We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel we have ever stayed in - a hidden gem that does not suffer overcrowding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Finca Cortesin Hotel Golf & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Casares
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The best hotel we have ever stayed in - a hidden gem that does not suffer overcrowding”
Reviewed 5 January 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Finca Cortesin in august for the first leg of our honeymoon and we were truly amazed by the overall experience. From the outset, the experience was fantastic. Having arrived late from London, the receptionist at checkin was efficient and courteous. This set an immediate positive tone! Throughout the duration of the stay, the hotel staff were excellent in all areas and were always close by without being intrusive.

Our suite surpassed the description and photos used on the web. The room was enormous with excellent bathroom facilities and amazing mountain views.

The leisure facilities in the hotel also surpassed expectations with 3 pools and numerous spa and gym facilities. As neither of us are golfers we made extensive use of these facilities. It is worth noting that the hotel has only 67 rooms and hence the facilities were never over crowded.

Finally, the hotel has a number of restaurants which serve different types of food at different times if the day. The breakfast is an experience and we sampled all restaurants during the visit with the Italian restaurant, don giovannis, ranking as our favourite.

In summary, I have stayed at numerous 5 star locations globally and this is best hotel I have stayed at so far. I recently recommended this hotel to a colleague in my investment bank and he was also amazed with the experience.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    39
    11
    6
    9
See reviews for
87
218
7
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2011

We stayed in Finca Cortesin for 5 days. Everything, from breakfast to the spa, the gardens or the room was just fabulous. The service was one of the best we have experienced in a long time, in a relax atmosphere where everybody was extremely polite and efficient. The indoor swimming pool was perfect for this time of the year, with a large area to relax while enjoying the views from the huge windows.
The hotel decoration is just outstanding. Every detail has been taken care of with great taste and offering absolute comfort to its guests.
We hired a car to visit places nearby and the hotel provided a timely and speedy valet parking service.
We will definitely go back. It was an experience to be repeated.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traaveleer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herbeys
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2010

Our stay was delightful at Finca Cortesin, the service is excellent but on top of it a family and casual spirit is in there which makes you feel at home. we enjoyed the food very much, and the whole services and kidness of the staff.
This is definetly a place I would like to recommend for any type of vacation active (golf & spa), family and culture.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HerbeysSabine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kortrijk, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2010

We stayed here with our kid in May 2010. On arrival, we were upgraded to an Executive Suite, which offered an enormous bathroom and huge terrace with distant sea views. All was immaculately clean and brand new.

Hotel grounds were equally impressive, with beautiful views and so much space. Each afternoon, I was the only one swimming in the olympic sized pool (maybe because the water was freezing cold) which felt like royalty. We did not feel that this hotel was particularly child-friendly and some pools, restaurants and bars are children-not-allowed.

Breakfast was served à la carte and al fresco. We had dinner at Schilo's twice, and were nothing short of impressed: contemporary, elegant 'fusion' cooking with premium ingredients such as slow cooked Wagyu beef, Turbot in miso or wild strawberries with 'violet snow'. Food in the El Jardin restaurant was adequate.

We would definitely return, but probably without children.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripcat900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2010

We spent 7 nights at the Finca Cortesin in August. We read about it in Conde Nast and then our travel agent said she had just visited and it was wonderful - we have to agree.

We stayed in the basic room category, but this was ample in size, beautifully decorated, private and luxurious. Fresh fruit, water and flowers in our room everyday and set within a peaceful courtyard. Our welcome was also very good - car to collect us at the airport - and a welcome drink and tapas on arrival - very welcome after an early morning flight from London.

Although the hotel was apparently at capacity it never felt busy or crowded, it had just the right atmosphere, right amount of seating, enough cabanas by the pool, enough waiters at breakfast, etc.

We just wanted to relax by the pool and the adults only pool was perfect for this. It was a picture perfect setting, perfect for lounging, relaxing, reading a book and catching some rays.

Of the restaurants Schilo was simply the best. We ate there three times and sampled the fusion cooking of the head chef - whom was always on hand, around the hotel and in the kitchen. He was extremely friendly and clearly a genius in the kitchen. Cannot recommend his restaurant more highly.

Of the other restaurants we had very rushed and average food at the Italian restaurant (our only real gripe), breakfasts were plentiful, delicious and served by staff always willing to cater to your needs, and the food at the El Jardin was also good. We ate only once at the pool bar, near the family swimming pool, and in the club house. The food was good but choice a little limited (menus very similar) - we would suggest that other options for lunch would be a good improvement - just to give more choice. We did find the food very expensive - five star prices not helped by the £ to € exchange rate.

The spa was beautiful - snow cave a must to see - and all beautifully maintained. The treatment was not the best I have ever received - but this is down to personal taste rather than judgement on the skill of the therapist. It was a relaxing massage.

We didn't play golf but the setting seemed wonderful for a round if you do. We were going to spend an afternoon at the driving range - but in the end were happy enough just being by the swimming pool.

We travelled as a couple looking for peace and quiet to unwind after a busy year - and it was perfect for that, even though the hotel caters for families with Children. The two pools really help with this as they are so far apart no one is upset by the noise of children playing in their own area.

All in all we would definatley recommend this hotel - although make sure the chaps have a couple of pairs of vilebrequins to wear by the pool. We didn't see a guy (including my husband) without them!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyArdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2010

f you like tranquillity and golf in the deep south of Spain's Costa del Sol this is the place to go. The hotel is located in a pretty remote area near Malaga. It's about a one hour drive from the airport. It's not our favorite area of Spain but the climate is just fantastic and the rates are excellent.
Finca Corte Sin covers a huge area with less then 70 rooms. It's a prestige object built by the owner itself which is a Spanish construction company.
We're not into golf but the courses looked very good to us.There's a very large pool where kids are not allowed and another one for families. We preferred the first which was very pleasant.
Other then a very good breakfast we thought the restaurant were a little disappointing and not worth the price. Instead we went to Vente Garcia, a small place just 3 miles further down the road where Jesus serves amazing food for very low prices.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamSteveHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2010

We have stayed here before, and obviously liked it because we went back! We discovered something new this time you should hear about though - we arranged with the Nicklaus Academy golf to get the kids into a 3 day golf clinic. In the end it was quite reasonable, the kids enjoyed themselves, and their golf has really improved. They have great teachers and a fantastic facility. They even went out and played some holes on the course. It was great for us to be able to relax while they did this.
The restaurant is still superb, had a fantastic Schilo dinner too.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jim j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Casares
2.3 mi away
Gran Hotel Elba Estepona & Thalasso Spa
18.1 mi away
Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella
19.5 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 70 in Marbella
1,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
Hotel Fuerte Estepona
#4 of 35 in Estepona
831 reviews
11.0 mi away
Villa Padierna Palace Hotel
12.4 mi away
Marriott's Playa Andaluza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Cortesin Hotel Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Cortesin Hotel Golf & Spa

Property: Finca Cortesin Hotel Golf & Spa
Address: Carretera de Casares, s/n, 29690 Casares, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Casares
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Casares
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Finca Cortesin Hotel Golf & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Spanish Costa del Sol between Marbella and Sotogrande, overlooking the warm Mediterranean there is a place where nature gently vanishes into the deep blue sea. A private community that offers members a personal sanctuary in an environment not found anywhere else. For those seeking an emotional connection to where they live this is arguably the last great property available by the Mediterranean. This impressive resort is located in one of the most peaceful and upcoming areas of the Mediterranean coast in the municipality of the picturesque village of Casares, just 1.500m from the beach and within easy access, by motorway, to the international airports of Málaga and Gibraltar. Set on a 215-hectare estate, 150 of which is designated green belt area, the development centres around 5 extensive areas: Hotel, Golf, Spa and Sports Club, Beach Club and Residential Area. Hotel Finca Cortesin is designed to enchant every one of the senses. The hotel's fresh but grand design is inspired by traditional Andalusian architecture and gives every area a big, bright and luxuriously spacious feel that is so rare in Europe. Built around two principle courtyards with palatial proportions, the hotel has 67 large, luminous and exquisitely designed suites with lofty 4m high ceilings ranging from 50 to 200m². With 23.000 m2 of manicured gardens, luxurious spa, 3 pools, tennis and paddle courts, impressive 6.000 m2 beach club, exquisite cuisine and an ambiance of tranquility, elegance and refinement, it is a destination that invites you to return. Come discover why Finca Cortesin has been named the 'Best National Resort' in the country by Conde Nast Traveller magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Finca Cortesin Hotel Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finca Cortesin Hotel, Golf Hotel Casares
Finca Cortesin Hotel, Golf And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing