We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Stay”

Review of DDG Retreat

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
244 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Tented camp -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Casares, Costa del Sol, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 244 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
NKalsi
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay”
Reviewed 2 January 2013 for a stay in September 2012

We had an amazing time at the retreat and would like to thank Olga and Sasha for such a lovely experience. After travelling Andalucía for 2 weeks, it was a perfect location to relax and enjoy the 4 days we had left of our holiday. We were arriving to Estepona by coach and arranged with the owners daughter to be picked and dropped off at a reasonable price (I believe 30-50 euros). We arrived at the retreat with a warm welcome and was shown around by Olga. When we came back to our room, music was playing and these little touches made the experience worth every penny. We stayed at Casa Cipres and was amazed by the standard of quality and attention to detail of the room decor. This room was higher up than the others, which meant one of the greatest views from the retreat – we could even see Gibraltar and Morocco in the far distance.

The sun was shining everyday, which made the retreat even more desirable. We made the most of the retreat facilities and enjoyed the sauna/spa, tennis court and relaxed by the pool with drinks during the day (we didn’t attempt to use the gym facilities on such a relaxing holiday).

If you visit the retreat, I would advise that you take the breakfast option, it is not one to be missed. We also booked a dinner night where the food was cooked by Olga. The romantic setting and lovely food was out of this world – I especially enjoyed the spicy prawn starter. However, be aware of the large bugs during the night, one crawled up my leg during dinner. However, this added to the element of being up in the mountain and it did not ruin the setting of the meal in any way, instead added to my boyfriends hysterical amusement of me screaming.

We also walked to the local village of Casares a couple of times, which had a real Spanish culture attached to it. It is definitely worth a visit during sun set but don’t forget to take a torch with you for the walk back.
Highly recommended for couples as a romantic and intermit getaway.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses
Liked best: Infinity Pool, Privacy
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jan 2013
Dear Neha,

We would like to thank you very much for finding time and writing a lovely review about your stay with us:). We are very happy that you have enjoyed your holiday - this is what it is all about for us:). It is wonderful that you have noticed all the little details in your Casa and throughout Retreat as we pay a lot of attention to them. We trully believe that these little special details make the difference and define a quality experience for our guests. Relaxing music and lovely aroma in your Casa upon arrival, a bottle of chilled wine in the frigde, panoramic views over African coast - can be a nice start of your holiday....:)

We look forward to welcoming you with us again.
Kind Regards,
DDG Retreat
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Reviewed 13 December 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Location Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brussels
Reviewed 12 December 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BOOTME
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“DISAPPOINTING”
Reviewed 19 November 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Beware of booking the 1 bedroom apartment if the weather is not guaranteed. We ended up stuck here during the floods and it was so disappointing. The pool was too cold to swim lengths in, the running machine was broken yet not advertised as 'out of order' and was frankly begging for an accident to happen. The exercise bike was exceedingly old and the weights were sparse; it could not really be classified as a gym! The sauna and steam rooms were amazing. The apartment itself was OK but we refused to pay the high prices of 50 euros per Nespresso pod and over 4 eurose for a 300 ml bottle of beer - just buy/bring your own it makes far more sense. Our shower tray was broken which meant a mini flood every time you had a shower and there was insufficient hot water in the tank for 2 showers. The owner was also very unpleasant to me on our final day which we have never experienced before and ruined my holiday. We requested to stay for the afternoon as we had an evening flight and she was not content. In the end they did relent but we did leave on a low and felt as though this was a rip off venue; we will not return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from the pool
Liked least: Being made to feel uncomfortable by the owner
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Nov 2012
Dear Kirsty,

When we saw your review on Flipkey - we thought it is an error and was a wrongly listed review about another place as we just could not apply it to Retreat. However, after thoroughly reading through it, we have realised that you wrote it, although your name was not left under the review. The fact that we hardly have any guests with such a negative perception of everything ( this can be clearly seen from the previous reviews by our happy guests), we have realised who wrote it. But still, we are still in doubt that this review is really in fact about your stay at Retreat...

1. You are absolutely right - we cannot guarantee the weather especially during automn and spring. So we once again appologize about this.
2. Running machine was working perfectly before your arrival and we assumed it was working during your stay as well seeing other guests using it...There is a switch on/off button to activate the machine. So if it is not pressed the machine maybe look out of order:)
3. The bike is only 3 years old and to call it 'exceedingly old'' is probably not quite right?
Regarding the quality and variety of gym equipement, we would like to stress that for sport lovers we offer 4 types of gym equipment, tennis court with rackets and balls provided, badminton, basketball ring, ,mountain bikes, heated infininity pool, variety of Spa treatments, sauna and steam room. As Retreat is not a Olimpic sporting prepation center and we only have up to 12 guests capacity, without being modest we believe we do not look that bad...:)


4. We are pleased to read that you rate our Casa Cipres as OK ( which for some reason you call as 1 bedroom apartment?) but we are not sure what you mean by saying that you have refused to pay 50 euros for Nespresso pod? The Nespresso coffee capsule costs 1.50 euros. Maybe you wanted to drink 33 cups of coffee during your holiday ( 50/1.50 = 33.30) but then have changed your mind not to drink a single one? Or maybe you thought that we wanted to sell you the Nespresso coffee machine itself? But it costs far more than 50 euros and we do not sell them anyway:) So we are sorry but we could not figure out your mysterious 50 euros comment..
5. We also could not understand what you meant by saying that 300ml of beer cost over 4 euros? We would like to remind you that a bottle of beer of 330ml at Retreat costs 2.5 euros. According to your check out bill that was 0 euros, we couldn't quite understand the price list you have quoted?
6. As you have chosen self-catering basis at Retreat, we couldn't enter your Casa to check the appliances. And during our daily meetings about us refunding you the 24.70 pounds that your bank has charged you for your card usage, you have never mentioned anything about the shower cabin not working properly, so reading it in your reviews is news to us. It is even more strange, that the next couple who arrived to Casa Cipres that same day has never said anything about the problem with hot water or the cabin. So if this was the case, we do appoologize.
7. We could not grant you to stay until the evening at the Casa itself as we were fully booked and had another couple arriving that same day so we needed to prepare the Casa for them. Despite being fully booked, we have offered you to stay and relax by the Spa area until the evening without any charge and until you have departed you have swimmed in the ' cold' pool with the water temperature being 24 degrees. The only thing we have asked you - is to leave your luggage in the storadge room and not to bring it to the pool for the comfort of other guests which has probably caused such a negative reaction from you. By the way, when we have granted your wish to stay behind until the evening - this was the only time you have smiled at us during your 7 days stay.

Every hotelier knows that there are always guests who will be unhappy and negative despite any circumstances and who in 99% case will write 'objective' review about their stay so it is impossible to avoid them whatever we do. This is one of the sides of our wonderful business:)

Kirsty, did you really write this review about our Retreat?:) Eitherway, we are sorry that you will not return to our Retreat, we will miss your positive mood and warmth. Best regards to your nice husband George and Merry Christmas!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Reviewed 6 November 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dubai
Reviewed 31 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wiltshire
Reviewed 24 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing