We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, great service and food.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ty Castell, Castle House, Bed & Breakfast - Home of the Kingfisher
Ranked #1 of 3 Nantgaredig B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful location, great service and food.”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Lovely stay at Ty Castell. Paul and Steve were very welcoming. Food was lovely and plenty of it. Room was comfortable and very clean. The location is fabulous, the garden is beautiful and access to the river bank footpath just made it. Thank you :-)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ty-Castell, Manager at Ty Castell, Castle House, Bed & Breakfast - Home of the Kingfisher, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Wonderful comments, thank you. The Heron room from September will be en-suite, so no need to cross the landing to the bathroom for this room any more. It will also be having a small makeover. We are delighted that you enjoyed your evening meals and our hospitality which we put at the top of our priority list. All this with the very privileged view of the Otter couldn't have been better for you. We look forward to welcoming you back another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    15
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
89
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Lovely riverside location, great home cooked food using local ingredients, lovely conservatory to have dinner/breakfast in, beautiful gardens to walk around, comfortable and cosy rooms - oh and welcoming and attentive hosts!!!

We stayed at the Ty Castell for a couple of nights as part of our honeymoon on the way back from getting married in Pembrokeshire (shush, we didn't let on to Steve and Paul). Having always wanted to visit the Botanic Gardens the location was perfect, as was our accommodation.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ty-Castell, Manager at Ty Castell, Castle House, Bed & Breakfast - Home of the Kingfisher, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you both for your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us even though you kept the anniversary secret ! Congratulations to you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mold, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We really enjoyed our couple of nights spent at Ty Castell. We enjoyed the excellent evening meal and Paul was the perfect host and Steve the perfect chef. Our room overlooked the stunning gardens and the river where we were lucky enough to see an otter. We would certainly return there and recommend the guest house to other people

Room Tip: We would recommend the Heron room for the view. The bathroom is separate but dressing gowns are pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank joeyboff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ty-Castell, Manager at Ty Castell, Castle House, Bed & Breakfast - Home of the Kingfisher, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Another great review, thank you. We are of course pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for being such wonderful guests. You have been so lucky to see the Otter and we are delighted that you shared this with us. Your kind comments are gratefully received.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We only stayed one night but the experience was second to none. Exceptionally clean Ty Castell is a lovely house, the welcome from Paul and Steve couldn't be bettered and the evening meal was delicious as was the breakfast. Unfortunately we couldn't sit out and enjoy the garden because of the weather but that gives us a good reason for planning another visit!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 631SuW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ty-Castell, Manager at Ty Castell, Castle House, Bed & Breakfast - Home of the Kingfisher, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Wonderful review, sorry about the weather, but as you say, a good reason to come back. The sun is now out and after praying for sunshine we are now hiding in the shade under the tree on the riverbank. It was a pleasure looking after you and we hope that you got the speech sorted for the NBGW and that you gave us a mention ? Thank you and See you again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Paul is a wonderful host and Steve is a wonderful chef: We had dinner on the first night (we were at the wedding at the nearby Botanical Gardens on the 2nd). The food was excellent and I would thoroughly recommend eating in. The rooms are thoughtfully furnished and the ground floor room was perfect for the older members of our party. Breakfast was lovely and of a very high quality. Paul tends the garden which is stunning, overlooking the river. By the time we left, Paul and Steve made us feel like we were leaving old friends behind. This place is a real find...

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank 3PW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ty-Castell, Manager at Ty Castell, Castle House, Bed & Breakfast - Home of the Kingfisher, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for your review and scores and kind comments about us. It is very rewarding when such reviews are received and we are very lucky to have had such wonderful people staying with us. We don't get it right all the time and won't please everyone, however we do our best and on this occasion we seemed to have ticked every box for you to enjoy your visit to Ty Castell. We look forward to welcoming you back sometime. Steve also acknowledges the "chef" comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We booked Ty Castell for its proximity to the Botanical Gardens, it looked nice, reviews seemed good and becuase it offered a downstairs room for my parents. The purpose of our stay was to attend a wedding nearby so unfortunately we didnt make the most the properrty and surrounding area. This was our first stay in a Guest House and were unsure what to expect. We had a thoroughly enjoyable experience hosted by Paul and Steve a great team and some excellent ambassadors for the Guest House sector. Steves cooking is really good, breakfasts cooked to order were grease free and the dinner menu had a good selection of options which they ask you chooose prior to day of arrival. I guesss this helps the freshness and quality certainly seemed so I loved the Welsh steak and Steve managed the impossible, vegetables soft enough for my parents but firm enough for my wife and I.
The property itself is lovely it is a house on the edge of the river with views to surrounding fields and nearby bridge. The gardens are their pride and joy clearly they have invested a lot of time in them and we wished we had stayed longer to relax with a cream tea at the river side. They call it the home of the Kingfisher but as apparenltly the otter ate the fish in the pond maybe they should give the otter a mention as well. The property has four guest rooms we used the downstairs twin and upstairs double. The twin was ideal for my parents due to ground floor. location, our double was spacious with ensuite shower. Both had views towards the surrounding fields and were nicely furnished and decorated. There is wifi and Tv in rooms. There is a guest lounge which is furnished with leather chairs comfy enough that i found myself feeling at home especially with a glass of whisky in my hand. Steve and Paul are very personable and would join us for a chat when they assessed the time was right this was nice as this is their home after all. Meals are in the conservatory which has lovely views of the gardens however they close this when not doing meals and having stayed with them i understand why. They work incredibly hard to make your experience enjoyable and over their years of experience have pefected a routine which they ask you to support to enable them to provide the best service they can. So check in at set times, eating dinner at one sitting, keeping the noise down, not using the conservatory outside dinner are all processes designed to improve your stay and based on our experience it works. This is a house with four guests rooms so i can imagine when full not suprisingly noise from TVs and other guests may be heard if they are a bit noisy, Paul and Steve work hard to ensure guests respect other guests.
Overall we left having had a lovely time, ate and drank well in good company sounds more like staying with friends which was what it felt like. Would happily return.

Room Tip: If my wife and i return i would definitely book kingfisher larger and has a balcony towards river si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkdon5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ty-Castell, Manager at Ty Castell, Castle House, Bed & Breakfast - Home of the Kingfisher, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Great review and very informative both to potential guests and to us as owners. It reads as if the hotel inspector stayed with us and covered every angle, hitting the nail on the head by understanding why we have such routines that the two of us can cope with as most B&B's do not offer evening meals or accommodate people for a one/two nights. We do work incredibly hard to make your experience enjoyable and we have over their years perfected a routine which we do ask you to support to enable us to provide the best service we can, however we know that this won't please every one, more-so those that want hotel services at small B&B prices. The fact is that it works and as a small business we are still here, whilst we have watched others close down. We are the last 4 star Guest House standing in our area and bookings are up again this year. You have a wonderful family and we enjoyed your company and we would love you to return, but book early for the Kingfisher Room!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I recently stayed at Ty Castell with my sister, step-father and mum who is in a wheelchair. We all had an enjoyable and relaxing three night stay. The accommodation was superb, everywhere was spotlessly clean and comfortable. Mum's ground floor room, the Otter, was ideal for her disabled needs although a ramp at the front door would have been helpful. My sister and I adored the view of the garden and the river from the balcony of our Kingfisher room. Our hosts could not be faulted and they could not do enough for Mum even to the point of re-arranging the furniture for her. The garden was amazing, my sister even spotted a kingfisher on the river, which made the holiday for her. We had planned to eat in the first night but we were so impressed that we ate there every night. We hope to return in the near future.

Room Tip: The Otter room is suitable for disabled guests
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 931Julie_ED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ty-Castell, Manager at Ty Castell, Castle House, Bed & Breakfast - Home of the Kingfisher, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
It was a pleasure looking after you all, we enjoy good company and you were certainly that with some happy memories returning as we met your mum for the first time. The ground floor Otters room lend itself to those not to clever on their feet and the doors are wider than other rooms to accommodate wheelchair access. We regret that the ramp at the front door collapsed some time ago and as we had no disabled guests for a while we never replaced it, however this will be put right for 2015 when hopefully you will return. We are pleased that you enjoyed your evening meals which has been many a guests reason for choosing Ty Castell over others that have since closed down. Steve enjoys cooking and thanks you for your comments, however for the benefit of TA readers we have to have advance orders or else we simply would not be able to offer such a complex menu as we do not have the storage space. We are not a restaurant open to the public. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nantgaredig
4.8 mi away
Spilman Hotel
Spilman Hotel
#1 of 7 in Carmarthen
454 reviews
6.6 mi away
Travelodge Llanelli Cross Hands
8.4 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#3 of 3 in Llandeilo
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Ivy Bush Royal Hotel
The Ivy Bush Royal Hotel
#3 of 7 in Carmarthen
426 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Cawdor
The Cawdor
#2 of 3 in Llandeilo
445 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hollybrook Country Inn
Hollybrook Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Bronwydd
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ty Castell, Castle House, Bed & Breakfast - Home of the Kingfisher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty Castell, Castle House, Bed & Breakfast - Home of the Kingfisher

Property: Ty Castell, Castle House, Bed & Breakfast - Home of the Kingfisher
Address: Ty Castell Station Road, Nantgaredig, Carmarthen SA32 7LQ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Carmarthen > Nantgaredig
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Nantgaredig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ty Castell, Castle House, Bed & Breakfast - Home of the Kingfisher 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ty Castell (Welsh for Castle House), sits on the door step of the National Botanic Gardens of Wales in the heart of the Carmarthenshire countryside, in a small hamlet village called Nantgaredig just 4 miles from Carmarthen Town. Ideally situated with good road links for cross county explorations of Carmarthenshire, Pembrokeshire and beyond. West Wales boasts rich culture & heritage shaped through major periods in history. Explore narrow gauge railways, castles, caves and much more. With an abundance of activities and attractions all year round and for evening meals try the popular local Y Polyn public house which has two AA rosettes and is featured in the Good Food Guide. Also on the doorstep in walking distance is the recently renovated Railway Inn Country pub serving bar meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ty Castell, Castle House, Bed & Breakfast - Home of the Kingfisher reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ty Castell, Castle House, Bed & Breakfast - Home Of The Kingfisher Nantgaredig, Carmarthen, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing