We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aussie couple Neil & Nola Enjoyed Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The INN Guest House
Ranked #1 of 2 St. Mary's B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Shauna our host was very obliging, nothing was too much trouble. The room was absolutely spotless and extremely comfortable. We had breakfast each morning and the cooked breakfast was delicious. The rooms was kept warm and had all you would need to ensure your stay on the Orkney Islands was enjoyable.
I would not hesitate to recommend this accomodation to any couple who wanted to meet others in the dinning area/ TV area or if you wanted privacy.
The location was good for us as we had a car to explore but if you had no car the local bus does stop outside the front door.

Thank you Shauna for a hassle free stay.

Room Tip: Book early because I think this accomodtion will be popular.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeilMackenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
There are newer reviews for The INN Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2014

This cosy, friendly, clean, B and B, is simply the perfect place to stay when visiting Orkney. The owners can not do enough for you, and have thought of all the wee things that make it feel like home from home. The communal living/dining room has a host of things for you to utilise and the breakfast is so filling, lunch is not necessary.

Room Tip: No tips, all the rooms I saw into had beautiful views.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank if1918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We had a pre-planned set of B+Bs to allow us to tour from Stromness around to South Ronaldsay and from there off by Burwick. St Marys is a really useful place to stop over. Beautiful, quiet village with tranquil views.
The B+B was great . We were allowed to put bikes in the outhouse which kept them dry/out of sight. The room was fine. The bathroom was quite tiny, but saying that, the shower was really good, and it was all very clean. Shona the host cooked a great breakfast, and was happy for us the night before to bring in somethings to eat in the dining room (as there is no eatery in the village open during the weekdays)
Definitely would consider coming back here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rodjill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

An ideal base from which to explore the main sites.
Cosy rooms....as we were two adults and two teenagers we were given adjacent rooms...one double, one twin. Good bathrooms. Clean and well appointed. Fabulous breakfasts.
Parking across the road.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roozin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Perfect rooms, spotless and clean. Great location and the lady that owns the B&B cant do enough. Such good value for money.
We had the room on the top floor looking over the sea, perfect view!
We were able to check in really late as our ferry docked at midnight. Great parking and the breakfast is great too.
Overall I cant fault any bit. Wish it was more local to go back to again

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missjenniboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Stayed here with friends and family for a wedding. Owner could not have been more accommodating. Went above and beyond the call of duty on several occasions. Rooms were spotless, warm and welcoming, facilities were excellent (good wi-fi in every room) and the cooked breakfasts were delicious. Couldn't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We needed somewhere to stay after traveling down from Shetland on the ferry which arrives in Kirkwall at aprox. 11pm. The INN Guest House are used to this & is taken care of when you state your time of arrival when booking on the website.
The owners are both pleasant & helpful.
The en-suite room was very clean & like the rest of the interior appeared new refurbished.
The breakfast is very good. Both in choice, quality & quantity.

Room Tip: Room 5 plus one other is on the second floor. But the stairs were not a problem. I don't know ab...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Mary's
6.4 mi away
The Ayre Hotel
The Ayre Hotel
#1 of 9 in Kirkwall
373 reviews
14.3 mi away
Stromness Hotel
Stromness Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stromness
214 reviews
15.5 mi away
Merkister Hotel
Merkister Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harray
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burray Village
181 reviews
6.3 mi away
St. Ola Hotel
St. Ola Hotel
#4 of 9 in Kirkwall
132 reviews
5.0 mi away
Murray Arms Hotel and Restaurant
Murray Arms Hotel and Restaurant
#3 of 6 in St Margaret's Hope
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The INN Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The INN Guest House

Address: The Inn St. Mary's The Inn | Holm, St. Mary's KW17 2RT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > St. Mary's
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in St. Mary's
Price Range: £71 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The INN Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New en-suite guesthouse located on the waterfront with sea views. Ideal location for sightseeing, fishing, walks or business trips. On main bus route with restaurant and bar 10 minutes walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms and LateRooms so you can book your The INN Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The INN Guest House Orkney Islands, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing