We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Truly a romantic resort”

Review of DDG Retreat

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
244 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Tented camp -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Casares, Costa del Sol, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 244 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
eliott154
Gibraltar
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Truly a romantic resort”
Reviewed 29 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Lovely and romantic resort on the mountain near Casares, we felt we were somewhere in Asia and not in Southern Spain, recommend it for a romantic and relaxing stay, we will be returning again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz1414
Gibraltar
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Birthday Bliss”
Reviewed 21 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Thank you to all the DDG team for an idyllic weekend. I was VERY spoilt for my birthday and had the most relaxing time. As always the attention to detail was incredible; the personal touches, wonderful; the surroundings beautiful, peaceful,Richard and tranquil. The food was delicious ( I can highly recommend the watermelon and goats cheese, a total taste sensation) we had a wonderful time and can't wait to come back again soon....... 2 cases done, 4 to go! :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samira B
Gibraltar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An addiction that leaves you wanting more and more!!!”
Reviewed 20 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

In three years this is our fourth visit. Do I really need to say anymore? We stayed in Casa Cipres for the second time and it did not disappoint!!!! The outside seating area is a wonderful spot to enjoy a bottle of wine, looking out over the beautiful views or you can enjoy the same experience from your own double day bed but my favorite thing about this casa is the outside bath which is fantastic and even more special to enjoy whilst its raining. All this while basking in the peace and quiet of the DDG retreat. Since our first visit the only thing that has changed if that we are now welcomed like we are family!!! As soon as we enter those gates our cares, worries and stresses seem to just drift away and you are greeted by Olga waiting with her arms out stretched and some freshly squeezed orange juice. You are always made to feel special and the service is a personnel one. Sometimes it almost feels like you are the only ones there!!! The DDG Retreat has now spoilt any chances that any hotel has to please me, as i now expect so much more from them!!! Its like they have invaded my dreams of heaven on earth and made it into a reality!!! Everything from the communal pool to the fantastic homemade dinners just makes this place so special and I only have the most wonderful memories of our visits that I will hold dearly close to my heart forever!!! xx

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The communal area and your own personnel space
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shantal A
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Highly recommended! It was most defo magical xxx”
Reviewed 15 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

It was well worth the wait & a defo must repeat. Shame on the weather but it was still perfect ☺️ amazing massage, lovely food, beautiful bungalow, breathtaking views & as relaxing as it gets. We loved it xxx

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah s
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Coign of Vantage”
Reviewed 13 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This is a wonderful place ! An earthly paradise, up in the mountains looking down on the Mediterranean Sea to Gibraltar and North Africa. We love this place and have been 7 or 8 times already with more visits booked forward. The host family are super people, very kind, welcoming, attentive and accommodating. The location, accommodation and grounds are always immaculate and the home cooked food is healthy, wholesome, full of flavour and extremely well presented. This is not a 5-star soulless hotel full of gadgets, room service and pointless shopping opportunities, it's an idyllic retreat where you can admire and revel in the natural beauty of your surroundings and enjoy what the basics of life and relationships are about. Healthy eating, swimming, sun, sleep and a little to drink makes for a perfect break ... we're back in August ... unless we can pinch something between now and then.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie M
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Luxury oasis”
Reviewed 8 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

DDG Retreat is a secret gem in Spain! My husband and I came here for part of our honeymoon and I'm so glad we did. We stayed in Casa Pino and it was perfect. They have literally thought of everything we would need to be comfortable. The infinity pool at sunset is amazing, and the food was absolutely delicious! There was no need for us to venture out very much because we wanted to soak in the experience there. I would highly, highly recommend booking here!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The infinity pool, the room, and the food
Liked least: It's a little far from everything, but that makes it more private and quiet too!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HusseinEl...
1 review
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed 8 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Simply, heavenly beautiful !

We rented the Villa Los Olivos through DDG Retreat for 1 week to celebrate our honeymoon. It was a perfect choice.

From the moment we arrived, we were greeted by Alex and Olga who guided us to the villa. The villa is equipped with everything (literally everything). The rooms are clean and spacious, the decor is so elegant and the villa is completely private.

The pool is awesome ranging from about 20 cm to ~220 cm. The water was always cool even in hot days.

The area is very safe and quite. The view is breathtaking as the villa is overlooking the green mountains and the sea can be seen far away above the horizon.

As for reaching the villa, having a car would be very handy as the villa is located above the mountain. I had a 1.2 L Opel Corsa which did the job without any problems. The engine was good enough for the steep area and the car had good ground clearance. Having a GPS would be very handy to reach DDG retreat.

The nearest supermarket is about 1 KM away in Casares (5 min by car). There are various restaurants located on the mountain and in Casares too.

The villa fits perfectly either for a couple or a family.

Thank you Alex, Olga and Daria for the wonderful stay. I'd definitely come again !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: view, location and the pool
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing