We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always wonderful”

Restaurante La Choza
Ranked #3 of 31 Restaurants in Casares
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$17 - US$33
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Always wonderful”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We first went to this restaurant in 1998 and have always been back when we visited Estepona and Casares. We had returned to Casares for our wedding anniversary and enjoyed a wonderful meal at "La Choza". My favorite starter, avocado and prawns, is always good. My husbands favorite pil pil prawns followed by shoulder of lamb. This time we had suckling pig as you so rarely see it in the UK. As always a wonderful meal and good service, there can't be many places you can say are as good now as they were 15 years ago!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JandT60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    60
    21
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Spanish fare”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We ate at Venta la Choza several times, all the seating is inside with brightly coloured clothes on circular tables. The menu had a good choice, and we had three courses and enjoyed them all. The drinks were reasonable and the price good.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank WebVBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estepona, Spain
Level Contributor
234 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“great food, service and atmosphere.”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We
went here with our family while they were here on hols. We all had a fab meal including ribs yummy. Entrecote steaks and salmon which was melt in th mouth ,excellent wine and friendly service. It's hard to please everyone when family come on holidays but we were all more than happy with a great night out here.in a great atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sniknej187437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manilva, Spain
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Spanish charm, generous portions, reasonable price”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Having driven past this restaurant many times, I was really looking forward to finally coming here for dinner. Overall it did not disappoint.

The decor is traditional, cosy and inviting; and most importantly, the food is rich, well-cooked and plentiful. My parents shared the suckling lamb, my husband had the lamb shoulder and I had duck. If anything, the portions were a little too large-several of the starters were served with rice and were more akin to the size of main portions, so this may be something that you wish to check before ordering. The house wine was also of a good quality and very reasonably priced.

I knocked off one star, as the service could have been better. As I have found in one or two other restaurants in Spain, the service starts off very attentively, then as the restaurant gets busier, it becomes harder to catch the attention of a waiter. We would have ordered desserts, but it was such a long wait to even acquire a dessert menu, that we decided to opt out in the end. I also was not keen on the waiter chewing gum throughout the evening as he was serving us.

Altogether a lovely evening however, and we would happily return in the future.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MissyMayhem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal and service”
Reviewed 8 June 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is something special.
We could not fault the food or the service. Hsd baby lamb for two. Stunning snd so was the veg.
Deffo be back

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gygo2384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante La Choza also viewed

Casares, Costa del Sol
San Luis de Sabinillas, Manilva
 
Casares, Costa del Sol
Casares, Costa del Sol
 
Puerto de la Duquesa, Manilva
Casares, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Restaurante La Choza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing