We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hermitage De Casares
Ranked #3 of 3 Casares B&B and Inns
Estepona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Avoid”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The restaurant was a big let down after driving up a very poor road we were served very warm white wine in the middle of summer.Lost a filling on the rabbit stew which was full of lead shot,when pointed out to staff they just shrugged it off and said you expect this in fresh rabbit stew and should take more care.Obviously we never went back!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    16
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
13
32
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

The road up to the B&B is twisty but once you have done it a couple of times in the daylight it isn't too bad. As the previous reviewer has said the garden rooms lack natural light. They also have no views of the sea/hills. However the bar, its terrace and the grounds are lovely and the terrace does have a view out to the sea. Do not book if you have issues with steps or cannot manage your luggage easily down gradients/steps as the property is situated on multi levels.
The owners speak no English, their second language is German but they are very helpful by getting a friend to translate via mobile if there is an issue. The restaurant was not open on the evening we stayed( a problem with the kitchen) but they provided an excellent recommendation for the Venta Victoria which is about 2km away.
Negatives were that the bed linen whilst clean was still slightly damp so the beds in both of the rooms we booked needed to be aired before retiring for the night, and the breakfast choice was poor. It consists of one half cup of tea or coffee (no more), fruit juice , a roll and croissant with jams ( both fresh and warm) , sliced tomato and slices of cheese/meat. If this suits you then you will be OK but 2 of our party did not eat wheat so the choice was very limited. There was no fresh fruit or yoghurt which is unusual given our stays in other places around Ronda and Granada.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueB77_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
89 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We stayed here for 3 days whilst reviewing the area for a possible house purchase. The garden room was pleasant but lacking in light unless you kept the French door curtains open which meant you could be seen by other residents. The wifi was a good speed and easy to connect but does not work in the garden rooms facing away from the pool. What surprised us is that they only clean your room every other day so coming back from a tiring day to find wet towels and an unmade bed was very disappointing. The outside lighting at night time is bad, we both missed the last step down from the terrace to the pool enroute to our room so ended up suffering injuries. the uneven surfaces and steps make it unsuitable for those with walking disabilities. The windy unmade road becomes a real pain to negotiate especially at night and is not for the cautious or inexperienced driver. The breakfast was pleasant with croissants, bread rolls, ham,cheese,tomato, fresh fruit and yogurts. We didn't try the dinner menu as the smell of deep fat frying permeating through the dining room was off putting. The hotel has pleasant seating in the lobby and a lovely chill out terrace overlooking the pool area. There are good restaurants along the road leading into sabinillas. The staff were friendly and eager to please. A pool is a bonus in hotels in this area. For the price paid I would recommend this hotel but bring a torch, drive a 4x4, and remember to make your own bed!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steven b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fuengirola, Spain
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stopped at the Hermitage for 2 nights only, having booked the Junior Suite for our brief honeymoon as our time was limited. We like others thought we had somehow taken the wrong turn off as the road up to the hotel is single track. However, it was well worth the twisting and turning.
Wow !! A truly "hidden gem". The Junior Suite who´s terrace leads out onto the lovely pool was just perfect, we just loved the Jacuzzi bath.

I have stayed in many of the top hotels in the world and can honestly state the service and friendliness of the staff at the Hermitage are the best I've experienced. The Restaurant is very reasonably priced and the food excellent.

During our stay we asked to view the Hermitage Suite, the hotels piece de resistance and were very impressed with same, so much so we have booked it for 2 nights in late August.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in August having found the place last summer when we stayed for one night. A very peaceful location with beautiful scenery all around, you feel you are miles from anywhere. To get to the hotel you have to drive up a single track road which does have the odd pot-hole along the way, it is worth the effort when you arrive the staff are very helpful we had a very nice bedroom with balcony, very clean. The breakfasts can get a bit boring but we ate in the evening a couple of times and the food was very good the views from the restaurant are stunning. The lunchtime menu del dia was said to be good. A nice pool which was kept very clean. You could use the hotel as a base to visit Casares only 5 mins away or you can get to the coast in 15mins a bit further but easily done is Ronda or Gibraltar.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Very quiet nice and peaceful, small but very nice pool, nice food, excellent service reasonable priced. will go there again.

Room Tip: Rooms are quite nice, make sure you know how to get there, if you go towards Casares from the south...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnBullGibraltar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hull
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We drive upto Casares and drove here with parents for the menu of the day. Having been last year were the food had been great we hoped it would be as good. We were not disappointed! The menu of the day was 14 euros for 3 courses. Very generous portions that after 2 courses husband and dad both didn't want dessert!! The food was amazing and we had no complaints at all. The view from the terraced restaurant was amazing so much that we could see Gibralter and the glass curtains sheltered the cooler afternoon. 2 visits and will 100% go back on our next visit and recommend to anyone coming to the area. The only very smal downside is the little road up but even my mum who doesn't do those roads overlooked that as the place was so amazing! X

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katieandmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Casares
3.8 mi away
Hotel Rural Casares
Hotel Rural Casares
#2 of 2 in Casares
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
3.2 mi away
H10 Estepona Palace
H10 Estepona Palace
#9 of 36 in Estepona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
0.4 mi away
Finca Cortesin Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Andalucia Rural Rental
Andalucia Rural Rental
#2 of 9 in Casares
5.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
1.6 mi away
Casares del Mar Luxury Apartments
0.9 mi away
Casares Del Sol
Casares Del Sol
#3 of 9 in Casares
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermitage De Casares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermitage De Casares

Property: Hermitage De Casares
Address: Lugar Celima s/n | Carretera de Casares MA-8300, Km 10, 29690 Casares, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Casares
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Casares
Hotel Class:3 star — Hermitage De Casares 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Hermitage De Casares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermitage De Casares Hotel Casares

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing