We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”

Restaurante La Choza
Ranked #3 of 31 Restaurants in Casares
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$17 - US$34
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Have been to this restaurant many times and it never fails to please - staff very professional but friendly. A party of four and we all chose different options from the menu and all dishes superb - I had suckling pig which was particularly succulent. We devoured two bottles of house red which was well above average for 'house'. What I would say is do not be put off by the exterior as the restaurant is like a tardis and very tastefully decorated once you are inside.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hawne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    60
    21
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manilva, Spain
Level Contributor
54 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Meaty Mountains”
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Traditional roadside venta with quirky historic buildings & more modern larger conservatory. Decor shows its age & probably could do with a refurbishment.

Very generous portions, probably too much for many. Starters are well chosen & rich but substantial. Main courses were absolutely enormous; slow roasted lamb shoulders enough for 2, suckling pig delicious and moist. Definitely a potential 'doggy bag' benefit (if you have one!). Vegetables were fantastic & flavoursome; roasted tomatoes particularly good. Dessert was taken but shared & disappointing - faked creme brûlée served as an ice-cream not as an expected soft dessert.

Service was very courteous & prompt, single mistake was corrected quickly & apologised for.

Great value for money on the PLUS side.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank at c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guadiaro, Spain
Level Contributor
87 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“started well but going downhill”
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Fresh fish was still frozen inside!! By the time the fish was cooked properly everyone else had finished.

Helpful?
Thank ivyholme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casares, Spain
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“New Year´s Eve”
Reviewed 2 January 2013

For New Year´s Eve we decided to go out for dinner with our friends from Northern Spain so we booked a table at La Choza. It was fantastic, the food was excellent, the atmosphere brilliant and Miguel Angel and his staff worked extremely hard to make sure that everyone had a good time. I would have no hesitation in booking a table next year. Thanks Miguel for making our night special.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CantabriaMags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casares, Spain
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Warm and Friendly”
Reviewed 2 September 2012

I have to disagree with the comments made by Radz494. This restaurant has become our local. We have always found the staff warm and courteous and the meals have been excellent. Every time we have visitors, we always go to La Choza and there has never been one complaint about the food or service. A few months ago we had friends visiting us from Northern Spain and one night we went to La Choza for a meal. These friends are very hard to please and they did not have a bad word to say about it. The whole experience was warm and friendly, the food was excellent and they are certainly looking forward to returning there when they visit us again. Menu del Dia is excellent at 12 euros, and the al a carte menu is as cheap or expensive as you want to pay. I

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CantabriaMags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante La Choza also viewed

Casares, Costa del Sol
Casares, Costa del Sol
 
Casares, Costa del Sol
San Luis de Sabinillas, Manilva
 
Casares, Costa del Sol
Casares, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Restaurante La Choza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing