We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best hotel we have ever stayed in!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Finca Cortesin Hotel, Golf & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Casares
Certificate of Excellence
trek15
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best hotel we have ever stayed in!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2010

This is the best hotel we have ever stayed in, from the friendly staff to the professional service and excellent food & beverage facilities.

The hotel is relatively new (2008 i think) but with the charm of an olde world hotel. The facilities are excellent and all well maintained. The golf course is an excellent test and truly prefect in presentation.

Some members of the team at the hotel deserve special praise Alex in Front Office, Alberto in the Blue Bar the best Gin & Tonics and Issac in the Le Gardin Restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trek15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    37
    9
    5
    9
See reviews for
85
207
7
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
zug
Level Contributor
49 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2010

We spent 4 nights at Cortesin, a pure luxury as far as comfort and service are concerned. Truly amazing staff and hotel! There are however 2 major drawbacks: the owners' family was staying in the hotel at the same time, with a considerable number of children (they seemed to be 10 to 12) who had the time of their lives as they were left on their own, running around, slamming doors, playing in the pool or in the fitness room, or driving the golf carts wildly. They were like in Disneyland, and even though we like children, this is definitely not sold as a family club. Eventhough the hotel's etiquette is suprisingly strict (no cell phones in public areas, no bermudas, etc), the only phones ringing belonged to the owners. After the children had slammed the door next to our room 3 times, I asked them to stop it and they slammed it 5 more times eventhough their parents were there and heard me ... That night one of the fathers started shouting on the phone just in front of our door and woke us up. This time we complained to the management. They were absolutely great but, understandabily, there is not much they can do unless offer us a discount to apologize for the inconvenience, saying we were not the only ones to complain.
The hotel is surrounded by jobsites (more or less stopped) which is a real pity but a good excuse to stay inside and enjoy this fabulous hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank experienced08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marbella, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2009

Unique on the costa del sol - spain
luxury resort, with nice SPA, Golf -Course and lovely Architecture!!
it'a amazing hotel

Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Seasm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montréal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2009

Clean, luxury, Excellent.
Great staff.
great meals and the spa is amazing.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trotandoelmundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
preston
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2009

I stumbled on the hotel via the internet looking for a change from our normal stay at Marbella Club.

from the moment of our arrival our every need was taken care of in a discreet manner.

all the staff were courteous and made every effort to make our stay enjoyable and meet our every request.


the hotel and golf course/club house is impecable, very comfortable and pitched at the right size. Large enough so you can lose yourself but small enough to remain personable.

maybe more preferable rates for the green fees would be an advantage because at 99 euro plus buggy made each round quite expensive and if two are playing, 2 or 3 rounds during a stay would become quite an item.

that said we shall certainly be returning.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2009

This is a lovely hotel and no expense appears to have been spared and it shows. The staff are excellent and cannot do enough for you. The staff to guest ratio was very high when we were there (September) and we had a very peaceful relaxing stay. There were only two disappointments - our room without a view and the food.

I booked a junior suite (not inexpensive) and it had absolutely no view. There was a patio outside the room surrounded by high hedges that made the room quite gloomy and you needed to put the lights on even during the middle of the day. The package I booked directly with the hotel did say that we would receive an upgrade on arrival. When we were shown the room and I mentioned how dark it was and the lack of view I was told that no upgrade was available. This later did seem rather strange when we realised how few guests were staying. Had I known about the total lack of view, I would have booked another room category.

The other disappointment was the food in the hotel. Breakfast was a fussy a la carte affair which to give you an idea included a course of a few grains of muesli in the bottom of a glass covered in a yoghurt foam. It was always the same every day with the only choice being the hot food from the kitchen. It would have been so nice to help yourself from a small cold buffet - the hot food could still have come from the kitchen.

We had the 9 course tasting menu in Schilos and the beef main course was superb. However the rest of it wasn’t to my taste consisting of a series of fushion type canapé dishes served one after the other. It was interesting however watching the show kitchen in action and Schilo conducting his team and bringing the food to the tables himself at times.

The El Jardin restaurant was rather bland in comparison. We had a very bland two course meal – fish of the day and a pudding for euros 132 – not a bland price! The recommended wine was euros 26 and that was fine.

The service in both restaurants was excellent.

The Italian restaurant Don Giovanni’s across from the hotel on the complex has friendly service but the food did not hit the spot and seemed amateur Italian. The best meals we had were at a local restaurant called Venta Garcia that I found on TripAdvisor before we went. Three courses and wine for two for euros 66 with coffee and a liqueur on the house. Turn right out of the gates and head towards the mountains and Casares for about 6 minutes and it is a whitewashed building on the left. The outside belies the interior and the food!

The golf was great fun and we thoroughly enjoyed the course. A bit more of a discount for hotel guests would have been appreciated though! It was euros 99 each plus a buggy (and a few lost balls!).

The spa area is very good and the snow cabin interesting!

The hotel opened about a year ago and you get the impression they are still finding their feet in some areas. However they seem very open to guest comments which is good to see. When they hold the World Match Play later this month they will be severely tested and it will interesting to see what sort of hotel emerges from that experience. Definitely a hotel to watch!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank standard_bearer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2009

Finca Cortesin exceeed all of our expectiations. We were looking for somewhere to go for a couple of nights after our wedding in Marbella and intended to go to The Marbella Club or Puente Romana but having read the reviews on Trip Advisor changed our minds. Instead we stumbled on Finca Cortesin and couldn't have been more pleased. From the moment we arrived until the moment we left there was not one single thing we would change.

We were welcomed into the hotel personally by "Eduardo" who checked us in, showed us around the property, and left us on the terrace to enjoy a "welcome drink". (This set the tone for the rest of our stay.) Follwoing this we were shown to our room-a junior street- which was stunning. a bedroom, bathroom, sitting room, tastefully decorated with beautiful linen, towels etc. The bed was probably one of the most comfortable we have slept in in any hotel in the world. A fruit basked was delivered to our room every morning!

The property is beautifully appointed overlooking the Ocean with beautiful gardens and 2 outdoor pools. The architecture of the property is also amazing.

The service is faultless in all departments and the choice of restaurants and food is excellent. The breakfast alone is an experience. Once you arrive you will not need or want to leave this resort as every desire is catered for.

We cannot rate this resort highly enough and cannot wait for our return trip- It is a must!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OllieD_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Casares
18.2 mi away
Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella
2.3 mi away
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa
19.5 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 71 in Marbella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
#4 of 36 in Estepona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
12.4 mi away
Marriott's Playa Andaluza
11.0 mi away
Villa Padierna Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Cortesin Hotel, Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Cortesin Hotel, Golf & Spa

Property: Finca Cortesin Hotel, Golf & Spa
Address: Carretera de Casares, s/n, 29690 Casares, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Casares
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Casares
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Finca Cortesin Hotel, Golf & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Spanish Costa del Sol between Marbella and Sotogrande, overlooking the warm Mediterranean there is a place where nature gently vanishes into the deep blue sea. A private community that offers members a personal sanctuary in an environment not found anywhere else. For those seeking an emotional connection to where they live this is arguably the last great property available by the Mediterranean. This impressive resort is located in one of the most peaceful and upcoming areas of the Mediterranean coast in the municipality of the picturesque village of Casares, just 1.500m from the beach and within easy access, by motorway, to the international airports of Málaga and Gibraltar. Set on a 215-hectare estate, 150 of which is designated green belt area, the development centres around 5 extensive areas: Hotel, Golf, Spa and Sports Club, Beach Club and Residential Area. Hotel Finca Cortesin is designed to enchant every one of the senses. The hotel's fresh but grand design is inspired by traditional Andalusian architecture and gives every area a big, bright and luxuriously spacious feel that is so rare in Europe. Built around two principle courtyards with palatial proportions, the hotel has 67 large, luminous and exquisitely designed suites with lofty 4m high ceilings ranging from 50 to 200m². With 23.000 m2 of manicured gardens, luxurious spa, 3 pools, tennis and paddle courts, impressive 6.000 m2 beach club, exquisite cuisine and an ambiance of tranquility, elegance and refinement, it is a destination that invites you to return. Come discover why Finca Cortesin has been named the 'Best National Resort' in the country by Conde Nast Traveller magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Finca Cortesin Hotel, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finca Cortesin Hotel, Golf Hotel Casares
Finca Cortesin Hotel, Golf And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing