We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Number 43

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Number 43
Ranked #3 of 4 Arnside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

I stayed at Number 43 in room 3 with my boyfriend over Easter whilst visiting family in the area, apart from the weather which could have been better we had a brilliant time. It was so relaxing and comfortable, the staff were very friendly but professional -nothing was too much trouble. We were really impressed how spotless it was and the shower was fabulous. My family came in to have a look around, my mother is wanting to book other members of the family in when they come to visit. We will be back, hopefully in the summer to enjoy our breakfast on the terrace. Thank you so much.

Room Tip: We loved our superior room 3, but after having a sneaky peak at Suite 2 that's the room we will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clover3724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesleyNumber43, Owner at Number 43, responded to this review, 13 May 2012
Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review, I hope you are both well and had a good trip back to Leeds.
We like Room 3 too (actually we like them all :) It was great to meet you again and to be introduced to your boyfriend, the staff here all approve!
I do hope that your interviews go well, and hope to see you again in summer.

Kindest regards

Lesley
Ps: The sun WILL shine next time you visit so you can enjoy breakfast on the terrace!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    10
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
17
142
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

It was a couple of years ago that we spent a night at Number 43 for my Birthday but it is fondly remembered and a gorgeous place to stay. We were greeted with tea and cake, the room was spotless in every way, great breakfast and a beautiful shower gel that I've never forgotten! - All memories that in our opinion make this place deserving of its star rating. The nearby town of Kirby Lonsdale is beautiful, quaint and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sk8tes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesleyNumber43, Owner at Number 43, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
It is so lovely when we take over a corner of your heart! Thank you for saying how spotless Number 43 is, the girls work really hard, we allow up to a hour to clean a room after guests leave, (against the average 15-20 minutes other accommodation providers allow)our mantra being;
The rooms should look as if no one has stayed in the room prior to the next guests booking in!!

Yes we still use the fabulous REN products; we have just had another delivery and now sell the fabulous products in larger containers than you can buy from Harvey Nicks. We trialled their fabulous Rose bath oil but unfortunate it left the baths too slippery and I had visions of guests in Suite 2 nose diving through the window into the estuary (champagne in hand) instead of getting out of the bath the conventional way.

Thank you for your lovely review and now you are a happily married lady, maybe we will meet you again when you celebrate one of your wedding anniversaries.

Kindest regards
Lesley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

Number 43 was a great find, Room 2 was spacious and has a lovely view. Would really recommend for a night away.

Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesleyNumber43, Owner at Number 43, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Thank you so much, it is so lovely when gpeople who live in the area want to come and visit, although you are noy quite the nearest, some regular guests always book Suite 7 when their children all decend on them!! Call in for a coffee if you are passing

Lesley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

Great B&B in a beautiful location. Breakfast is a treat. Only rooms 2 and 7 have a view - and the view is worth having - especially if you like bird watching. Room 2 is best. Really appreciated the added extras like the comfy dressing gown, the toileteries and the compliemenary Rocky Road. Not a big fan of the sherry but appreciate the sentiment!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debking10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesleyNumber43, Owner at Number 43, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Thank you and I agree the location is stunning, hopefully Number 43 lives up to the setting and location, I am sorry you are not into sherry, some guests this weekend had not tried it before and now I have them converted!!

Off to the kitchen now as our rocky road jar is looking sad, staff are on a warning not to eat it but I have a feeling they claim more pieces are broken than is factual!!
Take care and we hope to meet you again
Kindest regards

Lesley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

Arnside is a beautiful location for a few days and the view of the estuary from the communal living room was stunning.
Number 43 was modern and well maintained throughout and Lesley has clearly worked very hard. Lots of details that you would normally only get in hotels e.g. bathrobes/minibars. However, it is still a B&B and our room was small. You are required to pre book your breakfast time and food choice the night before (to help ensure there's no long wait when everyone arrives at once?) but it reminds you this isn't a hotel and we felt that we were required to fit in with the timetable of the B&B.
There was plenty of information in the room but it omitted a vital bit of information on how to turn the heating on. Other guests had to phone to get instructions but only managed to find the downstairs thermostat, not the one for the bedrooms, so a chilly night followed.
As a B&B it is far superior to the B&Bs of old, but our main issue is the price we paid. The cost was comparable to a 4* hotel but without the facilities or the space so we didn't think this was good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank NWGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesleyNumber43, Owner at Number 43, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and yes, the views are stunning, I am slightly confused by some of your comments however, as we do not in any way claim to be a hotel. We are graded and given our stars and awards by Visit England as Guest Accommodation and our guests are aware of the tariff when booking. What we do not shout about (but see guests are happy to do for us in reviews) are all of the thoughtful, extra, and entirely complimentary touches that are often lacking in even four and five star hotels. From Bose systems in all the rooms, lush REN toiletries (which you can also buy at Harvey Nick’s) free Wi-Fi , drinks and homemade biscuits in rooms, and we also offer coffee and cakes on arrival, or even wine if you arrive after the yard arm. We offer breakfast served in our suites as standard and have invested in silent fridges to house fresh jugs of milk (we hate plastic portions). The ground coffee is packed in individual portions so it stays fresh for when you fancy topping up your cafetiere and tea bags are very high quality, individually wrapped, and not forgetting the complimentary Kendal mint cake and bottled water, which is replaced daily. We source and offer the best award winning local produce at breakfast, travelling no further than 12 miles each way to collect our bacon, sausage and black pudding.

Yes, we do ask guests what time they would like breakfast as naturally we want to dedicate time to you and ask if you can fill in a slip saying what you would like for main course the next day and leave it on the hall table sometime before breakfast service. We do not ask you to choose your freshly squeezed orange juice or local apple juice in advance, or your home made cereal or compots. As you know, at breakfast guests are asked when they would like coffee/tea/toast so it is warm and fresh. All of this very personal service means we have a higher staff to guests ratio than most hotels, and unlike hotels we are not cooking our lovely produce and leaving it spoiling in the warming drawer, nor are guests left waiting whilst we cook their choice from scratch. Instead we try to time the cooking of up to 12 individually prepared main courses to coincide with guests’ chosen breakfast time. I am sorry if you felt like you had to fit into a timetable but this is purely for our guests’ benefit to ensure they receive the highest standard of service.

The issue with the heating was disappointing and we apologise for the inconvenience that this obviously caused to our guests at this time, We do keep our heating on overnight and on this occasion, the temperatures dropped suddenly, which meant that perhaps the thermostats were not turned up high enough to compensate for the drop in temperature. We really do not like guests to go away dissatisfied, so we always seek feedback before you leave as it is so useful to us and we need to know whether we have met your expectations. We feel that we offer excellent value for money when you factor in everything that we provide, and we have a high number of returning guests who also feel the same way. What we often find is that guests who have stayed in one of our superior rooms want to come back to try out the more spacious suites, which have even more complimentary facilities and wonderful views of the estuary from the bay windows.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

We stayed in room 7 which was at the top of the property and it was a lovely big room with a compact but excellent bathroom. A lovely place to stay

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beenthereLondonUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesleyNumber43, Owner at Number 43, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
Thank youfor your lovely comments, we all love room 7, especially in Autumn, after you have had a walk among the falling leaves, returning ‘home’, snuggling up on the big settee with the fire on, glass of wine in hand watching the sky turn scarlet as the sun sets. Then, the next morning, waking up to the luxury of having breakfast served in your room so you can sit by the window and watch the herons catching theirs whilst you relax and plan your day. A fantastic room!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bramhall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

We stayed for 3 nights at this modern delightful establishment overlooking the estuary. The staff were fabulous, the rooms large and spotless with beautiful furnishings. The breakfast was excellent and the views from the guest lounge are magnificent. Will certainly be going back.

Room Tip: ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeprior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesleyNumber43, Owner at Number 43, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
Oh I do hope so, we love the word ‘Brilliant’, it really means that you really enjoyed yourselves and that is what Team 43 work so hard to achieve.

Yes the views from the lounge are magnificent as they are from the terrace, maybe if you come back again the weather will be warmer and you can enjoy breakfast or a ‘sun downer’ on the terrace!!

Thank you for taking time to write your review, it is so much appreciated
Kindest regards

Lesley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arnside
12.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.5 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Pine Lodges
Woodlands Hotel & Pine Lodges
#7 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
7.3 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hampsfell House Hotel
Hampsfell House Hotel
#3 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
4.1 mi away
Uplands Hotel
Uplands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cartmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number 43? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number 43

Property: Number 43
Address: Number 43 Promenade, Arnside LA5 0AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Arnside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Arnside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Number 43 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Last night at The Enjoy England for Excellence Ceremony we were awarded Gold for the Best Bed and Breakfast in England by Visit England. The position here is fabulous: a vast sky, a pretty village, the Kent estuary spilling into Morcambe Bay. Huge views shoot off to the Lake District, where distant peaks take to the skies. You're at the end of the road, more likely to be disturbed by commuting birds than a car, so sit on the terrace and watch the train puff across the viaduct or follow a flock of geese as they sweep through the valley. As for Number 43, interiors shine after a total renovation. You get glossy books and great views in the sitting room, then an honesty bar in the dining room, where delicious communal breakfasts set you up for the day: freshly squeezed orange juice, baskets of patisserie, porridge with honey and sugar, the full Cumbrian works. Bedrooms vary in size, but all are elegant with warm colours, fabulous linen, excellent beds, sparkling bathrooms. Two suites have the view, one has a free-standing bath by the window in its en-suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Number 43 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number 43 Arnside, Cumbria
Number 43 Hotel Arnside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing