We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Three b s beautiful bed abd breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ty Castell, Castle House, Bed & Breakfast - Home of the Kingfisher
Ranked #1 of 3 Nantgaredig B&B and Inns
mukilteo
Level Contributor
92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Three b s beautiful bed abd breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Wonderfull welcome to the b and b. very beautifull property with outstanding gardens. Perfect location. Time and thought has been put into this property as everything is timeless and so peacefull. Breakfast fantastic. The only thing i would of liked to of known was that dinner was at 6 oclock and we did not know that until arrival.. That being told i am so happy we had it as the food was brilliant and i would recommend everyone staying there to book it for the nights stay. The trays to share are amazing. Thanks to our hosts paul and steve for a wonderfull nights stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jalado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ty-Castell, Manager at Ty Castell, Castle House, Bed & Breakfast - Home of the Kingfisher, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Three Ts then, Thank you, thank you, thank you for your support, we do our best to ensure that guests do what we came to do in this part of Wales, that is relax, chill out and enjoy great food and a wonderful location. The work in the garden is an extension of the rooms so that guests can enjoy their own area of peace and quiet by the riverbank. The wildlife is there but you have to be patient and very very alert for the Kingfishers. We regret that as a small buisness we can not offer meals for longer periods, we are not a formal restuarant and not open to the public, dining at Ty Castell is like dining at your own home with the added extras albeit in a conservatory overlooking the garden and river with your own candle lit table and waiter (me or Steve). We use to offer dinner at 7pm or 8pm, however following a guest survey last year 6pm was favoured as it fitted in with the age group who were staying with us at the time and gave them an opportubntity to take a walk down the river bank at sunset or a walk to the local pub. We did move back to 7pm and found that the majority didn't stay in for dinner and ate out earlier. We have to stay on top in this finacial climate but acknowledge that we can't please everyone, so we are sorry about that in your case, however you say that it was worth eating early and enjoyed the lamb special served in the silver paltter. Also we do send welcome emails to guests who book with us giving directions, check in times and that dinner is served at 6pm, however we have to rely on email and recognise that some may fall between the gaps or end up in a junk folder. We have to have some kind of structure to enable us to offer the additional benefit of evening meals. No one else around here offers this and many B&B's have closed around us over the years, we are hear to stay god willing! We look forward to welcoming you back another time. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    15
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
89
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

Stayed for two nights at this lovely B&B. Perfect spot by the river, fabulous gardens, relaxing and tranquil. Five star hosts, excellent food and great location. We would definitely recommend Ty Castell. Can't wait to visit again! Thank you Paul and Steve.
Sue and Arwel

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueJay13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ty-Castell, Manager at Ty Castell, Castle House, Bed & Breakfast - Home of the Kingfisher, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Thank you both for your kind words, we were pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and acknowledged our people and food service. We both look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

Our two hosts, Paul and Steve, really have got it spot on. A lovely welcome, attractive gardens and riverside setting, great breakfast and dinner, comfortable room and attentive service. Have already recommended Ty Castell to our friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ty-Castell, Manager at Ty Castell, Castle House, Bed & Breakfast - Home of the Kingfisher, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Your kind words are greatly appreciated, thank you very much. We are always pleased when we get it right or "spot on" as you say. We do our best to accommodate every ones need and if you are happy then that makes us happy. A good bases for a relaxing break.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

Well what can I say. Brilliant-Steve and Paul are the perfect hosts. Friendly and so helpful nothing was too much trouble for them. The location was stunning the garden out of this world. Then we had a good night's sleep and woke to an exceptional breakfast . Best value for money anywhere in Britain. Thank you both so much. Can't wait too come back .

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ty-Castell, Manager at Ty Castell, Castle House, Bed & Breakfast - Home of the Kingfisher, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
We are overwelmed with the "Best in Britain" comment "Best in Wales" would have been suffice, but thank you very much for your kind comments and scores. It is always good to hear such excellent feedback which makes it all worth while for us and in addition your review must have gone some way for us to be the 2013 Winner of the Trip Advisor Certification of Execellence awarded only today. It is difficult to measure the value for money aspect without some thinking we are too cheap and others thinking we are too expensive. We try our best to offer the best value for money accommodation in Britain, no sorry, I meant Carmarthen, however everyone has there own version of this. The proof for us will be your return which we look forward to. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weston-s-mare
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

This was clean quiet and a great refuge for a weekend . When we opened the curtains the view was excellent with the lovely river and lovely garden. Having been touring in Australia and New zealand the freshly cooked breakfast was super and would certainly recommend Steve and Paul as great hosts. Lyn and Keith.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lyn c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ty-Castell, Manager at Ty Castell, Castle House, Bed & Breakfast - Home of the Kingfisher, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
It was our pleasure to welcome you to Wales and thank you for your kind comments, we appreciate them. The garden is starting to come together now as the wind and cold air has moved on (for now anyway). The views from the Kingfisher balcony room and the Heron room are improving day by day as the garden comes to life at long last. Thank you for choosing Ty Castell for your stay in Wales. Steve appreciated the breakfast comments - Super ! Hope to see you both again if you are passing this way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llantwit Major, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

Everything we wished for and more! Clean and comfortable room and comfortable bed.
Approachable friendly hosts. Great Breakfast. Good advice on walks and attractions in the area.
Highly recommend this guest house to anyone. from Jim and Trish Mclean.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ty-Castell, Manager at Ty Castell, Castle House, Bed & Breakfast - Home of the Kingfisher, responded to this review, 5 May 2013
Great news, thank you for your review and your company, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to a return trip? In the mean time stay healthy and don't forget when things get too stressful come back to see us, sit on the riverbank. raise a glass and say good bye to your stresses as it flows down the river Towy as you munch on your tuna baquette !!. Keep an eye out for the otter and kingfisher ! Very best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

I stayed at Ty Castell on a Business Trip. Wasn't sure what to expect and arrived late at night so wasn't aware of the gorgeous location till In opened my curtains the next morning. Steve and Paul were so warm and welcoming the next morning at breakfast. What a surprise to see the amazing view over the river from the Conservatory where Breakfast was served. I didn't want to leave!!
Breakfast was piping hot, well presented, and delicious!! Excellent service. I spent only 45 minutes with them at Breakfast but it was long enough to know I would be returning there with my family for a long weekend where I could explore and enjoy the relaxing atmosphere.
Steve and Paul made me feel like I was a VIP and I am certain that a return trip will not disappoint. I would recommend Ty Castell to anyone, for any trip or purpose. You will be very well looked after and it will exceed your expectations!!

Room Tip: The Kingfisher Room by all accounts is excellent and advised to stay in there next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ty-Castell, Manager at Ty Castell, Castle House, Bed & Breakfast - Home of the Kingfisher, responded to this review, 5 May 2013
It was our pleasure, VIP treatment is the basis of our hospitality and we try our best to ensure our guests feel special, welcome and at home with good company. We look forward to your return trip and hope that we have the opportunity to look after your family, book early though for the Kingfisher room as it is very popular, more so as the weather improves for sitting on the balcony enjoying full sun all day. Thank you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nantgaredig
4.8 mi away
Spilman Hotel
Spilman Hotel
#1 of 7 in Carmarthen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
5.1 mi away
Falcon Hotel and Restaurant
8.7 mi away
The Cawdor
The Cawdor
#2 of 3 in Llandeilo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#3 of 3 in Llandeilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Ivy Bush Royal Hotel
The Ivy Bush Royal Hotel
#3 of 7 in Carmarthen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
5.8 mi away
Glangwili Mansion
Glangwili Mansion
#1 of 1 in Llanllawddog
5.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ty Castell, Castle House, Bed & Breakfast - Home of the Kingfisher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty Castell, Castle House, Bed & Breakfast - Home of the Kingfisher

Property: Ty Castell, Castle House, Bed & Breakfast - Home of the Kingfisher
Address: Station Road, Nantgaredig, Carmarthen SA32 7LQ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Carmarthen > Nantgaredig
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Nantgaredig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ty Castell, Castle House, Bed & Breakfast - Home of the Kingfisher 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ty Castell (Welsh for Castle House), sits on the door step of the National Botanic Gardens of Wales in the heart of the Carmarthenshire countryside, in a small hamlet village called Nantgaredig just 4 miles from Carmarthen Town. Ideally situated with good road links for cross county explorations of Carmarthenshire, Pembrokeshire and beyond. West Wales boasts rich culture & heritage shaped through major periods in history. Explore narrow gauge railways, castles, caves and much more. With an abundance of activities and attractions all year round and for evening meals try the popular local Y Polyn public house which has two AA rosettes and is featured in the Good Food Guide. Also on the doorstep in walking distance is the recently renovated Railway Inn Country pub serving bar meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ty Castell, Castle House, Bed & Breakfast - Home of the Kingfisher reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ty Castell, Castle House, Bed & Breakfast - Home Of The Kingfisher Nantgaredig, Carmarthen, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing