficult to choose which one to hang out at during the day. Staff treated us as if we were old friends and seemed to genuinely care about our experience. We have traveled extensively and found Finca Cortesin to be among the finest resorts in the world.

Room Tip: Honestly all of the rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Frank J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FincaCortesin, Director General at Finca Cortesin Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We love to read your nice comments about our resort and specially about our staff which is the real soul of Finca Cortesin.

Looking forward to welcoming you soon!


René Zimmer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

4 Couples staying here for 5 nights, the men played golf while we enjoyed the pool area by the hotel and the beach pool restaurant area down by the sea. There is a courtesy bus which runs every 15 minutes to and from the hotel.
Lunch by the pool or at the beach bar area had a good menu and friendly service.
Rooms big spacious with lovely views, there are no bad rooms here.
Separate shower and bath, although no tea and coffee facilities in room, bottled water replaced every day.
You will need a car or take taxi's to go local restaurants as not really walking distance.
Breakfast is table service which is lovely, but can be hit and miss if it is busy.
Bar area relaxing for pre and after dinner drinks, with an excellent pianist.
All in all I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelsnowy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FincaCortesin, Director General at Finca Cortesin Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for all your comments and for recommending us.

We look forward to welcoming you soon!

René Zimmer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Casares
2.3 mi away
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa
11.0 mi away
Villa Padierna Palace Hotel
18.1 mi away
Puente Romano Marbella
Puente Romano Marbella
#8 of 70 in Marbella
1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 70 in Marbella
1,837 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
#5 of 34 in Estepona
922 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Rural Casares
Hotel Rural Casares
#2 of 2 in Casares
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Cortesin Hotel Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Cortesin Hotel Golf & Spa

Address: Carretera de Casares, s/n, 29690 Casares, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Casares
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Casares
Price Range: £369 - £1,159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Finca Cortesin Hotel Golf & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Spanish Costa del Sol between Marbella and Sotogrande, overlooking the warm Mediterranean there is a place where nature gently vanishes into the deep blue sea. A private community that offers members a personal sanctuary in an environment not found anywhere else. For those seeking an emotional connection to where they live this is arguably the last great property available by the Mediterranean. This impressive resort is located in one of the most peaceful and upcoming areas of the Mediterranean coast in the municipality of the picturesque village of Casares, just 1.500m from the beach and within easy access, by motorway, to the international airports of Málaga and Gibraltar. Set on a 215-hectare estate, 150 of which is designated green belt area, the development centres around 5 extensive areas: Hotel, Golf, Spa and Sports Club, Beach Club and Residential Area. Hotel Finca Cortesin is designed to enchant every one of the senses. The hotel's fresh but grand design is inspired by traditional Andalusian architecture and gives every area a big, bright and luxuriously spacious feel that is so rare in Europe. Built around two principle courtyards with palatial proportions, the hotel has 67 large, luminous and exquisitely designed suites with lofty 4m high ceilings ranging from 50 to 200m². With 23.000 m2 of manicured gardens, luxurious spa, 3 pools, tennis and paddle courts, impressive 6.000 m2 beach club, exquisite cuisine and an ambiance of tranquility, elegance and refinement, it is a destination that invites you to return. Come discover why Finca Cortesin has been named the 'Best National Resort' in the country by Conde Nast Traveller magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Finca Cortesin Hotel Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finca Cortesin Hotel, Golf Hotel Casares
Finca Cortesin Hotel, Golf And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing