We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I could not recommend this hotel highly enough”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Finca Cortesin Hotel, Golf & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Casares
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“I could not recommend this hotel highly enough”
Reviewed 5 November 2010

My wife and I recently spent 4 nights at Finca Cortesin to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Even before we got to the hotel the service and attention from the reservation office was a clear indication of what was to come. All enquiries were promptly and efficiently looked after - our room was only available for 3 nights and they offered us an upgrade for the last night at the same rate. 2 days later they contacted us to say they would hate to have us move room during our visit and kindly offered us the 4 nights upgrade at the original quote. From the minute you arrive the attention is instant but understated. The property is luxurious, gorgeous and very elegant. The staff are exceptional, especially, the concierge, the bar and restaurant staff. Our suite was fabulous. Breakfasts on the terrace are the best ever. We ate in the hotel 2 nights trying both restaurants - very different but both first class. The top menu at Schilo is not to be missed. Lounging around the pools is peaceful and relaxing. My wife enjoyed a few visits to the spa and I got a super golf lesson from the pro. The concierge team were unbelievable in their attention and detailed recommendations for trips and eating out. They organised reservations, taxis etc. all at short notice and always as if exceeding expectations was all they wanted to do. This is the kind of luxury property where you never even see the car park - it would spoil the view. If we never get to go back to Finca Cortesin - it will be a disaster.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidjenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    374
    37
    9
    5
    9
See reviews for
85
208
7
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2010

Just returned from a weekend at this hotel. The attention to detail in perfecting the
environment for guests is outstanding. A profusion of flowers at every corner, candles glowing at night, breakfasts with delicious freshly pureed fruit and much more. Everywhere was so clean and perfect. Try the spa for a relaxing candlit experience all the pools are immaculate but the beds are so large you may lose your partner in the luxurious cotton sheets! Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FORESTFLOWER6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2010

Just back from Finca Cortesin. It was AMAZING! The room were very spacious and the bathroom was excellent. I've been to several 5 stars resorts but Finca Cortesin is by far the best of the best. Also outstanding staff and the restaurant was great!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlohaGiselle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2010

We returned to Finca Cortesín for our wedding anniversary, after having such a good time last year (see Sept 2009 review). Once again, it was superb, the setting is truly spectacular, with amazing attention to detail. The rooms are lovely, the staff are all friendly and welcoming, great pools and spa area.
We ate in Schilo again, and the food was truly excellent. One note on the restaurant, more as a suggestion for the hotel management really. The service is not yet Michelin standard, and it needs to be to match the food. You need a sommelier that really knows his wine, you need serious, professional waiting staff, and the star will be yours. The food is there, the service is just a little short. However, still one of the best meals I've had in a pretty long time, the Kobe beef cube was out of this world, as was the dessert.
We'll be back next year for sure.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SwissTGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
164 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2010

Aiming at the top end of the market, the Finca is run very professionally and delivers high quality service. Our room was lovely – peaceful, spotlessly clean, nicely furnished, and well appointed – towels were replaced as soon as they were used, fresh fruit was delivered everyday, and we had lots of space in the room and in the private terrace outside.
The range of services was impressive – 3 pools (1 family, a 50m pool for adults, and an indoor salt water pool also for adults); a decent sized gym, a great spa where the thermal suite was top quality and almost private as it was used by so few people (sauna, Turkish bath, plunge pool, ice / snow cabin) and where staff brought mint tea as you lay on the poolside loungers to “recover”. There’s also golf, where you can practice shots even if your handicap isn’t good enough to play the course, and the usual bars and restaurants.
The breakfast was excellent quality – probably the best hotel breakfast we’ve ever experienced, and a change from the tired old out-sized buffet.
Service was generally good, with some great staff in the bar and spa and at the poolside. Once or twice though the local staff (as opposed to trained, professional waiting staff) did let the side down given the standards the Finca aspires to.
Make no mistake though – the place is expensive, and in our opinion some of the prices were over-hyped: we can’t help feeling people would spend more if the prices were slightly more realistic. One frustration was that the prices were almost kept “hidden”– at the pool you had to ask for the cocktail menu, and prices charged for drinks varied from location to location around the hotel.
Overall a good place to stay if you are looking for a top-of-the range resort hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avonside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludwigsburg, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2010

This hotel makes all traveller's wishes come true. It is worth every Euro you pay for. The service is as professionell and discreet as it can be. Rooms have every comfort and quietness, are more than perfectly cleaned and provided with some of the most comfortable beds we have ever experienced. Breakfast is of excellent quality and the two restaurants offer a good choice of high quality food to fair prices.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whitetiger76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 16 September 2010

Tucked away in a town called Casares (20 minutes from Marbella ) is The Jewel That Is Finca Cortesin .

They stayed I Have A Few times now and Every Time I go back it just Keeps getting better.

The setting is perfect , They Have two huge outdoor pools one child friendly and the Other just for adults . Their spa is amazing and They Even Have A SNOW (yes snow ) room .

The staff are very very professional and very polite Always. They Also Have the added benefit of Having a Michelin standard restaurant Shilo.

If you're looking for a perfect example of what a 5 Star hotel should be, this is it !

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Casares
18.2 mi away
Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella
2.3 mi away
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa
19.5 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 70 in Marbella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
#4 of 36 in Estepona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
12.4 mi away
Marriott's Playa Andaluza
11.0 mi away
Villa Padierna Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Cortesin Hotel, Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Cortesin Hotel, Golf & Spa

Property: Finca Cortesin Hotel, Golf & Spa
Address: Carretera de Casares, s/n, 29690 Casares, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Casares
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Casares
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Finca Cortesin Hotel, Golf & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Spanish Costa del Sol between Marbella and Sotogrande, overlooking the warm Mediterranean there is a place where nature gently vanishes into the deep blue sea. A private community that offers members a personal sanctuary in an environment not found anywhere else. For those seeking an emotional connection to where they live this is arguably the last great property available by the Mediterranean. This impressive resort is located in one of the most peaceful and upcoming areas of the Mediterranean coast in the municipality of the picturesque village of Casares, just 1.500m from the beach and within easy access, by motorway, to the international airports of Málaga and Gibraltar. Set on a 215-hectare estate, 150 of which is designated green belt area, the development centres around 5 extensive areas: Hotel, Golf, Spa and Sports Club, Beach Club and Residential Area. Hotel Finca Cortesin is designed to enchant every one of the senses. The hotel's fresh but grand design is inspired by traditional Andalusian architecture and gives every area a big, bright and luxuriously spacious feel that is so rare in Europe. Built around two principle courtyards with palatial proportions, the hotel has 67 large, luminous and exquisitely designed suites with lofty 4m high ceilings ranging from 50 to 200m². With 23.000 m2 of manicured gardens, luxurious spa, 3 pools, tennis and paddle courts, impressive 6.000 m2 beach club, exquisite cuisine and an ambiance of tranquility, elegance and refinement, it is a destination that invites you to return. Come discover why Finca Cortesin has been named the 'Best National Resort' in the country by Conde Nast Traveller magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Finca Cortesin Hotel, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finca Cortesin Hotel, Golf Hotel Casares
Finca Cortesin Hotel, Golf And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing